We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT value-for-money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bintan Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Bintan Lagoon Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Indera Segara site A12 | Bintan Utara, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“NOT value-for-money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just spent 4 days in this resort and the experience is terrible! The food is completely lousy, service is terrible and the whole place, especially the pool, is inundated with families, running children, crying babies.....and it's not even a weekend! The breakfast buffet spread is really atrocious and people are rushing for food! Slow replenishment as well. The only saving grace is they have their own terminal and that saves the shuttling time between terminal and resort. Anyway, if you want a quiet and relaxing time, suggest you try other resorts in Bintan if you want value-for-money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    586
    380
    162
    139
See reviews for
495
473
47
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were fortunate enough to receive this as a wedding present, and whilst it was a nice enough place for a nice enough vacation, there were a few things that let it down.
Being a quick ferry trip directly from Singapore, it definitely caters to the Singapore market with the type of food and prices on offer. Golf is the predominant activity with two championship golf courses it is nice to have a hit, if you are in to that stuff.
Simply put this is a nice place to sit down, relax by the pool and maybe have a swim at the beach. There isn't much else to do. Sorry, there is heaps to do, but only if its open, and only if you want to pay. It is so far away from the town or any other part of the island you are kind of stuck there. Everything costs extra, not that this is bad, but just an annoyance. If they threw in some activities or something that would be ok.
The food is good and there is a good variety of restaurants at the resort, but again limited for choice and cost. Breakfast buffet was very good I admit, which included fresh fruit, custom made omelets, a good variety of hot/cold, western and local foods.
Best place we found to eat was the newer restaurant down by the water, which has a pleasant outlook and some nice breezes to enable you to sit outside.
Don't order room service. The menu looks good but the couple of things we got from there were just awful.
As mentioned by a few people, the Deluxe Sea Facing Room is a bit of hit and miss. The first one we were given was so overgrown and shaded all that could be seen was some trees and some construction that was going on. We went back and asked it to be changed which they were reasonably happy to do. Second room was great 3rd floor with a view out over the grass common towards the pool, with the ocean on our right. Rooms are a decent size and were well appointed, but in need of minor repairs and generally a bit of a facelift. They are starting to look a bit dated and run-down. They have also spoilt a lot of the views by builidng their new ferry terminal smack bang in the middle of everyones vista. Given that it is cheaper and quicker to use the main ferry terminal, not sure of the idea of building their own.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay, sitting around the pool, reading and just spending some much needed time away from the hustle and bustle. And Bintan is good for that. But I'm glad someone else paid for the rooms, as I dont think the cost would/could outweight the enjoyment.

Room Tip: If going for Sea Facing, get the rooms in the West Wing on the higher floors as they might actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Spent a weekend with the family at Bintan Lagoon Resort, a quick trip from Singapore to "get away from it all".

Positives
1. Getting there - now there's a custom-built ferry dock and small immigration service at the resort. No more trips through the main government-run ferry port required, no more additional bus trips to the resort. A great time-saver, awesome not to be lugging kids and bags too often. Once you arrive, you're right there. It's exclusive to ferries operated by Mozaic, book through journeyful.com.
2. Rooms are above average. We booked the sea-facing deluxe rooms for SGD250 a night. There's space for 3 in a room. Beds are ok; air-conditioning is brilliant; about 20 local, Singapore and international channels on the TV. Deluxe rooms have a cushioned rest area on a platform where a group can play cards or to designate as a play area for kids (to keep them off the beds). The floors are tiled because everyone's generally wet from the water activities. Generally clean. Bathroom is sizeable; has a bath tub; massage shower is wonderful. Good hot water supply.
3. The resort is well maintained. Manicured foliage everywhere. Green and serene.
4. The room rate came with buffet breakfast for two. It's alright if you're not expecting five star cuisine or eggs benedict. Staff are attentive and smiley.
5. The pools and beach - these are the main draws for the resort, apart from the golf. The beach is closer to the East Wing rooms. Typical tropical setting - lots of sun, lovely fine sand, gentle waves, coconut palms at the fringe. Guests can get towels at the beach. There are 2 pools - one larger pool with a bar, pressure jets, a 2m end; another with 2 water slides and shallower pools to just lie in. You have to try the tall slide! It's a slippy slidy thrill ride! Very liberating. Just make sure you have nylon or Lycra bottoms on to achieve the optimal frictionless experience.
6. We got the self-drive buggy for an hour (S$30) and it was quite fun going around and checking out the odd corners of the resort, especially the villas.
7. There are beach side massage cabanas. S$30 for a 30 min Javanese massage.

Negatives
1. Food - we didn't try the Kopi-O buffet dinner because it seemed expensive, S$38++ per adult. We went to the Italian restaurant Orzo one night and ordered from the Kopi-O ala carte menu the next. These prices are less extreme and the quality of food is great. I RECOMMEND the pizzas and pastas at Orzo, and the nasi campur and nasi goreng kampung from the Kopi-O ala carte menu.
2. Some of wood finishings make the rooms and some resort facilities look dated.
3. There isn't any free WiFi anywhere. It costs S$19 for a day's connection in one's room. Good if you want to get away from it all but sucks that you can't easily share photos on Facebook.
4. There are flies buzzing about the main restaurant because it's got open windows. It may bother some people.
5. Water from the shower in the tub tends to splash outside the tub quite a bit. Make sure you lay out a towel to soak up the spill.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the resort deluxe room. Very big resort. Room is as shown in the website photos but slight old. Can be cleaner though. Beautiful beach!
Very expensive meals. Although i had a 20% discount for room service. I wasn't inform of this privileges during check in. :(
Check in took quite a bit of waiting in Q. :(
Sea sports is available but pricey. I played jet ski for 30 mins at $88 sgd.
Buggy is available to rent as well but not much to explore.
Sea facing view room is not guaranteed depends which room u got. My room has no much view to speak of.
Swimming pool is quite big and nice... there are 2 pools. Another one which has slides... quite fun for kids.
Friendly staffs, always greeting with a smile.
Beach apparently is not available to swim in when lifeguard is not on duty early in the morning.

Room Tip: East wing rooms are nearer to beach. West wing nearer to pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Has booked a Sea Facing Deluxe Room from 27 to 28 July. However, we are extremely disappointed and feel deceived that there is no sea view from our Balcony.

Our only view is "Ferry Terminal" and the sea is blocked by trees. I think the hotel should call "Ferry Terminal" view instead of Sea Facing.

Is really not worth the value that we have paid for Sea Facing!

Only the location and the hotel staff are great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for three nights. A really fabulous resort lots to do: beautiful beach, golden sand, banana boating, jet ski, great food with a wide range of choice and fabulous golf buggy mode of transport! The WeCare team of Joni and Imma made such a difference to our stay. They were so attentive and did everything possible to ensure we had the most wonderful, relaxing and happy time at the resort. If we had any questions it was so easy to contact them and they always made us feel we were of top priority. We were sorry to leave and really hope to return sometime soon!!

Room Tip: The 4 bed villa was perfect for two adults and three children and the golf buggy was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It was my hubby's birthday, we only had a short time to spare for a getaway hence I choose Bintan Lagoon Resort for its convenient location especially for their exclusive private jetty only for their own ferries to the resort. We would like to give special thanks to their WeCare Team Ms Imma & Mr Jonny for their lovely arrangements. I have informed the resort while making reservations that this was a birthday trip & I requested to make it special for my husband. After our dinner that night, we went back to the room to find the room nicely decorated with flower petals on the bed that wrote "Happy B'Day!" with a birthday card and complimentary fruit basket. It was a great surprise and my hubby felt really delighted. On the next morning, I received a phone call in the room from Ms Imma asking if every thing was ok and if we had a great stay. She also made it special for us to have a late checkout till 2pm! Well what could we say? Its definitely heart warming to receive such special attention throughout our stay. We will come back with our family for a relaxing holiday soon! Thanks for making it a great trip Bintan Lagoon Resort! You are fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Address: Jalan Indera Segara site A12 | Bintan Utara, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and getaroom.com so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.