We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Calm after the Storm (of Mumbai)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Varca Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Varca Beach to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Varca Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Survey No 176/1,Varca Village | Salcete Taluka, Varca 403721, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Varca
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Calm after the Storm (of Mumbai)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We used our RCI exchange and turned out to be really good decision. We were there in the international peak period in December and expected it to be very busy. Due to the spread of the rooms across the estate, one did not feel crowded in – Except at breakfast.

Breakfast is a traditional Indian buffet. If however, as we chose the international continental meals, this was a bit slow. The management team certainly pay attention and I even got to meet the Food and Bev manager who attended to our concerns.

Two dishes that I would STRONGLY recommend a) the Paneer and chilli in the main restaurant and the b) the grilled prawns at the resort’s dune restaurant.

The resort is located in South Goa and is off the beaten track. This does result in limitations on movement as the local bike hire and taxis can become expensive (relative to Mumbai, Kochi or Varkala).

I had read previous that compained about the size of the rooms and he dated TVs. We have a relatively large apartment close to reception. The room had THREE flat screen televisions – not that we had much time to watch TV.

I would also recommend the SPA for the Shirodhara (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shirodhara). This was a first for me and absolutely the most calming treatment I have ever had.

The resort has a few swimming pools that are clean and well kept.

Overall the service was good. The food was a bit more expensive when compared to the rest of Goa and even the nearby hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Jeets2804,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Varca, Goa. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience at the resort. And, indeed the proximity of the beach to the resort does give a very private feel to it and glad you were able to enjoy it. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experiences with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.

Warm Regards,
The Club Mahindra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    448
    136
    47
    37
See reviews for
599
237
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed that the Varca Beach resort between 4th and 7th of January, 2013. My overall experience at the resort has been good but they are a few points of improvement that I would like to point out. Firstly, the bathroom and the room itself weren't very clean when we were just walked in. We waited for over 30 mins to get to that room and after all that it was dirty! That really put us off. Its obviously not a pretty sight. Secondly, there were way too many mosquitoes. Yet another annoying thing. I would like to suggest that the Club Mahindra management work on the cleanliness factor at the resort so that guests have a pleasant stay. Also, the rooms do not have wifi. That can get very inconvenient. Its hard to walk up to the lobby each time you need to use the net. It would be great if the resorts are equipped with either free wifi or chargeable wifi at Rs. 25/day/room. I'm sure that people will be willing to shell out some money for this. Thirdly, the staff can be instructed to be more polite to the guests. At times, I found them to be quite rude.
The swimming pools at the resort were well maintained. I throughly enjoyed the water sports right outside he resort. The restaurants were good too, however, the prices for the combo meal plans for the day can be slightly reduced. Its too pricey when you stay with a family of 4 or more!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi devil_anj,

Thank you for your feedback and the points that you have brought to our notice. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience always, and are concerned that your experience was not upto the standards that we strive to deliver. Please accept our apologies and be rest assured that all your concerns will be looked into on priority. We would also like to inform you that occasionally, seasonal issues at resorts across the country include irritants like mosquitoes as you have experienced. In order to ensure a comfortable stay for our members, all rooms have information regarding such issues and additionally, we also advise our members to reach out to housekeeping if the problem persists. Please do continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Warm Regards,
The Club Mahindra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bikaner, Rajasthan, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Beautiful setting, great rooms, plenty of in house activities, beautiful beach just next to the resort, food and service can be better. The bar is great, though cold beer runs out fast, hope they get a bigger freezer to chill the beer, different types of cocktails and mocktails are available, but as for food, better to go outside and eat, because the service is poor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Abhi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Varca Beach Goa resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed the dining experience, the sports activities and the hospitality that we strive to offer all our members. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members at our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.

Warm Regards,
The Club Mahindra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I feel this is the best resort among all club mahindra resorts I visited. Lavish rooms, multiple swimming pools, friendly staff, delicious food and last but not the least the Private Beach makes this resort one of the best in Goa.

We went there in early January so found the city still glowing with Christmas decorations.

Someone truly said Time runs faster when happy. We couldn't realize when the two days passed enjoying the private beach, water sport facilities, pools, food and in house entertainment activities available at the resort.

Later we hired a bike also for couple of days for local travelling which I would say the best feature of Goa.

Overall the trip was sooo relaxing and enjoyable that we look forward to coming back to this resort.

Room Tip: There is no beach facing room I was told, so we preferred room near the pool area,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The highlights are the walk on the beach and it's super chefs who can delight you with customised menu just for you. Has great repeat value for it's location and service team. Most of the rooms though need major renovation and clean up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi Nivedita,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Club Mahindra Varca Goa. We are certain that our chefs will be delighted to receive your compliments. Furthermore, your points on our rooms have been duly noted and will be addressed with immediate effect. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, India
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is one of the best resort in South of Goa. The hotel opens up into a private beach - Varca Beach. There are 2 swiming pools and lot of club activities. From digital games to board games and lot more. You can hire cycles and have a leisure ride. This resort is well suited for all age groups and all type of travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the swiming pool facing are more active.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Yatin,

We are really glad to have received your feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Varca Goa. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to receive your compliments. We are glad you liked our resort and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you again at our resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is the best resort for sure. Excellent food with great variety. We got a good pool facing room. Excellent and well maintained pool, there are two of them.
Beach is part of the property and so neat, its unbelievable. The games room was too good with lot of variety for all ages. We took the two day package and got money's worth. No need for sight-seeing, the resort itself will keep you busy!!
Good souvenir shop within.

Restauarant is the best. Great variety for Veg food. Very nice and courteous staff. Will always remember the chief chef Mr Mohan who gave us special treatment and cooked specifically for us when we requested.
Once we left our mobile at the dinner table. Next day, when we remembered, the staff gave it back to us with no hassles.

Will look forward to coming back to this resort, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Varca Goa. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our food and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We look forward to welcome you at a Club Mahindra Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Varca Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Varca Beach

Address: Survey No 176/1,Varca Village | Salcete Taluka, Varca 403721, India
Location: India > Goa > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Varca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Varca Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Club Mahindra Varca Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Varca Beach Hotel Varca
Hotel Mahindra Varca Beach
Club Mahindra Varca Beach India
Club Mahindra Varca Beach Goa
Mahindra Varca Beach Club India
Varca Palms Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Varca Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.