We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Lagoon Resort

Save Saved
You added Bintan Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 12 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FACEBOOK GIVEAWAY
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lagoi
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I really enjoyed the facilities at this resort, swimming pools, restaurants, nice surrounds. Stayed in a king room which was comfortable but every morning there was no hot water! Had to have an afternoon shower if I wanted a hot one. I expected there to be fe wifi in the rooms but there wasn't which was disappointing. There was free wifi in the lobby though. I would stay there again for a cheap deal with breakfast.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    436
    287
    113
    92
See reviews for
343
352
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Everytihng was fine till the last day. We planned to return to S'pore early so booked the morning ferry. Delay was due to very high wave the captain did not want to take the risk. Think it was a good decision so waited patiently for 3-4hrs. Finally manager decided to get us another ferry terminal where the wave is not as high or the boat is bigger. Told everyone things were arranged, no need to re-check in immigration or boarding pass, etc. Lied. Scrambe boarding passes. Queue like mad for immigration and finally reached S'Pore at about 8pm. Hungry (offered fruits for lunch, but not a fruit person), very tired. Felt like a refugee instead of someone returning from holiday resort. BLR, u can do better.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom villa and as soon as we arrived, I told my children not to unpack. The Villa was so run down and shabby.. Management moved us to 2 hotel rooms and those were not much better. The rooms were musty and everything felt damp. There was mold on almost every wall and the bathroom was just gross. Food was bad and VERY EXPENSIVE! You are trapped in the "resort" with no other options. My Husband said the golf was beautiful but the course was in bad shape.. we booked for a 6 day beach and golf holiday, we stayed for about 36 hours. The staff all seemed so unhappy and when we checked out early, no one was surprised. So disappointing..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozaic H, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest - PaulaCook,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Bintan, Indonesia and sharing your experience with us on this public platform.

We are disappointed to learn that we were unable to leave a positive impact on you during your stay with us. Although, our staff takes utmost care while maintaining the hygiene of the rooms, we assure you that corrective actions will be taken at the soonest possible to avoid future inconvenience to our guests. We take this opportunity to inform that the pricing has been kept according to the current hospitality standards. We have noted your problem about the shuttle van and ensure that necessary modifications will be made at the soonest possible. We remain committed in providing our patrons the best in services and facilities.

We would like to thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you with our renewed services.

Best Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

great hotel ,huge property well maintained...but be ready to pay for every facility u want to use..
the have buggies for villa ppl but not for other guest...so if u have a person on wheel chair they still don't accomadate,
very unfriendly stay...will not entertain any requests made...we had 5 rooms all in different corners and different floors, even after making a group booking..the message by the beach was good..and the Pvt. beach was also nice...but thats about it..
the room service was bad ..coming from pan pacific in singapore were we had amazing staff ans service, this was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in this resort celebrating our marriage anniversary.

I must say that we completely enjoyed out stay here. The resort is luxurious and huge. Infact its so big, that one does not need to venture out in the city.

The gold club is amazing and so is the lovely beach. The Rice restaurant on beach is great.

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Best of all are the sea facing villas.

Room Tip: Keep room doors closed all times to avoid insects and condensation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

for the price paid on accomodations and expenditure at the hotel, the service would have never been what you may expect.
due to festive season and the high price we paid for 2 sea-facing rooms, it turned out to be nightmare with the floors perpetually wet, if not damped. i brought my family with 4 kids, and my eldest son have slipped trice on the damped slippery floor. It was due to exessive condensation from the 2nd floor of East wing. it was such a waste for not being able to enjoy the breeze without causing extreme condensation. i waited for 3hours before a room changed to another connecting rooms at west wing. take note of this if you have booked a sea-facing room.
2ndly, F&B prices are exorbitant although i'm already quite prepared to pay double of what you might pay in 5stars hotel in singapore. A can of Tiger beer is at least $10-$11 unless happy hours at certain bars that serves 1-1. opt for RICE restaurant or otherwise The Terrace which serves Tiger/Heneken at $8. Another note on the published Happy Hour timings on their in-house publication,, it was never accurate. So do check out before placing your orders. Next, is their restaurant timing. It was stated as well Lunch is available at Japanese restaurant but it never opened, and when it states Dinner opens at 5.30pm, it only opened at 6pm. Options for Lunch is very limited.
Lastly, on our departure day (25/12/12), it was raining heavily and we have checked with Journeyful counter for our departure ferry on the night before and early morning itself. We were told not being able to change our afternoon timing to morning ferry due to rain. So, the staff told us to stick with our initial planned at 3.40pm. To our surprise upon checkout at 1.40pm, the counter staff told us that ferry is not operating and have left with only 5pm & 6pm departure timings with other ferries. To make matter worst, i have 2 sicked children with high fever. how could they not informed us beforehand so that we have the option to opt for earlier available ferries? Staff said they might have missed us out? Might have???? Nevertheless, the manager was helpful to make arrangements for the next avaialble ferry at 2.30pm.
The trip could have been better if the rooms are well maintained, service improved and revise the F&B prices to equate service rendered.
I should have sticked with my choice to Club Med for an all-inclusive holidays and balanced meals for my kids.
definitely my last trip to Bintan Lagoon

Room Tip: beware of excessive condensation in some sea-facing rooms like mine-east wing 2002/2003 opt for hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was one of the most horrible hotels I have stayed at in a long time. We arrived by boat, after the boat was changed due to bad weather (namely the boat not operating or broken). The hotel or boat company never informed us of the 20kgs allowance and then on arrival a $25USD visa application. We didn't mind about the cost, it was more the inconvenience. Then one of the staff at the Bintan Lagoon Resort offered us a quick check in visa for addional 4SGD. This was okay. He took $50AUD and $30SGD and never gave back our change. This turned out to be a fiasco, which was resolved 1 hr before we left by the hotel manager who was not equipped to assist us. He had no idea how to resolve an issues in the hotel.

When we arrived the room was horrible. No bed side lamps working, doors broken, stuffy and damp. Only one plug works for overseas computer.

We were then upgraded to a better room, however, by then we had decided to cut short our 9 day stay to less than 24hrs. This place is horrible, run down, damp, the food was terrible, I can't imagine why anyone would stay there. Apart from what looks to be a nice golf course.

The staff don't do any work. They are always on a computer or busy shuffling you from one person to another, so they don't have to do any work. The only person that really helped was a car driver, who actually wanted to help us.

The bus is unreliable and we were back on the boat, happy to be back in Singapore, on Christmas Day.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozaic H, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest - Anne W,

Many thanks for staying at Bintan Lagoon Resort and reviewing us in detail. Your illustrative feedback has brought many issues to fore and we are really grateful for that. We are disappointed to learn of the inconveniences caused to you due to our service.

We assure you that we will strive to analyze the root cause of the shortcomings that you have mentioned and eliminate them at the earliest. We thank you again for taking time out to share your stay experience with us. We hope you would give us another chance to host you with amended services.

Thanks and Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Hotel
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi
Address: Jalan Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea, Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven, home to sun, sea, and two spectacular golf courses.This Indonesian-style resort sprawls over 310 hectares, with a private golden sand beach that stretches 1.5 km. What sets this iconic resort apart from the rest is a private ferry terminal, landing directly at the resort’s doorstep.Whether it is a romantic spa-indulged getaway, a midweek game of golf, or a company event by the ocean, Bintan Lagoon Resort is sure to impress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.