We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasure.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salutation Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Salutation Inn to your Saves list
The Salutation Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Felindre Farchog, Crymych SA41 3UY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Crymych B&B and Inns
Wales
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“A Pleasure.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed a few nights in this hotel over 20 years ago and have since returned to eat whenever we are in the area. The proprietress and staff were very welcoming and made sure that we had all we wanted. We both enjoyed the meals we had chosen and will be back. This establishment takes orders from 6 pm so there is no need to wait until later if one is hungry after a day on the beach!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights in order to visit the local area.
The Inn is very convenient for Cardigan, Fishguard and St Davids. There is a lovely beach a short drive away-not at all busy!
Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and the food was delicious. The breakfast was especially good. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who seemed very eager to please. The menu is comprehensive with something to suit everyone's taste.We have no hesitation in recommending a stay at the Salutation and we hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are more modern than those upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penybont, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We called at The Salutation Inn on Monday 26th May 2014 in the hope of getting a lunch as we had already travelled over 100 miles.The bar menu was very limited so we chose a ploughmans lunch each, plus a portion of chips to share, well when the food came it was a piece of cheese, one homemade pickle onion with roots on, half an apple,( pips and core still attached). the bread was so hard it cut my wife's mouth and we had a very small pot of pickle, I did ask for some mayo to put onto the frozen chips, thinking it would make them taste better, but no.This meal cost us in advance £17.00. It was awlful and it certainly wasn't worth the money we paid and it certainly wasn't a ploughmans lunch we had.We couldn't get out of there quick enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishguard
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Was not staying, but went for dinner with a large group of friends. Warmly welcomed and the dining room was given to us exclusively and was very clean. Waiting staff were helpful and jovial in the main. All starters were excellent: leek and potato soup, pate, garlic mushrooms. Mains were also declared excellent : beef, turkey,salmon. Inordinate amount and variety of vegetables, all well cooked. Desserts of apple crumble and pavlova were also highly complimented by those attending. All round an excellent evening with good attention to detail and competitively priced. Facilities were clean and tidy, as seemed to be the case all round. John Denley's establishment has come on leaps and bounds since he first took it over. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place offers freindly and attentive staff who care about what they are doing. We Stayed 3 nights over a busy easter break and we got service such that we felt like we were the only people in the hotel.
Spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms. Ok so its a bit worn around the edges buts its great value for money and the hospitality is priceless.
Resturant offers piping hot large portions of good pub food (thankfully no saggy bagged salad in sight). We ate well at breakfast and dinner and they were able to provide fresh packed lunches for the long trip home.
Thank you for a greeat weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh On Sea
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here for a nearby conference and couldn't have asked for anything better. Communications were good and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble for the delightful owners. Lovely size room and facilities; all spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious, as was dinner; both the lovely sunny conservatory and cosy dining room make nice surroundings for eating. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caddington
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Salutation Inn and can only thoroughly compliment John and Gwawr on their hospitality and kindness shown during our stay. Warm rooms, a cosy giant bed and excellent food and drink ensured our stay was just as we had hoped for. Thank you both and we look forward to returning

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salutation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salutation Inn

Address: Felindre Farchog, Crymych SA41 3UY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Crymych
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Crymych
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salutation Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned country Inn in the Pembrokeshire National Park ideally located for the coastal path. We have 8 en-suite letting bedrooms and home cooked food is served daily. We have a large car park ideally located for walks, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your The Salutation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salutation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.