We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicholas Course a stand out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Lagoon Resort Golf Club

Bintan Lagoon Resort Golf Club
Jalan Indera Segara Site A12., Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
770-691-388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 attractions in Lagoi
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
Geelong
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nicholas Course a stand out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Jack Nicholas course was outstanding and typical of his design mantra. The Ian Baker Finch was painfull with many blind second shots and hopeless angled lies (no matter what standard of golfer you are). Both were scenically brilliant and well groomed. I'd suggest Nicholas then play Ria Bintan net door.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Two great courses - beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We played both courses and enjoyed every minute.
well maintained, challenging, lots of water, some holes forgiving,
fits all levels of players.
We enjoyed playing without the caddies.
Personally I enjoyed the Baker Finch course over the Jack Nicklaus (too much fuss about the ocean hole)
(The everywhere pictured ocean hole with big granite boulders is on the golf course next to the Banyan Tree Resort)
Make sure you don't play after heavy rain, because they won't allow carts on the fairways - you won't enjoy walking on such a course, it shall feel like a steam bath

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bintan Lagoon - Golfing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at Bintan Lagoon on a golfing trip with 7 other fellow golfers. The whole process of getting from Singapore airport (Changi) to the ferry terminal and using the ferry to Bintan was hassle free and not complicated. Upon arrival we were all met (travelled at different times) by the Bintan Lagoon staff and they helped with immigration and getting your visa. Note: you can pay in SGD it doesnt have to be US dollars.
Check in at the resort was smooth and friendly. Breakfast was included in our package but we ate at the resort every night and found it to be reasonable in quality and price. The only negative is the price of wine. $100 dollars for average stuff - cant see why its so expensive when everything else was okay. Previous reviewers have posted negative comments on the pricing of the restaurants but in fairness to the resort the staff are excellent and its not for backpackers. We found it okay and about what we would pay in Australia in general.
The golf was fantastic. Two challenging courses at the resort and we also played at Ria Bintan which I thought was one of the best courses I have played. The caddies are friendly and depending on how long they have worked there, very good with the line and speed of the greens. Tipping them is the right thing to do - about $20 SGD. Not much for the experience of being looked after so well.
Overall the facilities were very good, pools are excellent, spa does a good massage and you can swim at the beach. Its an older resort but still ranks pretty well. Comfortable room and bed as well.
Checking out was smooth and once again the shuttle to the ferry and subsequent transfers was easy. Note: it was funny to see the excess baggage fee ($1 per kg) go into the back pocket of the check in clerk. Make sure you have the right notes - they dont like giving change.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Huge beautiful resort, service was great and food was lovely.
Checking in was easy. The resort was in middle of nowhere but offers a nice and relaxing time without the noise of traffic

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pros: empty fairways, knowledgeable caddies, good rental clubs and shoes.
Cons: average greens, not enough holes by the sea (only 2), pro shop and bar so-so.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bintan Lagoon Resort Golf Club also viewed

Bintan Island, Riau Archipelago
Tanjung Pinang, Bintan Island
 
Lagoi, Bintan Island
Tanjung Pinang, Bintan Island
 

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Lagoon Resort Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bintan Lagoon Resort Golf Club to your Saves list