We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice & friendly resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off Published Rates
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lagoi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice & friendly resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Was there for 2day 1night. Just checked out today.
Bintan has improved alot since my last visit a decade ago.
I chose this resort based on TA review and the good price offer after comparing with Bintan Lagoo Resort.
First impression of the resort: Nice pool overlooking at the beautiful sea.
Seems like a busy resort with lots of visitors especially from PRC and S Korea.

What I like?
1) Pool overlooking the beautiful south china sea.
2) Shuttle service is regular.
3) Staffs are friendly and patience.
4) Lots of outdoor activities you can join but of course its no free.
5) The room is rather spacious and the cable tv has lots of programme.
6) No lack of F&B. We had seafood dinner at the Kelong. Recommend it although its not that cheap but the view is fantastic. Food is decent too. Free shuttle service to it. Best is sunset.
7) Family friendly
8) Breakfast buffet is rather decent.

What can be better?
1) The resort check-in time is 3pm local time. Early check-in subject to availability and even then it is around 230pm. So if you arrive very early, do be prepared for it.
2) F&B is quite expensive.
3) Beach & sand is covered with black oil spill. So better avoid at all cost.
The beach at Mayang Sari resort is defintely much better.
4) Bintan is not like Phuket or Bali, no street food, local mall or joints of pub. So it lacks of certain charm. Basically, a few resort conglomate occupying the best beach plot and runs the activities.
5) Price is not that cheap overall.

Overall, its still a decent short getaway from Singapore.
I think 1 or 2 night is good enough for relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    284
    177
    43
    27
See reviews for
195
211
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

How would you react if you would have traveled 20 hours to a destination that had promised great sea sports possibilities and then they would tell you that there are none?

The case was this. In their websites Nirwana Garden Resort presents information about daily diving and snorkeling opportunities, so we brought wetsuits, swimfins and masks all way from Finland to Indonesia just to hear that actually they offer these services only from April to August. And actually beach area is oily and full of seaweed.

Yes, I did get angry - had promise kids that they'll see fishes. Yes, I did complain about misleading marketing to the hotel management immediately and yes, I'm going to write negative reviews about this destination to each and every travel website I know.

And yet another thing. Hotel was located so that there is absolutely no changes to see anything else but the resorts services. Nearest city is 85 km away and no transportation is organized to get there. Taxi to the city costs about 100 euros. In hotels restaurants service was below average and prices where in European level. Small dinner for 4 people without drinks costed 80-100 euros.

This is not the way I want to travel. I want to experience local things.

Ps. Management promised to change the information on their website. Guess have they done so?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Place is nice for a weekend getaway from Singapore. Situated very nearby singapore, its quite easiliy accessible via ferry. Also, the resort has a pickup from the jetty. The rooms were quite average.However, we loved the beach which was quite secluded, and had a nice enjoyment with friends. Also, the DJ rocked.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My friends and I were at this resort from Dec.28 and originally we were going to stay two nights, but by the second day, we checked out early and moved to another resort. Our experience from the moment we checked-in was below standard. We arrived around 12 pm, and the front desk told us the room wasn't ready, which was fine. We asked if we could at least have Wi-Fi access, the guy laughed and said no. We asked again and the second time he said, "there's no solution to your problem, no". Really? That's the way you speak to your guests? The property was also crowded and noisy, and it was not cheap either. If you want to waste your time debating with the front desk or chasing down the staff just to get basic amenities such as towels, this would be the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The rooms are very old, no balcony unless you take a suite (quite unusual for a resort to have no balcony) and the pool is very dirty with many black little things in it. Poor maintanence of the pool but 1 plus point is, there is a pool bar with music! Drinks and food from the resort and even the resort shops are overpriced! Service is excellent, friendly staffs and the in-house restaurants are clean. Great band - The Zoom in the Pub, very professional singers. The Oasis BBQ by the beach needs more publicity, we had BBQ lunch there before leaving but the beach is very disappointing and dirty, all too dried up with oil. This is my 2nd time here in Nirwana after a decade and it is quite interesting to see the recreational activities have been increased. There are deers, elephants and horses and you can take pictures with them, they even have shows. In day time, you can visit Pasar Ole Ole, there are few souvenior shops there but do dropby at Cafe Helo Helo for lunch as they serves good tasty local dishes and by night, you may head to The Kelong where you can have your seafood on the floating sea. It can be a little pricey. Overall, if it is for a short getaway, you may still still try this place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Right from checkin (early) to checkout the staff handled us well. Not fantastic, but efficient overall. The hotel is part of a multi-property resort and a free resort bus takes you around to all the ohter properties which are a few minutes away for great entertainment and dining on few different settings, incl a bar on the water. The resort has a lot of activities, but be prepared to shell out some money. They are not super expensive, but not cheap either. The pricing is very similar to Singapore hotel standards. Fish is cheap, but other meats are very expensive. We are veggie and I appreciated the Indian food dining on the Mayang Sari property next door. One thing to stay away from are the cocktail drinks which are hideously expensive (around 15SGD!) and are mostly watered down versions. Stick to the beers. The breakfast buffet is expansive and you can get a good fill with live hot food stations and plenty of other choices. There are multiple dining options on the property itself in addition to the ones on the other resort properties nearby. The beach on the property is fine, but next door Mayang Sari beach is even better. Yeah, there is sea weed in generous portions, but then this is a natural beach. The infinity pool on the property is fantastic! There are multiple dining options on the property itself in addition to the ones on the other resort properties nearby. Our room itself was adequate..yes some of the room elements are dated..some minor moulding etc. But it didnt bother us. An extra bed at a cost of SGD50 accommodated our elder son, while the younger one slept with us on our joined twin beds comfortably. The view from the room was good. The hotel room pricing is similar to SG hotels..so while not exceptional value, its ok. Since our ferry back to Singapore (SG) was late, we stayed on the property after checkout, used the pools, dining, showers etc while the hotel took care of our big luggage. This way we were able to stay on the island until 530pm to take the ferry back to SG. Skip the fake Polo outlets all over the island!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the gardens. Check for noisy neighbours as the sound proofing is not exceptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We did stay at Nirwana Gardens from 4th till 6th Jan'2013. It was a good an relaxing place. It is an old property, so there are its setbacks. But we hardly were in the room, except for sleeping...
Beach was not that clean, so didnt enjoy the beach at all... well we were at the pool and was fun.
Within the resort you have many options to explore and do activities like bowling and all.
Breakfast was just nice. Bakery items were nice. Basically you will be full with those items, thats what is imp. Spread for breakfast is just nice.
There are lot of restaurants you can eat there.
We did had dinner @ Spice, the food was nice. Better than the outside food which we had at Oleh Oleh Shopping Market.
Go relax the Resort kind of environment.

Room Tip: With family go for the beach view rooms those are better in condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheery Family Hotel. Our unique blend of sunny Mediterranean spirit and warm Indonesian hospitality will make you feel more than welcomed here. In fact, with something to do for everyone in the family, you are assured of a great time in this sunny, cheery paradise! This family hotel offers 245 rooms & suites catering to every budget and need, offering breathtaking ocean, pool or garden views. The rooms are spacious and fully furnished with modern amenities for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.