We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing after the hype” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Varca Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Varca Beach to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Varca Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Survey No 176/1,Varca Village | Salcete Taluka, Varca 403721, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Varca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing after the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am a purple studio member who got a reservation in Club mahindras much hyped Varca beach Goa resort after multiple attempts.The disillutionment started from check in time where we realised that two rooms bked at the same time under the same membership was alloted in different buildings!!! Then after waiting for more than an hour we finally got the rooms. My impression of the resort was of run down place which had lost its glory....I cant understand why a group of Mahindras stature cannot maintain its property in a better manner. The rooms where avrage with some fancy looking fans which do not move and poor air conditioning.The floor tiles where stained and air con was leaking......Todays Indian traveller is a well exposed person who has a good sense of what luxury is.Varca beach was not luxurious and not even clean....food was average ....imagine a seaside resort serving frozen fish....ofcourse no complaints about the staff ...they did their best to make our stay memorable...My advice to Club Mahindra is that it is a great property ( with a private beach and two good swimming pools and lot of open space ) that requires just some maintenance.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    448
    136
    47
    37
See reviews for
599
237
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The resort is quite good and spread across with a variety of actvities.

The room service is not good and takes a lot of time to the extent that they forget to send the desired items.. There are lot of issues which are not addressed
Housekeeping is efficient and good.

The studio room is big and good for a family with the dry kitchen.

The restaurant food is good with a decent buffet, the only issue with both the restaurants is that the cooling is not effective and it remains very warm and nothing seems to be done about it...

The biggest issue is the transportation from the resort, The taxi union outside is so expensive and rude ... a simple 5-10 minute drive to the beach can cost you a return fare of INR 800 so plan your travel accordingly as self hire cars are not allowed here.

Also they resort staff and management dont care if the member plans to spend a special occasion at the resort, i was given such a shocking and bad treatment that i decided to have my special dinner at Taj exotica...

But all in all, a decent stay.....

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the main building as they are new and renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Varca property is a beautiful property which has a beach attached to it. We booked a 1 bedroom for 3 days. There are 2 swimming pools with Kid pools attached. Once inside the resort you don't need to step out. Good food in the 2 restaurants and long walks on the beach and a good spa within the resort will definitely complete your holiday.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the second Swimming pool. Walk to the beach will be less and not very far fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I Visited this resort in Jan 2012 for two nights what do i say, just fell in love with this resort as soon i entered the lobby is just perfect lovely ambience and the rooms are good resort activities superb, the best part is onsite beach i stayed in two resort but club mahindra varca rocks. mind blowing resort i recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We are planning to have holiday in december first week. Booked hotel unit room(HU). But not able to view the photos and details of room. Any body stayed there and any suggestions. Also any clue on the nearby places of interest.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Travel Dates: 16-Oct-2012 to 19-Oct-2012

Rooms: We booked a 1 bed room property, the rooms, sheets and towels were clean. The room had a terrace and two balconies, a place to hang out clothes - overall thoughtfully designed. Now, the bad part: The shower in the bath was leaking, so the water did not have enough strength to have a quick shower. The faucet near the WC was also leaking. The AirCon misbehaved during nights - went into some power saver mode or whatever, we got up sweating!

Swimming Pool: There are three pools, each has an option for infant, children and adult swimmers. The bigger swimming pool was about 3 feet in depth - therefore a bit difficult to swim around - however, the positive side was that I could leave my daughter to play without being in the pool myself.

Food: There are multiple dining options - buffet and a-la-carte, the food is expensive and low on value for money. Buffet was way too expensive, so we went for a-la-carte - none of the dishes were made properly.
The breakfast had a motley mix of items - the fruit juices were diluted, and the fruits were not cut properly. For the money they charge per head: Rs. 250 + 22% tax. - I felt it wasn't worth it. We went to the Fisherman's Wharf near Holiday Inn, and found the food to be much better - price and quality wise.

Beach: Nice clean beach just outside the resort, but a bit crowded - this is Goa after all :-). We saw a lot of jellyfishes and starfishes on the beach.

Service: The staff was very good, responsive and helpful.

Value for Money: Average - the rooms and locations are good, good service, food was not good.
Would I Return: Yes! Why? Food I can always sample from the nearby restaurants instead. For the rest, the property is pretty good.

Room Tip: If you are booking a 1 Bed property, ask for corner rooms, as it has a nice terrace for the evenings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Huge property.... 3 different pools. Different types of villas and rooms and accomodations... gardens.. beach access directly from property.. kids pool with slides..
you can;t go wrong.
Their restaurants are kind of strictly ok. But manageable.

If u dont have your own vehicle, you are kinda stuck, as is the case with other club mahindra properties. You go out of the property, the taxis have unions. you have to take their own cabs. They are nothing but rip-offs. The tours from their travel desk are also really expensive. So be ready for that. You can't just walk out, and hope to catch a cab. There is nothing out there.. and the unions and all that jazz will ensure that you take the taxi from the hotel premise only. So eating in the restaurant within are your only logical option.
Their spa is also good. The shack food options are good...
Children would love the gaming and fun zone activities here.
So all in all, except for the taxi mafias, you are happy and great place to be in your vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms near the pool can get loud. Try to keep the rooms near reception as the pool near that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Varca Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Varca Beach

Address: Survey No 176/1,Varca Village | Salcete Taluka, Varca 403721, India
Location: India > Goa > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Varca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Varca Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Club Mahindra Varca Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Varca Beach Hotel Varca
Hotel Mahindra Varca Beach
Club Mahindra Varca Beach India
Mahindra Varca Beach Club India
Club Mahindra Varca Beach Goa
Varca Palms Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Varca Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.