We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food and Great Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kandath Tharavad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kandath Tharavad to your Saves list
Kandath Tharavad
Thenkurussi | Palakkad, Palakkad 678671, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Bolton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Great Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of March 2013. Mr Bhagwaldas is a great host, but the star for us was his cook. This was our first taste of Keralan cooking. Absolutely beautiful. This was part of a 6 week trip to Kerala and Sri Lanka and was the best food we tasted. The highlight being "carp curry" and fried pirhana netted from one of Mr Bhagwaldas' ponds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Uzes, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The real advantage of this homestay is the involvement of the proprietor, Mr Bhagwaldas, in the activities proposed. He accompanied us on visits to see basket-weaving and notably to a local Hindu festival (elephants, dancers etc) where we were the only non-locals present - a real experience. We also had breakfast (of the local speciality "idlis") in a local restaurant, which was a real discovery. The room itself was comfortable with a lot of character, though rather dark. The meals were tasty and authentic and the place itself relaxing. I would have welcomed more transparency over the charges for drinks, which were served with and outside of meals but without any indication of what would be charged.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, NSW, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Arranged for us by our excellent travel company Indian Panorama -- how else would we have found this gorgeous place, well off the beaten track? -- our stay at Kandath Tharavad was unfortunately brief. Our driver was caught in heavy traffic and we arrived after dark. We were warmly greeted by the owner who is proud of his home stay, a family property for generations, and is working hard to extend it with new buildings. After a very peaceful sleep, it was in the light of the next morning that we saw how beautifully decorated the home is. Served on the very pleasant verandah, the food was good, accompanied by interesting conversation with the owner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A beautiful traditional family home and a warm welcome from our host Mr Bhagwaldas ('call me Bugs, as in Bugs Bunny!'), whose family has lived there for many generations but who himself lived in the US for many years, so speaks excellent English. What a winning combination! Our accommodation was very comfortable and the food very good. Our host took us out to breakfast and then on a short sightseeing tour of Palakkad, which was really interesting, but the highlight of the stay for us was being able to stroll out so easily at dusk and early in the morning, through the little village where the house is situated and into the countryside beyond - paddyfields, palms and fantastic birdspotting, especially at sunset. We only wish we could have spent longer there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We are just back from a wonderful trip to Pallakad, Kerala and we got an opportunity to stay at Kandath Tharavad, an ancestral home - beautiful, grand, just like how I had seen it in Malayalam movies. It was very peaceful and we had an experience of a lifetime. Mr. Bhagwaldas is a good host and he attends to everything personally. Though we didn't have hot water the first day after we checked in or the menu wasn't anything out of this world, the grandeur of the place and the peaceful setting did the trick for us and we do feel as if it was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We made the 5 hour trip from Cochin to Palakkad on poor roads just to stay in a home instead of an hotel. Bhagwaldas was a friendly and engaging host and as he pointed out he was probably the only home owner in Kerala doing what he did. It did give one an idea of how well off but not grand local people lived. The facilities are limited but that is the nature of the beast. On the other hand charging for the odd beer does take the edge off the notion that one is a guest in a home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I’m a frequent visitor to Kandath Tharavad and their excellent service turns my steps toward this small tranquil village. Some harsh criticism posted to this page seems quite unfair and I feel obliged to counterargue against it. The greatest attraction of tourism to countryside homestay is to share placid lifestyle with rural people and the Kandath Tharavad can offer its best example. Bhagwaldas’ home is a rare case of a genuinely historical building. Such a style of house was seen in many places in Kerala in olden days but most of them were destroyed and nowadays very hard to find. The building style is specialized for comfortable life in this region and one example is its low ceiling in a dark room which is invented for spending relaxed days in the hot summer season. The disagreement between the price and service is a common trouble we foreigners experience in India but I’ve never felt it at Bhagwaldas’ since he and his household always treat me like one of their family members. Those ignorant of or not interested in Keralite culture might be disappointed in this not fully modernized circumstance, but such disappointment comes from his or her failure of misjudgment of destination and it’s not a fault of the host.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandath Tharavad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandath Tharavad

Address: Thenkurussi | Palakkad, Palakkad 678671, India
Location: India > Kerala > Palakkad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Palakkad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tharavad meaning ancestral home in Malayalam dates back to the 1880s and has been restored with care to retain its original splendour and heritage. The 3-storied tiled home has 12 rooms, a dormitory, abundant open space, a dining area & 3 natural ponds. It's an amazing place to meet, engage in team-building exercises, work on strategies, conduct retreats, relax and bond together in a heritage home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Kandath Tharavad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandath Tharavad Kerala, India - Palakkad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandath Tharavad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.