We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Get Away - total re-charge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino to your Saves list
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pedda, Varca 403721, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Varca
Dubai
1 review
“Heavenly Get Away - total re-charge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We arrived in the morning and the grounds were striking in their beauty. We imemdiately had a sense of peace from the expansive grounds, rolling lawns with walking paths and touches like the life size chess set and croquet pitch.

We checked into a suite with our 3 year old son. We find suites are a must with a child that age just so you have enough space for all the swim gear, beach toys and a path to the bed. This suite, however, went beyond the call of duty. It was beautifully decorated and more space than we imagined. There was a bar and dining area - sadlly used mostly by us to set up our laptop and catch up on emails away from prying toddler fingers as opposed to anything for enterainting. That still left an entirely separate living room area to relax in and every room was joined by french doors to a balcony. Huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub and stand alone shower, closet with dressing area, etc. Just everything you could hope for in terms of space and quality in the room.

The grounds are extensive which gives a very romantic, spacious feel but we spent most time in the pool. It's huge with a waterfall and separate kids area and swim up bar. The food at the pool bar is great - wide range of burgers and pizzas, salads, etc. We had some quick favorites and stuck to those but everything we tried we enjoyed. Pizzas are the perfect thin crust kind.

We had a combiniation of meals in our room from the large room service menu and also ate at Sake and the beach restaurant., which was a lovely evening with live music. I happened to be pregnant on the trip and had a craving for tempura that wasn't on the menu at Sake. I didn't want to be a pain with a special order - also I'm very picky about tempura. As with everything the staff were totally gracious and friendly about the request and the tempura was perfect without a drop of oil in the coating. My husband RAVED about the meal at the beach restaurant. It was authentic Goan fish curry, spicy, fresh and delicious.

The staff were very attentive everywhere we went and went out of their way to help us keep the little one entertained with games and dvds from the animation centre. There were lots of families there when we stayed and our son was running around with other kids in the breakfast buffet.

We really went to relax before the arrival of our second child and were little bit limited by that to take up any of the planned activities on offer, but ever day had a full selection of water sports, outings, dolphin trips, kids activities - like painting pots or other arts and cratfs. We didn't get a chance to do them, but suffice to say you won't be bored unless that's what you are trying to be!

We arrived back home pleasantly surprised we could have such a pampered experience away from all the glitz of Dubai and fully re-charged. OH! I had also contacted the spa to plan a schedule of treatments after hearing the massages were great there. In the end I was just too occupied with the family, etc to take the time out but I must mention that they took my request to heart and took so much time to speak to me about what I might enjoy in my heavily pregnant state. Also the proces were great! So I really have to compliment the spa staff even though I sadly never made time for treatments.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, General Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is our pleasure to make every guest feel the genuine hospitality......the way it's meant to be, and at Zuri we are very passionate about this. We appreciate your feedback and shall convey the same to our entire team. We now look forward to your next visit and are waiting to say......"Welcome Back"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    406
    122
    55
    63
See reviews for
407
313
18
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Zuri Resorts the other group hotel is a value for money at Rs.1980 per night for the suite room they have with a buffet breakfast for a couple and below 12 yr.child with taxes included.Find time for complimentary massage,swimming and Gym.Intrestingly to promote CASINO of the Zuri White sand resorts groups premium hotel we were taken by hotel taxies as and when guests wanted to go and swim in the pool,relax at beach ,gamble at casino,boozing at bar,play volleyball,lush green Golf ground......
Pure vegeterians have very limited choices A la carte .
Unionised taxies in many hotels including this is a issue of concern who try to spoil your joy with overcharging,limiting services ,Try to find reasonable per Km non AC car/tempo traveller deal if weather is pleasent at your time of travels or a separate charges for AC .

Room Tip: Take nice goggles with you and a sun cream spf 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

The Zuri resort is really a memorable place to stay. We having a team of 25 people stayed in the resort in first week of April, 2011. The resort is really beautiful with private beach, well mannered staff and above all good and delicious food. The staff is very helpful and address to your needs with sincerity. It is located at Varca Beach far away from Bagga and Calangute Beaches (most renowned beach and market place in Goa) ... around 60 Kms away. In front of the resort, we have private restaurants offering food and alcohol at reasonable prices. So, who are more economical in their spendings can avail the outside the resort restaurants. The conference rooms are also well equipped with all amenities. The beauty of the resort is that one can have internal official trainings and have fun in the evening together. It is about 20 odd kms away from city centre i.e., Panjim. But anyone who don't want shopping and only want to spend the quality time, the resort is the right place. My full recommendation for this hotel. Go and spend the quality time in the resort.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

This was my first visit to Goa, and the hotel was ok. This place has a lot of potential, good location - not to far from the airport - spacious - big room - nice pool - close to the beach etc.
Why I'm just saying the hotel was OK is because of the cleanliness of the rooms :-(( You simply have to improve. Rooms are nice with small outdoor patios or balconies overlooking the garden towards the sea. Service and restaurants in general are good!
The hotel is located above a small "river", this "river" is unfortunately at times giving a very bad smell to restaurant by the beach and the sunbeds next to it. The smell does not affect the hotel or the pool area.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend ... yes if there is a good price ... or review of cleaning are improving.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, General Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

While we thank you for your valuable comments and feedback, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay. The back water from the sea had stopped flowing back due to temporary sand erosion and this was the reason for the off odour you had experienced. We have corrected the erosion and the issue is now resolved. The cleanliness of rooms is our priority and we now guarantee absolutely clean rooms. Perhaps you would visit us again to appreciate the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights in March 2011. One word amazing. Great place , fantastic beache -- the beach is a short walk from the hotel say 2-3 minutes very private and very very clean. Rooms are lovely comfortable, the swimming pool is awesome. Lots of stuff for teh kids, staff aims to please. One of the ebst resorts we have stayed in. We wanted an inetrconnecting room which due to some booking confusion had not been communicated to teh hotel. but both bhavna and eveline moved heaven and earth to ensure we got interconnecting rooms.

Our rooms were on the ground floor opening out to a section of the pool which was secluded - which was just as if your had a private pool -- get out of teh room jump in swim and you are in teh main pool area. !!!

As we have been to goa quite a few times our objective was just to stay in the resort and not move out and we had a great time.

Food is decent fairly well priced and not very expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms 132 to 140 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, General Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere appreciation and gratitude for your elaborate review. We are sure many a traveler will immensely benefit from your review. While we thank you for the nice comments and compliments, we also sincerely apologize for a few inconveniences caused to you during your stay. We have taken your feedback very seriously and we now assure you that our breakfast service now is being much appreciated by our guests. The pool deck is also cleaned up and renovated. Should you plan for another vacation in Goa, please stay with us as we are sure you will appreciate the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

My wife and two friends booked our fortnight’s holiday via First Choice and elected for the B&B option as we like to try the local restaurants. Setting aside the security scanner which seems to be a standard fitment at most hotels, the Reception area of the Zuri is spacious and welcoming. We found all staff to be courteous and helpful but some of them have difficulty in translating their promises into effective action. More on this issue later.

The hotel is not near any town so the choice of local restaurants is limited. Cavelossim is the nearest town but is a taxi ride away unless you are prepared to walk along the beach for an hour or more. The taxis will quote 1,000 rupees for a return trip and 75 rupees per hour for waiting. Just haggle it down to 700/750 and 50 per hour for waiting and pay them on the return trip. One of them will break ranks. The standard of driving leaves a lot to be desired so wear seatbelts.

In the hotel the rooms are spacious and in good decoration. The floors are tiled and have bedside rugs. We were concerned at some of the postings on Tripadvisor saying the rooms were shabby. We noticed some small scuff marks on walls near the door, probably caused by cases, etc. The colour scheme is off-white and therefore this would highlight any marks or knocks. We saw a number of rooms being redecorated. The paint is applied using a spray and it seems to be enamel based judging from the smell.

Our original rooms were on the ground floor but the hotel moved us to new rooms upstairs as the people in the room above seemed to be dragging their furniture across the floor in the small hours. The annoyance became too much after 3 successive nights. Surely it would have been easier to speak to the people upstairs as the cause of the problem is not being addressed and is likely to be a nuisance to the next occupants but hey, this is India!!

The bathrooms are well equipped with walk-in showers with either plate glass or polycarbonate screens. The shower has a handheld multi-function spray head on a 4 ft hose and a ceiling mounted waterfall option. Good water pressure and temperature control. We have stayed in lots of hotels and the shower facility is one of the best we have encountered. There is a shaver socket next to the basin and a magnified shaving/ make-up mirror next to the wall-mounted light. The hotel provides a good selection of toiletries.

The power socket above the writing table will take a UK standard 13 Amp plug.

The free Wifi service is available throughout the complex and is excellent. Just ask Reception for the sign-on code. We could pick up six cellular networks and all provided the maximum signal strength. Judging from the number of aerials on the roof it looks as if the hotel is a hub for all local services.

Uncharacteristically for a hotel the safe is cavernous. It will take a standard 15” laptop should you feel the need to take one on holiday and still have sufficient room for all other valuables.

Interruptions to the hotel’s main power are frequent but very short-lived; normally less than 10 seconds.

We could not get the air-conditioning unit to maintain our desired temperature. During the night the temperature would creep up to 25-27C even though we had set it at 21C. We asked the Reception to arrange for maintenance staff to adjust it. Unfortunately it was just the same the next night. The thermostat is a Sensorstat-DDC and a quick search on the web revealed the company makes a number of products to manage door locks, room occupancy and heating/air conditioning systems. The thermostat has a passive infrared proximity sensor to detect occupants in the room and consequently manages the aircon to their settings. However if it does not detect occupants it will revert to default settings which are probably higher than most people would like. The idea is to save energy by not cooling a room when there are no occupants. Fortunately there is a way to override the default settings. Press the Power and Cooler buttons (down arrow) simultaneously. The display will show “bp” meaning bypass. Then using the up/down arrow keys set the desired temperature. The system is very quiet but effective. To cancel bypass press the Power and Fan buttons simultaneously. PLEASE NOTE that the bypass feature will only be effective for 48 hours then you will have to repeat the above process.

There are two pools. The main pool shaped like the letter C, has a swim-up bar and a waterfall. I would estimate it is 100 yards long end-to-end. The main body of the pool is 4 ft deep and slightly shallower at the ends. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and all have mattresses. There are also umbrellas for those who do not wish to sit in direct sunlight. The smaller oval shaped pool is at the southern end of the property and is quieter. The pool guys are excellent and will normally set up the sunbeds with towels if you ask them. The hotel is very clean inside but the paths and part of the pool deck need cleaning. A bucket of soapy water and a stiff brush would suffice to remove the numerous spillages of food and drink.

There are a few sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach but you would have to be really hardy to handle the heat and glare all day long.

The restaurants are good but naturally more expensive than those outside of the hotel. Breakfast is buffet style in the Waterfalls restaurant and the service is well below standard. The staff are either new or not properly trained. They wander around aimlessly and are not very effective. The tables are not set properly with items missing or in one case, with dirty crockery and cutlery. Surely they must have noticed this when setting the table? They bring hot water for tea but no tea bags. Another 5 minutes go by and they come back with one teabag but the water is now cold! What is the line manager doing??? I raised this with one of the other managers and he promised to pass my comments onto the relevant manager. Service in the Sake and Fins restaurants is fine. Incidentally breakfast is also available in Sake. It is not so manic there and the staff seem to know how to serve people.

There are other restaurants down the beach or within a few minutes walk of the front gate. Pereira's is right outside the gate. My companions enjoyed their meal but mine was well below expectations. It was probably the worst one I had while on Varca Beach. Glorios (exit the gate, take first right by Michael’s Corner and then walk 100 yards). The meal was OK but the staff were more interested in the cricket than serving us!! The best one was Garden Court (opposite Glorios). The menu is extensive if you fancy a change from Indian and the food was excellent and good value. For a starter ask for Onion Bhajis or Chicken Heaven (chicken legs coated with a fairly hot sauce) – neither is on the menu but both are very tasty and will be enough for 2 people. We had lunch at Misha’s on the beach and it was good. Please note that the servings of rice are big enough for 2 people.

We saw a few mosquitoes but did not get bitten which is unusual as I am normally a magnet for them. Take cream if you need it but a local product called Odomos (used by the Indian army) is available at a local pharmacy/shop for 55 rupees. It is very effective and not as unpleasant as some other products.

The grounds are extensive and are well kept.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, General Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Guest,
Please accept our sincere appreciation and gratitude for your elaborate review. We are sure many a traveler will immensely benefit from your review. While we thank you for the nice comments and compliments, we also sincerely apologize for a few inconveniences caused to you during your stay. We have taken your feedback very seriously and we now assure you that our breakfast service now is being much appreciated by our guests. The pool deck is also cleaned up and renovated. Should you plan for another vacation in Goa, please stay with us as we are sure you will appreciate the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We had visited this hotel with big group.
We really enjoyed at the hotels swimming pool which was really built with an interrnational standard,
The important of this hotel was its ambeince and the lawns of the hotel was spread into acres of land.
As well as food was very taste as well as hygenic.
Over all we all our group had an tremendous fun it was really memorable.
Lastly it made us proud that we Indians are really developing.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, General Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our resort. It is our constant endeavor to make each holiday special and memorable and we are glad you could feel the same. As rightly said by you we are developing and Zuri is emerging as a premium brand. We look forward to welcoming you again and promise yet another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino

Address: Pedda, Varca 403721, India
Location: India > Goa > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Varca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri White Sands Goa Hotel Varca
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort And Casino
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino Varca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.