We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but be prepared to pay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bintan Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Bintan Lagoon Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Indera Segara site A12 | Bintan Utara, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good, but be prepared to pay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was impressed the moment I got out of the ferry, because I was greeted by a beautiful beach with a coastline so long, it sets your heart and mind free just by looking at it under the bright morning sunlight.

After alighting, just walk about 200m to the immigrations, once you've cleared immigrations, you just need to walk less than 200m to the Hotel's Main Lobby, which was located on a slope behind the immigrations.

There was practically nothing much to do if you're not there for golf, I was there with my wife and upon checking in and finding out that I have indicated we're there for our Anniversary Celebration, the staff told us to wait for about 30 mins.

In the meantime, another staff approached us to register for a Journeyful Account, which was apparently the Group's name or something. Upon registering, we're entitled to 2 vouchers, which we used one for our lunch later on and the other one for a 1-hour VIP KTV Room usage.

We then deposited our bags and went for lunch at Haskell Cafe, which was a short 3 mins walk from the Main Lobby. Lunch is not cheap, considering that I was eating in an Indonesian Island, but then again, the portion is quite huge. You can expect to spend about $30 inclusive of soft drinks / Latte. But with the Voucher, we paid only about $50, similar price you would expect to pay at Swensen's in Singapore.

Upon coming back, the room was ready, But the card they issued did not work for us. It was quite a long walk from our room to the main lobby, just imagine the frustration we faced, but fortunately a cleaning staff was nearby and he used his "Master Card" to unlock our room afte checking that we really are the occupants meant for this room.

The room was fantastic. It was cooling, the towel-folded swans were laid on the bed with Bougainvilla flower petals arranged in a heart-shape, even in the washroom, everything was all nicely arranged. We had Dinner at Kopi-O. Initially I was skeptical about this as I read reviews saying the food was so-so and that it was over-priced, but I decided to give it a shot. Turned out that it's not so bad after all. $38++ for buffet per adult. Again, almost similar price you would pay in Singapore for Dinner Buffet. Food was great, although not VERY FANTASTIC, but at least it is tasty. Don't expect International Buffet kind of variety, but at least it has about 10 - 15 dishes, with tons of desserts. haha.

After Dinner, we went to sing our hearts out at the KTV using the voucher we got. We were entitled to a free 1-Hour KTV usage.

The next morning we woke up late around 9.30am and we went for a long breakfast session at Kopi-O Cafe. Breakfast was usual, as what you would expect to have at any hotels, with porridge options and omelette. Breakfast was Buffet Style, so ok, you can help yourself to as many as you like. Following that, I went for a swim at the swimming pool with the slide, which was at the leisure centre. Remember to slide down the slide with its end located at the 1.2m deep end and not the 0.8m deep end, otherwise you're likely to end up with a bruised butt.(It happened to me).

The slide was irresistible, I have to say. If you own a Waterproof phone like the Sony Xperia Z that I'm using, you can even film yourself sliding down the slide, it's quite an amazing footage. haha.

We requested for a late checkout and since it was a weekday, we managed to get a late checkout till 2pm, which was just nice, because our ferry was at 3.40pm. So after our swim, we went back to our room, cleaned up and packed up. Following that, we checked out at 2pm, then went RICE, which was a restaurant set at the beach, took our lunch, food was fantastic and the view was great, because from where we're sitting, we were facing the beach, but in an air-conditioned restaurant with large glass panels looking out.

Finishing our lunch, we just walked over to the immigration, where we subsequently boarded the ferry and it's Home Sweet Home~

Room Tip: Send your special requests to this hotel if you have any, they'll really attend to it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear "Brianong88",

Greetings from Bintan Lagoon Resort!

We thank you for your heartfelt feedback. Your feedback is very important to us and we take it as a encouraging drive to motivate us further!

We have more than 11 dining options and more than 40 recreational activities for our guests to enjoy. Our cost are pretty reasonable compared to most external vendors on Bintan Island. We hope guests can enjoy our facilities without having to pay for additional costs or hidden charges by external vendors. Nonetheless, we always strive to improve our services and hope that our guests will make good use and enjoy their time with us.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Arrived in the Mozaic Ferry. There are 2 ferrys per day to and fro Singapore. Checkout Mozaic Ferry for their timetable. There was a shuttle bus that brings you to the hotel lobby, or you could just walk (less than 5 mins) right up to the hotel lobby. Take lift to Level 6.
Facilities and room are a little old, but still quite ok. Room only provide some very basic toiletries. No toothbrush or shaving kit or comb or anything. Just shampoo and bath foam and shower cap. So bring your own toothbrush. Hairdryer in the shower was spoilt, when it was turned on the heating coil burned and you could smell smoke coming from it.
If you are looking to not spend much, the only things to do are to swim, gym and sun tan at the beach...pretty much it. The resort beach is relatively clean. There are 2 swimming pools, one facing the beach the other near the Leisure centre (with the kids slide into the pool). Like the reviews in here, ATV, archery, billards, karaoke, jetski etc all are not very cheap. Cycling is about S$6 an hour. Everything in the hotel is pretty much stated in Sing dollars.
Food wise was average. Not cheap, but you are staying in a resort and on a holiday and not much other place you can get food.
Pasar oleh oleh is really nothing much. Small and quite isolate, really for tourist. You can get a shuttle bus from the resort, only twice a day. To and fro is $6. Timings from hotel are 10am and 2pm. Back from pasar is 11.30am and 3.30pm. To confirm check with the hotel. Recommend if you want to go for a massage, pay a one way $3. There are a few massage places there. Usually the massage comes with a free ride back to the resort so you do not have to worry about transport back (min 2 to go).
Overall, a place to stay just to relax and do nothing but soak in the sun and sand.

Room Tip: Choose sea view if you can. Stay in the east wing to be closer to the beach. Rooms with smaller num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagnant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear “Gagnant76"

Thank you very much for your comments. We really appreciate your feedback as it is only through this channel that we are able to identify areas of concern which in turn gives us a chance to correct and improve our services.

We do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you very much once again. We wish you pleasant journeys.

Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We landed up immediately after our wedding. It was one of those big fat Indian weddings following which we were totally drained and so we had selected this place prior to our adventure in Singapore. And let me say it does not disappoint at all...its one of the most peaceful locations in the world...you are totally cut off...huge resort with lovely staff and prompt services although you might have some issues with food if you are hardcore vegetarians like us but overall a place to relax...the only thing you do is get tanned on the lovely beach and relax...and ya have some Javanese beach side massages too...there is also one beach lounge which is usually populated in the evenings with good selection of drinks and peaceful sitting with some good music...overall I would recommend to those who just want few days of disconnect from the torpedoes world..!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ravin_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mr "ravin_84"

Greetings from Bintan Lagoon Resort.

Thank you very much for your comment and choosing to stay with us here. We are glad to know that you and your loved one were satisfied with your stay.

I am sure that this possible feedback will serve as a strong encouragement to the team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

this has been a while

we had a great but tiring trip of singapore for 3 days and landed at bintan lagoon resort. what a place! just what we were looking for. we spent the next 3 days relaxing wonderfully and made up for a hectic stay at singapore.

the resort is massive (is there another name for such a property?)
they had 2 in-house full-fledged golf courses in the premises!
multiples of everything.. pools, restaurants, cuisines, spas..

bintan is a place where you just relax. nothing to do outside the resort (any resort for that matter)
with visa on arrival facility, what more could a visitor ask for?
convenient access from singapore - a little more than an hour's ferry ride.

being veggies, good tasty food is hard to find but we found it in plenty here!
we didn't play golf but enjoyed food at the golf view restaurant. this place also had a few favoured Indian dishes for us.
buffet breakfast was awesome, one of the biggest we have seen in our lives, with cuisines from almost every continent.
generally, food was good and slightly on the expensive side.

our room (floral suite) was massive! we paid about $200 or INR 10,000 per night (we got a great deal) for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment of our stay in the room! this suite had 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, a big living area and 3 TVs. though this was meant for a family, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would often find it difficult to motivate ourselves enough to step out of the room.
we had a nice sea view from our balcony.

the beach was great.
the spa looked great too but we didn't use the facility.

when we visited, there were no water sports on the premises but conducted elsewhere and supposed to be good.

the resort was mostly filled with honeymooners and why not?

great place to visit. enjoy with your spouse (and friends / family)
would love to go back to the resort again but not before we visit all other beach destinations of the world.

Room Tip: the forest suite is slightly more expensive than the lesser rooms but absolute value for money. if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinayMudugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear "VinayMudugal",

Greetings from Bintan Lagoon Resort!

We are absolutely delighted that you and loved ones loved our resort. I believe "humongous" is the word to describe our resort & facilities!

Thank you for your great comments about our resort and your utmost satisfaction with our food. I am very happy to share your wonderful comments with our Chefs and the team! It is great to work with an engaged team and have fantastic comments coming from our guests.

Thank you again for choosing us, we are looking forward to see you on your next trip to Bintan!

Best Regards,

WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you are looking for a value for money this will be the right place.

-Very Polite Staff and this is one of the things that you will definitely notice in this resort. feels like you have a lot of friend in a different place.
-nice swimming pools
-nice beach with fine white sands
-Free activity from the reception, we use to try archery, billiards, Laser fight
-buffet breakfast which is already included in the room.
-Nice rooms =) if you will be visiting try to ask the reception if you can take a view of the sea, since our view is facing the forest which at night is a little bit scary.
-try their buffet dinner there will be nice choices of meats and sea foods
-this place if far from civilization =) so bring some food to eat and drinks to drink =)
-if you are planning to go to oleh oleh don't haha there is nothing there. just enjoy the beach in the resort and the pool walk around the beauty of nature is superb.

to summarize my stay here i would say that it is a very nice experience to be in this place because you will surely be relax and you will feel that you are being treated well. i love their staffs and for sure it is the staffs that makes these place a better place to visit. i would like to commend FITRI for her service deluxe and kindness to us. and also if you will be visiting the Leisure center look for pontas hes very kind and considerate. i don't remember the name of the rest of the staff but their all very good.

that all from me see you again next time =)
Stephen

Room Tip: choose the east side or the sea view. dont go for the forest view its scary at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear "Stephen B",

Greetings from Bintan Lagoon Resort!

We are very delighted that you enjoyed your staycation with us! Your feedback are extremely important to us and continue to motivate us further!

Thank you again for choosing us! We look forward to see you and your friends on your next trip to Bintan!

Best Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

There wasn't many guests as we visited on Sunday - Tuesday, so it was rather good to have most of the resort to ourselves. There are many water sports activities, however they may be pricey. Expect to pay SGD 50-200/hr.

Food wise, it may be a bit pricey. They claim that they import food from Singapore. You pay in SGD and each meal can cost from around SGD 15 to 50 depending on whether you go for a la carte or for a buffett meal. Note that there is usually a service charge of 10% and govt tax of 11%. Try eating at different restaurants for different settings. Heskell's for golf course, RICE for beach front, Ripples for poolside and Kopi-O for views from the main building.

The staff were very courteous and helpful and most can speak English well enough.

Facilities wise, most things were in good working order. Free activities include 2 swimming pools which close at 6pm and a gym which closes at 10pm. Have a drink at the sunken bar at the pool in from of the lobby and try the water slides at the pool behind.

Things are mostly priced in SGD and paying in Rupiah will result in an unfavourable exchange rate. Credit card payments are processed in IND as required by Indonesian law.

The room was clean and well maintained. No complaints there. Good selection of TV channels.

Might lack other activities. (i.e. Movie theatre etc)

The whole place isn't very big unless you include the golf course so basically you can check in you luggage to the ferry at the lobby and take a slow walk to the ferry terminal which is just 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear "Desmond C",

Greetings from Bintan Lagoon Resort!

Thank you for your feedback. I hope you enjoy the quiet and peaceful staycation at our resort. There are several recreational activities and dining options to choose from. The rates are pretty reasonable compared to activities managed by external vendors. We want to provide our guests with convenience and allow them to enjoy with ease of mind. Feel free to approach our friendly staff for advice if you like to explore Bintan town centre.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback. We will definitely incorporate some of the suggestions. We also value customers' feedback via this channel as this provides us with good information which we could improve ourselves further.

We hope to see you visiting our resort again!

Best Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A great hotel in a stunning location.

Charming, friendly staff; what the service lacks in execution is definitely made up for with boundless enthusiasm.

It was a huge room for just two people; comfy bed and pillows, nice fluffy towels but strange bathrobes! Attention to detail from housekeeping was the main let-down. There was a suspicious looking stain splashed across the wall above our bed, and the bedsheets were only changed once in 6 nights, but it was perfectly hygienic enough.

The complex is ultimately a golfing resort, so if you don't play, you could probably stay somewhere cheaper. The rest of the facilities are pretty peaceful though, and the pool is amazing.

The dining options, whilst plentiful, could be a bit better. Breakfast is adequate, but underwhelming; you think you'd get more fresh fruit than just watermelon on a tropical island! That said, RICE Restaurant & Bar on the beach serves the best fillet steak I've eaten in the Far-East, and the teppanyaki at Miyako is incredible (in large part down to Miftah the chef and Shinta the hostess!). Both these places are expensive, but you have to pay the money if you want to eat well on this resort.

Room Tip: Whilst the Deluxe Sea-Facing room we booked did face the beach, you couldn't acually see the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear "Nick J",

Greetings from Bintan Lagoon Resort!

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise for our oversight in housekeeping. We will review the process and improve on areas where we are lacking.

Our resort houses 2 golf courses. In addition, we have various recreational activities for guests to enjoy. RICE and Miyako are our pride. We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves. I'm sure the experience was great!

Once again, we thank you for valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back in our resort again.

Best Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
5.8 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#9 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
7.3 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#5 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
4.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
#8 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12 | Bintan Utara, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing