We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Place is nice for a weekend getaway from Singapore. Situated very nearby singapore, its quite easiliy accessible via ferry. Also, the resort has a pickup from the jetty. The rooms were quite average.However, we loved the beach which was quite secluded, and had a nice enjoyment with friends. Also, the DJ rocked.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    329
    205
    52
    33
See reviews for
231
253
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My friends and I were at this resort from Dec.28 and originally we were going to stay two nights, but by the second day, we checked out early and moved to another resort. Our experience from the moment we checked-in was below standard. We arrived around 12 pm, and the front desk told us the room wasn't ready, which was fine. We asked if we could at least have Wi-Fi access, the guy laughed and said no. We asked again and the second time he said, "there's no solution to your problem, no". Really? That's the way you speak to your guests? The property was also crowded and noisy, and it was not cheap either. If you want to waste your time debating with the front desk or chasing down the staff just to get basic amenities such as towels, this would be the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The rooms are very old, no balcony unless you take a suite (quite unusual for a resort to have no balcony) and the pool is very dirty with many black little things in it. Poor maintanence of the pool but 1 plus point is, there is a pool bar with music! Drinks and food from the resort and even the resort shops are overpriced! Service is excellent, friendly staffs and the in-house restaurants are clean. Great band - The Zoom in the Pub, very professional singers. The Oasis BBQ by the beach needs more publicity, we had BBQ lunch there before leaving but the beach is very disappointing and dirty, all too dried up with oil. This is my 2nd time here in Nirwana after a decade and it is quite interesting to see the recreational activities have been increased. There are deers, elephants and horses and you can take pictures with them, they even have shows. In day time, you can visit Pasar Ole Ole, there are few souvenior shops there but do dropby at Cafe Helo Helo for lunch as they serves good tasty local dishes and by night, you may head to The Kelong where you can have your seafood on the floating sea. It can be a little pricey. Overall, if it is for a short getaway, you may still still try this place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Right from checkin (early) to checkout the staff handled us well. Not fantastic, but efficient overall. The hotel is part of a multi-property resort and a free resort bus takes you around to all the ohter properties which are a few minutes away for great entertainment and dining on few different settings, incl a bar on the water. The resort has a lot of activities, but be prepared to shell out some money. They are not super expensive, but not cheap either. The pricing is very similar to Singapore hotel standards. Fish is cheap, but other meats are very expensive. We are veggie and I appreciated the Indian food dining on the Mayang Sari property next door. One thing to stay away from are the cocktail drinks which are hideously expensive (around 15SGD!) and are mostly watered down versions. Stick to the beers. The breakfast buffet is expansive and you can get a good fill with live hot food stations and plenty of other choices. There are multiple dining options on the property itself in addition to the ones on the other resort properties nearby. The beach on the property is fine, but next door Mayang Sari beach is even better. Yeah, there is sea weed in generous portions, but then this is a natural beach. The infinity pool on the property is fantastic! There are multiple dining options on the property itself in addition to the ones on the other resort properties nearby. Our room itself was adequate..yes some of the room elements are dated..some minor moulding etc. But it didnt bother us. An extra bed at a cost of SGD50 accommodated our elder son, while the younger one slept with us on our joined twin beds comfortably. The view from the room was good. The hotel room pricing is similar to SG hotels..so while not exceptional value, its ok. Since our ferry back to Singapore (SG) was late, we stayed on the property after checkout, used the pools, dining, showers etc while the hotel took care of our big luggage. This way we were able to stay on the island until 530pm to take the ferry back to SG. Skip the fake Polo outlets all over the island!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the gardens. Check for noisy neighbours as the sound proofing is not exceptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We did stay at Nirwana Gardens from 4th till 6th Jan'2013. It was a good an relaxing place. It is an old property, so there are its setbacks. But we hardly were in the room, except for sleeping...
Beach was not that clean, so didnt enjoy the beach at all... well we were at the pool and was fun.
Within the resort you have many options to explore and do activities like bowling and all.
Breakfast was just nice. Bakery items were nice. Basically you will be full with those items, thats what is imp. Spread for breakfast is just nice.
There are lot of restaurants you can eat there.
We did had dinner @ Spice, the food was nice. Better than the outside food which we had at Oleh Oleh Shopping Market.
Go relax the Resort kind of environment.

Room Tip: With family go for the beach view rooms those are better in condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The ferry ride from Tana Merah in Singapore gets you to one of the ferry terminals on Bintan. About half an hour later (less if you're willing to dish out S$ 10 to the Imagrasi) your visa is processed and you're on a bus headed for the resort.

The major problem that this resort has (and will probably continue to have for a while) is checking in. You will probably arrive at the resort at 12 noon, but you cant check in until 3 pm. This is because other guests who stayed the night before havent checked out yet. So you wait. You're free to have lunch, use the beach and the pool and basically laze around, without a room number allotted to you.

Even at 3 pm, there's no guarantee you will actually get a room. For example, we got ours at 4 pm. Obviously this leaves a bit of a bad taste in the mouth and your propensity to check out late increases as a result.

The resort otherwise is decent. The infinity pool is clean and expansive (watch out for the monitor lizard) and has a bunch of jacuzzi and children areas as well as an attached bar. The beach isnt the sort you'd like to be at. Full of seaweed and gravelly surface, you're better off walking 15 minutes to the adjoining Mayang Sari beach. Mayang Sari is another resort by Nirwana and the beach is nicer there.

The minibar was non-existent and the bed was too springy. The air conditioning is effective, but you may need to use the ceiling fan sometimes too! The breakfast spread is acceptable.

I fell in love with Indonesians and their food. People here are warm and friendly and the food is really to die for. Again, head over to the Spice restaurant at Mayang Sari and order for authentic Indonesian fare. Two of the service staff- Eni and Surya are particularly helpful.

Dont go by the spa rates at the resort. They're slightly overpriced. Instead head over to the resort center, up the road to your right. On the second floor, above the bowling alley is a brilliant spa. We got full-body, hour-long massages for S$ 30 a pop. You get a 10% discount if you go back there a second time, which is what we did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

As stop over on our way from SouthAfrica to Australia it served its purpose. Deluxe Room was well equipped and spotless. Pool area brilliant. Beach disappointing with oil and sea weed but this is a seasonal problem. Drinks vastly overpriced. Best to buy from store in lobby and cool in room fridge. Food a bit pricey but seafood restaurant good value. Staff not always fluent in English but display good attitude.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 245 guestrooms including 31 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.