We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Cookery Class (and Waterfall Trip)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino to your Saves list
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pedda, Varca 403721, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Varca
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Cookery Class (and Waterfall Trip)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the Zuri White Sands, Goa for 6 days in March 2013, after doing the Golden Triangle Tour followed by tiger safaris at Ranthambore National Park. It is a resort complex, on Varca Beach far away from other hotels. It has beautiful gardens, a gorgeous coconut fringed beach, an attractive meandering pool (with sit up bar for your pina coladas), a reception foyer that includes waterfalls, and charming helpful staff.
We approached Reception and requested any information on a local cookery class we could attend. Elaine contacted Executive Chef Farooq and one was arranged for us for that day! An American guest had the same request so three of us went together.
We joined Chef Akashdeep, Rani and the other friendly cooks in the outdoor kitchen of the Blue Lagoon Restaurant by the pool. Three dishes were cooked from fresh materials and spices, beautifully arranged ready for the class. The results became our delicious lunch.
In a one hour lesson we were shown and participated in cooking Pomfret Fish Masala, using garlic, turmeric, star anise, tamarind, coriander seed, chilli and onion. Then Dal, using pre-cooked yellow lentils (boiled for 1hr), and Paratha, a delicious fried flatbread dough incorporating aloo (potato) masala. The results were sooo tasty. We signed for the bill to go on our room account and were surprised by the low cost, less than €10, including lunch.
We returned to Elaine to thank her and said surely other hotel guests would enjoy a class. She replied that they had thought of it but no-one had enquired! So the moral of my story is: if Cookery Classes in Goan food are not advertised, ask for one and get a few people together. Reception will arrange it for you with Chef Farooq who was keen on the idea. It was certainly great fun and quite delicious eating.
We also had good assistance from the Concierge desk in booking a 6am start in a private car to see the Dudhsagar Waterfall and swim in the Mountain Lake (so wear costumes underneath!). Its a 2 hour journey. We switched to a jeep when the road became a track and then did 30 minutes hiking on a stony path through pretty jungle with rushing streams. So we were pleased to strip off and splash into the freezing water by the time we arrived! It's not an unknown spot. Approx 50 people were there when we arrived. Some had done the alternative journey, by train. On the way back we visited an excellent spice farm where we had a guided tour and lunch, and visited Shantadurga Hindu Temple, where we bought flower chains and made a donation in return for asking the priest every mother's wish: good fortune please for my daughter. The cost: INR4500 for the car 6am-4pm (incl tip), and approx INR500 per person for each of the spice farm and jeep. Fantastic value!
So, in all a very enjoyable stay even though we could not speak to 95% of the other guests, as they were Russian.
One thought for the management: we would have loved to have heard some Indian Music while we were there.
And one for visitors: for a change try Misha's Hut for dinner, only 5 minutes walk from the hotel entrance (turn right at Michaels Corner). They do lovely Pomfret Vindaloo, to the spice level you like, at very inexpensive prices. Back at the Zuri, you should also try the freshly made Roti with Chilli, Garlic and Coriander dips at breakfast. And the Happy Hour "Bloody Marys" at the Tangerine Bar. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We found that it was worth switching to a first floor room to avoid mosquitoes. It was more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, Management at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very kind and encouraging comments. We are much delighted to know that your entire trip right from the ‘Golden Triangle’, Ranthombore National Park and off course the ‘The Zuri White Sands, Goa’ was all absolutely astounding.

We appreciate you expressing your ideas and inclination towards culinary. This Cooking class initiative will be carried forward to guests delight.

Chef Akashdeep and Rani are touched to know that you have grasped the basics of Indian Cooking and are continuously progressing at the art.

We will certainly consider playing Indian Music at frequent intervals. Thank you for getting it to our attention.

Indeed a pleasure to know that we have been able to add value during your visit and look forward to see you soon.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    406
    122
    55
    63
See reviews for
407
313
18
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was the first time I visited South Goa. We were attending a conference and were part of group booking. We opted for package which included breakfast, lunch and dinner. We drove down from Pune, and the first challenge was to locate this hidden treasure, took sometime but the chase was worth it. I am fond of lobbies with high ceilings, Zuri does not have it and rightly so. Its a resort lobby, big, wooden and warm. Check-in was quick, with welcome drinks. We were given rooms on ground floor, I wasnt really amused but the expression was about to change.
The rooms are just ok and not much to write about. You get everything thats expected but nothing which stands out loud or memorable. We did not have a balcony but a big door which opened towards swimming pool, loved it.

The property is huge, well maintained, lots of greens, couple of swimming pools and also a restaurant by the pool. You can play table tennis, hard court tennis, basketball and such other sports activities which can keep you engaged. Zuri has its own private beach with well appointed security guards. They feel useful as the beach had very few people, I mean you can count on your fingers. Very peaceful, clean, white sand beach.

Breakfast had a nice spread, lunch was good and dinner had very few choices but the available ones tasted good. Mornings were rush hours and if you have take some corner tables you are out of service coverage :) so expect delays.

Zuri also has a casino :) We thought of checking it out, in the evenings the crowd is very distasteful. It was filled with men not really sophisticated but they were serious gamblers. Couples may want to avoid this time. In the morning we tried to have a look again, and this time it was completely empty, so the ladies accompanied us and we had some fun time. Believe me it gets addictive :)

All in all we had a very nice experience. This place is definitely to relax and gamble :) If you are into sight seeing, exploring nearby areas, then its not such a ideal place unless you have your own car. There are taxis available but the drives could be expensive. I believe if you are visiting a resort with lots of areas to explore within and a private beach why bother going outside :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, Management at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and valuable comments. We are glad that the conference got you to experience the beauty of South Goa and eventually to the Zuri way of hospitality.

Our entire brigade of the horticulture team works very passionately to develop and maintain the greens across the property. Thank you for appreciating our chef’s extensive and delightful buffet spread.

Safety and Security of our guest is paramount to us as a result you find well appointed security personnel around in strategically identified areas.

We look forward to seeing you yet again for more memorable experiences.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights as R&R after a busy tour of the Golden Triangle.
We were warmly welcomed by the reception stay and shown to our rooms
The rooms are spread out over a large area and ours overlooked the small pool on the 1st floor
The room was nice and cool with quiet a/c and had a balcony.
We tried nearly all the restaurants including Fins on the beach, thought this was pricey.
We preferred eating in the Waterfall Café as this had a buffet service with a very good variety of food.
The waiters were very attentive and friendly though sometimes forgetful when we ordered drinks and brought something else.
The egg station chef at breakfast did a lovely cheese omelette.
The pools were nice and cooling with towels provided
The place was full but you would not know unless you went to the restaurant at peak times

We organised several trips out of the hotel, the tour desk was not very helpful and had to make a phone call when we made simple enquiries about a place we wanted to visit.
The hotel should produce a fact sheet (the one in the room is useless) about what sights there were.
The is an efficient though pricey taxi service, the hotel had produced a price list of the taxi costs. I say pricey by Goa standards, but we went to the Taj Exotica and their taxi charges were double what Zuri had negotiated. I feel sorry for their guests as they were being ripped off by taxis.
Our taxi drivers spoke English and gave us a lot of useful information.

There were two beach shacks on the beach, nothing to do with the hotel. Their prices were half of what the hotel charges, though the service is slower.

Kuoni customers please note – if you pay extra at the time of booking for half or full board, you will find it will be cheaper if you pay at the hotel, especially using the Meal Ticket system.

GOOD BITS
Good breakfast
Dinner at the Waterfall Café buffet costs about Rs990, you can buy a set of ten meal tickets which cost Rs650 a meal, worth getting.
Waiter and doorman were very friendly and chatty.
Nice rooms and great shower
Nice balcony

BAD BITS
We came her because they provided Yoga sessions, this was not available during our stay, we had to go to the Taj Exotica for this at an extra cost (Taxis etc.)
If we had known we would not have booked to go to the Zuri
Food at Fins was expensive
Tour desk did not know much about places to visit
It was very hot and humid, so walking outside was confined to early morning or sun down
Sheets on out twin beds were not wide enough so they did not tuck in under the mattress, so sheets became a rumpled mess in the night
The timing of the room cleaning was not reliable and often we were disturbed mid-afternoon to have our room cleaned.

Hope this is useful

Room Tip: They all seemed good Ground floors had direct access to the grounds, but less privacy 1st floor mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, Management at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as your destination for Rest & Relaxation after the busy and wonderful Golden Triangle tour. We are pleased to know that your week long stay at the resort was majorly fun filled and enjoyable though some areas had scope for progress.

Appreciate you recognizing our front desk team for their warmth and hospitality, the spacious rooms and our friendly Food and Beverage Service team. We have passed on your compliments to team members and have also advised them on accuracy and attentiveness.

To heighten guest comfort and convenience we have changed Mattresses of all rooms and appropriate twin sheets are being replaced. The Fact sheet in rooms is being tweaked to convey detailed and specific information.

It was very unfortunate that you did not get the opportunity to avail the expertise of our Yoga instructor. We are truly apologetic for the inconvenience caused.

Our Housekeeping Team daily chalks out cleaning sequence by identifying priorities and following standardized procedures. They are also adept and flexible to changes and guest request. Had you brought it to the attention of our team member, we are certain they would have happily obliged.

We sincerely request you to visit us again and give us the opportunity to convert your Good trip to Great.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed their with my wife and 18 months old son. We were their for 4 nights. It is a great place specially at the price at which it is available. It has huge swimming pool, big lawns, private beach (which is not crowded at all). Ideal place for someone who want to go and relax. Staff is very helpful. Finding transport is a problem and hotel cabs are very expensive so its advisable to have own car (easily available at the price of INR1000-1200 per day).

Room Tip: Prefer lawn facing room - More privacy. Make arrangement of own car - Hotel Cabs very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, Management at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to post your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the hospitality and friendly disposition of our team members.

Transportation is little expensive as taxi operations are majorly run and controlled by the Taxi unions. Our endeavor to negotiate for reasonable rates, terms and conditions are on going.

Do visit us yet again, we will be glad to be off service.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I must stay it is one of the best place in goa to stay. I was recommended by a friend and I am really happy I chose my stay here in this hotel as right from the check-in they made my stay comfortable and helped me in every possible way. The rooms are perfect and big in size . The toilets are clean and big . The linen was clean. All in All a must stay and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, Management at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We much appreciate you taking time out to post your valuable comments. Thanking you for rating us as one of the best Hotels in Goa and recommending us as the Must Stay destination.

It is indeed very kind of you to acknowledge our team members presence and assistance at every juncture right from check-in to fond farewell.

Look forward to your next visit and assuring of continued delightful services.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a memorable stay at Zuri, Goa in March 2013. We got a room on the ground floor, just steps away from their lagoon pool. The room was big enough with an attached sit out which we thoroughly enjoyed. It had all the amenities one could need. The nearly private beach at one end of the property is extremely clean and perfect location for the beach experience. The property has a seperate kids pool and a kids room as well ...which is very thoughtful for attracting families. The staff is also very hospitable and warm. Though it is such an expansive property spread in 39 acres, it is still quite well maintained. The breakfast spread is also worth a mention and is comparable to all good five stars. A few of areas where they could make some improvements are the taste of food. We had dinner twice in their buffet spread at the coffee shop but did not enjoy much. Though their was great variety but the taste really needs improvement. Secondly, though the room size is big enough, i feel they should reduce the furniture and artefacts as they are giving the space a cluttered feel.
All in all...a very good experience and would recommend the property to all who are looking to stay in Varca.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, we got the one on ground the floor, next to the main pool and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, Management at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your valuable comments. We are pleased to know that you had a very pleasant stay with us.

Our team members love to take care of their guest, appreciate you acknowledging their efforts.

Our buffet spreads have always appealed to guest in terms of variety, choices, creativity and above all taste. We were disheartened to know that though you liked the spread, however, the taste did not meet your expectations. Our chefs have taken a serious note of your concern and will accordingly improvise.

We look forward to seeing you again and pleasantly surprise you with the changes.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

What more to expect of your holidays if your kids enjoy the place and moreover like the food. Yes, this was something that we experienced with Zuri on March'13. The Hotel offered complete amenities, right from Kids room to engage kids to Casino to engage Adults. Shooting, Archery, Spa, Gym, Biggest Swimming Pool, Kids Pool, TT Table, Tennis, Chess, Carom...name it and they have it and to add to it most courteous staff with the best food which everyone enjoyed. For the 2 nights that we were there, they had live music and theme party going on which was good to engage the guests. The Varca beach is one of the finest beaches and the hotel sits on an exclusive location offering wonderful views. All in all 5 stars for Farooq Baig, Sadan and all the staff members who were very helpful and made the experience worth sharing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, Management at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful comments posted. We genuinely endeavor to give our guest fond memories and It truly gives us immense pleasure to know that guest have lived the complete 'Zuri experience'.

Our animation team conducts an array of activities for all guests, especially focusing on Children for their amusement.

Chef Farooq and Food and beverage Manager Sadan are touched by your compliments and look forward to serve you yet again.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino

Address: Pedda, Varca 403721, India
Location: India > Goa > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Varca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri White Sands Goa Hotel Varca
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort And Casino
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino Varca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.