We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient golf weekend retreat from Singapore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Lagoon Resort

Save Saved
You added Bintan Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Indera Segara site A12 | Bintan Utara, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
S$108 (SGD)
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lagoi
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient golf weekend retreat from Singapore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The one night two days weekend golfing trip to this resort was a reasonably pleasant experience for me and two friends. The ferry docked straight into the resort's pier and within minutes of arriving at the island we were at the reception and 20 minutes later we were having our drinks on the beach. Immigration checks were a breeze and the reception staff was very friendly and efficient. Club house was a 2 minute walk from the hotel and with the booking already made on line when we arrived there our buggies were waiting for us with our golf bags already loaded. We played on the Jack Nikolaus course on both days and though the greens were not in the best condition (parts were under maintenance) the scenery and overall design was was quite alright for an enjoyable game. On the negatives, the resort, rooms and amenities were a little tired from overuse and most extras such as meals, spa, drinks and shops were overpriced for Indonesian standards and the level of quality. Quite obviously the resort is well aware of its monopoly over you once you check in. Also be careful in the sea as some nasty jellyfish is lurking around to add some pain to your stay... Still overall a good retreat for the more relaxed and fun golfer...

Room Tip: Most rooms are of decent standard albeit a little tired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    463
    310
    124
    99
See reviews for
376
381
36
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We paid $200+ extra to have a sea view. Our room is 'sea facing' but the sea was not visible. We expected to arrive direct to the Bintan Lagoon Resort terminal by their ferry but our 'transfer' is old ferry to the Bintan Is Terminal and coach to resort - tiresome after 18 hours travelling.
We had nice welcome at resort with cool drink. Long wait at check-in but given immediate access to our room. Meals are good but very expensive with 20% additional to prices for tax and service charge. Staff were very warm and service good. Our ensuite room was a good size with aircon, fan, cable TV, but needed a makeover and short on seating. The resort is isolated and charge S$6 return shuttle to nearby village of Pasar Oleh Oleh where visitors are menaced by massage pimps and educated on how 'the other half live'!
The resort has a good beach and nice pool area and provide free towels but most other activities are very expensive. Caters for golfers. The internet is very expensive but two free computers are provided in the lobby - if you can get on them!
We enjoyed the pool and beach but the excessive charges for most things throughout the entire resort was a real turnoff. Would we return - no.

Room Tip: 'Sea facing' does not mean rooms have any view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was our first time to Bintan. Just a night stay to get ourself some quality time alone away from our 3 young kids and our 7 months old baby.. It was the husband's Birthday and our 11th Anniversary. Little did we know massive surprises awaits us -

1st surprise: upon alighting the ferry we were warmly greeted with welcome sign and ushered to the buggy by a few staff. We already felt special with other guests eyed on us.
2nd surprise: they celebrated hubby's birthday with Bday song (with sponge bob mascot) complete with Bday cake and gift with welcome drinks
3rd surprise: we had a fast track customs and immigration clearance and was buggied personally to our room
4th surprise: we were upgraded to sea facing room. We were awed every minutes the moment we stepped our feet in BLR.

We then realized that we were taken care by their WeCare team. A stellar services provided by them. Being very informative ; keeping us reminded of our dinner ; following up with our experience after dinner to the time we checked out we are being reminded warmly.

Despite they have a big team of warm staff, room service, in house massage ALL were dedicated to put their guest at a safe and friendly environment - we can't thank enough the WeCare team for that extra mile of personalized attention. Special Thanks would definitely go to Johnny, Valen & Ima. You guys rock our stay there and it will never get forgotten!

We didn't get the chance to try out all the amenities because all we wanted to do was spending time alone. It was the best serene time we had by the beach. So this might be a reason that we will make a comeback with the whole family for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Visited the resort in June 2013 for a 3D2N getaway with a family of 2 adults and 2 boys. Got a Deluxe Seaview Room on the East Wing. Room was more sufficiently spacious for the entire family without the need for an extra bed. The housekeeping staff can set up a mattress on a platform by the balcony.

One should have no illusions about this resort. Bintan Lagoon is an older facility (circa early 1990s) and the facilities are clearly showing its age. The resort rooms appear to have been refurbished in the past few years but that appears the extent of the redevelopment. Pools, hotel buildings and surroundings remain more or less a throwback to the 1990s. The hotel staff are wonderfully warm and accommodating. The service staff try their best to upkeep but I think the resort has seen better days.

Pluses:
1. Ferry terminal on-site: direct ferry services to Singapore's Tanah Merah terminal.
2. Service: first rate and all smiles. Super accommodating staff.
3. Large swimming pool and a smaller family pool with slides: great for kids

Negatives:
1. Facilities in desperate need of refurbishment.
2. Very expensive meals: already mentioned by lots of reviewers. You're a captive customer here with few dining options within walking distance of the resort.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are as advertised with great views of the South China Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It was a very nice hotel. The staff was very good and we got loads of surprises from hotel as we went for our honeymoon. My wife is vegetarian so the indian chef Mr. Ghulab specially prepared a veg. dish for my wife. It was fun and we fully enjoyed the aura and people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have not long come back from Bintan Lagoon Resort via Singapore, we had a wonderful 5 day stay at the resort. The staff were welcoming and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble and everything was always done with a smile. The room was clean, towels and sheets were changed evey day, the food was excellent with a wonderful variety. We enjoyed all the restaurants especially Rice Restaurant. We met a lovely waitress there by the name of Mey who was a delight, thank you Mey and have a wonderful wedding day in July

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Travelled to Bintan island over the weekend in June. Upon arrival there was a dance to welcome the guest which was nice. While waiting in line for check-in we were offered a cold drink :). Since we got there with the early ferry, we were not allowed to get our rooms yet. There were many good discounts when you sign up for their journeyful membership. We got the golf balls and an upgrade to the Floral Suite (extra $100). The suite was nice, especially the balcony and the jacuzzi. But both the rooms and the resort is showing its age, most of the facilites and room fittings look old and worn out (minus 1 star). Overall, good staff and nice holiday away from home. Next time, probably try another resort. like Angsana/Banyan Tree.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Address: Jalan Indera Segara site A12 | Bintan Utara, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.