We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hallormsstadur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hallormsstadur to your Saves list
Hotel Hallormsstadur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hallormsstadur, Egilsstadir 701, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Hallormsstadur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallormsstadur
Woodland Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“An oasis in the country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

During our stay in May, my wife and I were one of only two couples staying at this sprawling complex in the country (one of the advantages of traveling before tour bus season). We were the only patrons of the beautiful restaurant, overlooking the lake and the mountains, yet the young lady managing the hotel insisted that we order anything we want, and our dinners (fish & lamb) were excellent. Breakfast was outstanding, one of the most extensive and varied we had in Iceland. This type of service surprised us throughout Iceland; even if we were the only guests, nothing was out of the question and anything we requested was accommodated.

Rooms are pleasant and clean, not huge but adequate, with one of the best-designs bathrooms we encountered. There is a pleasant and easy walk through the "forest" just below the hotel along the lakeshore, a good way to work up an appetite before dinner.

I imagine the Hallormsstadur can be quite busy during the height of the tourist season, but we had the place virtually to ourselves. If you don't mind a bit of a hike, be sure to visit the dramatic Litlanesfoss waterfall(s) just a few miles down and across the lake. And watch for the sea monster said to inhabit Lagarfljot. We very much enjoyed our brief stay at the Hotel Hallormsstadur, and would would not hesitate to make a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind words, hope to seen you soon again in Hallormsstaður.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worcs
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

the hotel is by itself on a lake but very nicely set.You are a captive audience as there is nowhere else nearby.However when we were there the weather was lovely and we ate in the conservatory restaurant drinking a draft beer and wine that was not too exorbitant.The buffet food was varied and,although not brilliant,was very acceptable compared to other stays we had circumnavigating iceland.Overall we were very pleased with this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. Hope you had a wonderful vacation in Iceland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was one of our favorite hotel stays on our recent trip to Iceland. I would consider it about 4 stars on a scale of 1-5. It was a little bit out of the way but once you are there it is a lovely area to visit. The rooms were large and the beds very comfortable. We had a very nice terrace but it was still quite cold so only sat out for a little while. We had a lovely view. The restaurant was very nice and had a good breakfast buffet with an awesome view. I loved the sun rooms as part of the restaurant. We had two tour busses there after we had checked in but they never bothered us at all. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others.
No complaints at all. The hotel staff was very helpful too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for you lovely review of our hotel.
My very best regards

Sigrún Jóhanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is in a lovely spot and the staff was very friendly and accommodating, but other than that, we were a bit disappointed. Our room was okay, but our double bed was two singles pushed together, which would have been fine, as we have had that at other hotels, but the beds were on wheels, that slid very easily. So if you tried to lean back against the wall sitting up, the whole thing moved well across the floor, or just changing positions, so it was not a good thing. My pillow was as flat as could be, I might as well have not had one. The TV only had one working station. Access to the wifi was not readily available, and one of the lights didn't work. Now the breakfast was very good, as they had a great selection to chosen from. But we ate dinner there, which was not good. My husband ordered the duck, which he said may have started life as a rubber chicken, as it was very tough and not very tasty. My lamb was okay, but the flavor was not quite there and it was barely warm. So all in all it was not what we hoped for, hence the just average rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is in a lovely position overlooking the lake. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. I could imagine in the summer sitting with a drink on the terrace - a bit cold for this in April - but we still had lovely views from the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We traveled around Iceland last summer and we were happy to stay here. Great view during breakfast and lots of choices. The room and bathroom size are both adequate for our needs. The staff very helpful and friendly whenever we ask for something. We hope to return to the beautiful country of Iceland and we would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is in a good location where in a mountain and by a lake. Everything in hotel room well arranged and clean. The restaurant is lower floor and breakfast is very good. I love the glass sunny restaurant which gave us full energy.

Room Tip: Don't forget to buy the hotel's ky ring which made by fossil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your very nice review. It is very important to us when guest share their experience at Hótel Hallormsstaður.

Happy new year!

Best Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hallormsstadur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hallormsstadur

Address: Hallormsstadur, Egilsstadir 701, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Hallormsstadur)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir > Hallormsstadur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallormsstadur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hallormsstadur 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hallormsstadur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hallormsstadur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.