We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Caravela Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Caravela Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Varca Village Fatrade | Salcete, Varca 403721, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Varca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Attended Varun & Neha's wedding & stayed in #158. Amazing arrangements, food, service, cleanliness, house keeping & rooms. I have to mention what a pleasure it was to be a guest in this hotel & most importantly not to have smelly toilets or naphthalene balls in the drains. The housekeeping staff have to commended on the excellent service & patience with the high demand of all of us wedding guests & making sure we all had use of the scarce irons.
My only suggestions would be to provide irons in all the rooms, as it is a destination wedding venue & to install air movement fans in the public areas. It was very humid & hot even at the end of November. There are some great fans from the colonial indian times that are automated that are used in a lot of resorts in Asia & Australia.

Room Tip: We were in the new wing & sitting on our balcony listening to the sound of the ocean was very re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaCaravelaGoa, Manager at Ramada Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Sir

We are really thank full to you for taking time out to post such a positive feedback and great comments. The team at the resort is pleased to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations

Your nice comments about the wedding arrangements,food, service and cleanliness are a delightful encouragement to motivate us to exceed even better

We have taken note of your suggestions of providing irons in all rooms, however we provide the same on request basis.Also the suggestion of fans in public areas are being considered

We thank you once again for the kind words and suggestions and look forward to seeing you here once again

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    271
    113
    56
    38
See reviews for
297
252
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We treavelled from Nov 21 to 24th Nov, 2014.
We made booking of air ticket by make my trip and we did booking of This hotel by Coxs and kings. we have booked in package of 3 nights and 4 days. Package include everything, food, accommodation, two way airport transports and sight seeing. we are 3 couples and all have one infant. We are given voucher by Coxs and kings that mentions our flight details and hotel booking and package details. we were told that hotel staff would receive us on air port.
As we landed in Goa, We got little shocked as none was appeared to receive us. We called hotel and they said they didnt intimate and we called Coxs and kings they said that they would do something for it. After sometimes, someone appear with our name tag on air port. he was local taxi driver, might be tie up with Hotel. As we reached hotel, hotel people seemed to be not aware of our arrival. Taxi driver asked us for his payment. Now we little bit lost our temperament and later hotel manger had corrected issue.

This initial panic later on turn to pleasant holiday as resort is nice and they provide everything they committed. we enjoyed lot.
On the day of departure, they told us that Cox and kings didnt inform them about our arrival and on the other hand Coxs and kings said that they had given detailed. So i dont know who was in fault, but now I advise just always reconfirm your flight detail with hotel. Overall excellent trip.

Room Tip: Swimming pool side Room has great view. Check that you should get double bed instead of two single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaCaravelaGoa, Manager at Ramada Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Sir

We thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our resort

First let me apologize for the inconvenience caused to you regarding the pick from airport not being arranged on arrival.We have noted the same with great concern and have taken corrective measure to ensure such lapses do not re occur again

We are glad that we could make your trip memorable and an enjoyable stay with us
We thank you once again for staying with us and look forward to seeing you here again

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

yes ramada carvela beach resort is a wonderful 5 star resort on varca beach.i organised our batch reunion in october and had group booking(19)rooms.although one of the oldest 5 star resorts of goa the hotel has been renovated.rooms are good,wonderful pool with the bar in the centre,disco is good but the music systems need to be changed!.go for a all inclusive package.beach is clean,suggest an massage at tha spa worth it.sight seeing tours are well organised.to conclude a good resort for an relaxing holiday with family and friends.group bookings are value for money(13500 per room,couple and two chidren below 12 years for 2 nights and 3 days all inclusive!!)

Room Tip: superior rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaCaravelaGoa, Manager at Ramada Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Sir

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during you recent batch reunion trip

We are glad that we could make your trip memorable and enjoyable one. Th team at the resort is very pleased to know they were able to meet and exceed your expectations

Your nice comments about the renovated rooms,pool, disco, massage and sight seeing trip are a delightful encouragement to us. Also have noted the concern raised about the music system in the disco.

We thank you once again look forward to seeing you here agian

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Fantastic place for a relaxing Holiday. Clean beach, great bars, courteous staff, loads of activities, however, a la carte menu needs a little more variety.
Stayed there for about a week and we did not have to step out of the hotel for anything. It was such relaxing and enjoying trip at the same time

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaCaravelaGoa, Manager at Ramada Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Sir

We thank you for sparing your time and you kind words of appreciation

We are delighted to read your great comments about our various aspects of our resort
Th team at the resort is pleased to know that they were able to meet and exceed your expectations

We thank you once again for staying with us and that we could make your trip memorable and enjoyable stay with us

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This place is in the middle of nowhere...which is what some people want but after a couple of days you do want to explore the city & sites. Taxi fares are exhorbitant & getting to any location is a min 1 hour drive! Half day sight-seeing was organised at 1.30 in the blazing afternoon sun. I'm sure this works for the mostly Russian tourists which this place is full of (v polite & don't interact with anyone else so no hassles there). But to see sights in +36 deg C is not our idea of fun ...& no alternative offered.
We were there for the Diwali weekend & that is exactly when these people started painting the bannisters. There was paint smell in the lobby & open restaurant below. If you are expecting maximum occupancy on a Public festival/holiday, is that the time you start painting work?? We came for fresh air but had to run outside or to our room to avoid the paint fumes which I am allergic to.Food is good, what one expects from a hotel of this standard. Staff very helpful & prompt in service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed at the Ramada Caravela from 3rd Nov. to 6th Nov.2013, and found our trip to be quite disappointing from the very beginning. To begin, we booked two inter-connecting deluxe rooms, however we were put up in standard rooms, being told that they were deluxe. So obviously, the pictures on their website are to cheat people like us. They go out of their way to look after their Russian guests, and don't care two hoots about Indian guests. Absolutely no proper service in their dining room (thouroughly under staffed). On the 1st nite we paid in cash for our dinner, however on check-out the same was again billed to our room and obviously we had to pay for it again. So pls. beware of settling dining bills in cash. The mini-bar and snacks were never re-filled, but on check out they ask you to pay for everything that was never filled. I guess the hotel staff (housekeeping) is enjoying the same themselves. The floor in the rooms absolutely filthy. There was pineapple juice lying in the corridors for two days, but not cleaned. There are absolutely no activities for kids nor adults, cos everything is charged for, including childrens activity centre. I have never seen this anywhere else. Only the price they charge is 5 star, all services are 3 star. Be aware and cautious while settling your bills at checkout.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgm_rooms2013, General Manager at Ramada Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello, sorry to hear your review. If you could provide us with the name under which the booking was done, and any other details that could help us track down the problems that you faced, we will surely take necessary action. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moradabad, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I am fond of travelling and I have stayed in various resorts and hotels of different star categories....!! Ramada resort is absolutely not in the category of five star....Food was just average....Staff was courteous but not well trained.....Rooms were clean but the hallway was kind of stinking .....to my utmost surprise...there were stray dogs in the pool area...I mean very close to water..almost ready to jump in...when I shouted ..the staff acted very lazily ..as if it was nothing very great....!! The resort's beach was clean...but was dead...there were no activities at all....If u want to play snooker or pool then u have pay then by an hour ( havent seen this newhere )... house keeping services were good ...response of the staff was prompt but was lacking a five star professional attitude..!! The building is not well maintained ...... one last thing which was the worst experience in my life of staying in a resort/ hotel was that there was no health faucet ( hand shower ) in the toilet, nor there was a outlet of water near the seat so that u can wash...!! There was just a tissue hanging near the seat...and that was it...!!! I mean this was so annoying that it would always refrain me to visit any of the Ramada resorts in future..let it be anywhere in this world...!!! This may sound funny but it was quite annoying and uncomfortable....!! For public toilets its ok,,,but for a guest room toilet its absolutely weird...!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Caravela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Caravela Beach Resort

Address: Varca Village Fatrade | Salcete, Varca 403721, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Varca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Caravela Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 Star Deluxe Hotel.Beachfront, Secluded Luxury Beach Resort with 199 rooms, 5 stylish restaurants, Ayurveda and Yoga, 9 Hole Golf Course, Fitness Center, and Kids friendly.Free Wi-Fi in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Caravela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Caravela Beach Hotel Varca
Ramada Salcette
Salcette Ramada
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort Goa/Varca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Caravela Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.