We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bintan Lagoon - Golfing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Lagoon Resort Golf Club

Bintan Lagoon Resort Golf Club
Jalan Indera Segara Site A12., Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
770-691-388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Lagoi
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
South Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bintan Lagoon - Golfing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at Bintan Lagoon on a golfing trip with 7 other fellow golfers. The whole process of getting from Singapore airport (Changi) to the ferry terminal and using the ferry to Bintan was hassle free and not complicated. Upon arrival we were all met (travelled at different times) by the Bintan Lagoon staff and they helped with immigration and getting your visa. Note: you can pay in SGD it doesnt have to be US dollars.
Check in at the resort was smooth and friendly. Breakfast was included in our package but we ate at the resort every night and found it to be reasonable in quality and price. The only negative is the price of wine. $100 dollars for average stuff - cant see why its so expensive when everything else was okay. Previous reviewers have posted negative comments on the pricing of the restaurants but in fairness to the resort the staff are excellent and its not for backpackers. We found it okay and about what we would pay in Australia in general.
The golf was fantastic. Two challenging courses at the resort and we also played at Ria Bintan which I thought was one of the best courses I have played. The caddies are friendly and depending on how long they have worked there, very good with the line and speed of the greens. Tipping them is the right thing to do - about $20 SGD. Not much for the experience of being looked after so well.
Overall the facilities were very good, pools are excellent, spa does a good massage and you can swim at the beach. Its an older resort but still ranks pretty well. Comfortable room and bed as well.
Checking out was smooth and once again the shuttle to the ferry and subsequent transfers was easy. Note: it was funny to see the excess baggage fee ($1 per kg) go into the back pocket of the check in clerk. Make sure you have the right notes - they dont like giving change.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Huge beautiful resort, service was great and food was lovely.
Checking in was easy. The resort was in middle of nowhere but offers a nice and relaxing time without the noise of traffic

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pros: empty fairways, knowledgeable caddies, good rental clubs and shoes.
Cons: average greens, not enough holes by the sea (only 2), pro shop and bar so-so.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great courses and best caddies in Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Recently played both the Ian baker Finch and the Jack Nichlaus courses at Bintan Lagoon Resort - absolutely fantastic. Caddies are incredible - know golf, know their courses and are great fun. I have used Warsini as my caddie for years (absolutely stupid to ignore her advice, which club to use, what line on the green, etc) - great and all of my playing partners agree about the caddies they had helping them.

Congratulations to the course superintendent and all of his people.

Will play again Friday, Sunday and Monday.

You should come and try these great courses.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice view, nice service, but supreme expensive in bintan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

yep...gotta admit that i was there for x'mas...so i assume things could be a bit more expensive...however for 3 days 2 nights we 2 person spent at least S$400/night, well, so far i don't really think it worth up to that level. let me break it down:

arrival: free drinks, free dance: cool, chill, like it
hotel room, seaview x 2 nite: S$300
ferry return tickets x 2: S$135
lunch@pool side: S$50+: burger, chicken wings, capuccino x2, water
snacks@ tuck shop: S$25: 1.25L coke + chips + cigarettes
dinner@ kumbong in the middle of the lake (very good experience, nice seafood, worth to go) S$120
wine@ beach bar: S$100 for jacob's creek (yep, my wallet feels upset)
brunch @ resort: included (ok quality, ok choices, ok services, no complain)
swim @ pool (i like it, though the weather isn't very stable, the 2 pools i visited were both nice enough - though a bit too many kids...ha)
dinner@ bintan shopping whatever (a place tailored for tourists, dislike) S$100, not impressive restaurant, nothing impressive.
starry walk at the beach@the resort, free, lovely and really recommending
brunch @ resort: same, included
snacks@ pier...S$30...
leaving...
restaurants inside the resort is really pricey - and really overpriced. jacob creek isn't selling at such a price in Singapore, but it is happening in Indonesia's Bintan...

see? i spent nearly S$800 at bintan...i guess i can go to more exotic area say Thailand?!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bintan Lagoon Resort Golf Club also viewed

Bintan Island, Riau Archipelago
Tanjung Pinang, Bintan Island
 
Lagoi, Bintan Island
Tanjung Pinang, Bintan Island
 

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Lagoon Resort Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.