We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Svanfolk Holiday Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kongerslev
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Svanfolk Holiday Rentals
Save
You added Svanfolk Holiday Rentals to your Saves list
Svanfolkvej 15, Kongerslev 9293, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kongerslev B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

A clean comfortable room in the middle of beautiful surroundings combined with a lovely breakfast served by very nice hosts... Could you wish for more?

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here for three nights following a week in Copenhagen. My wife and I had a large room with en-suite and the kids shared a twin bed room with a shared bathroom. We had had a busy week exploring the capital, including my daughter trying to find accomodation for her term as a foreign student ( a virtually impossible task incidentally ). So this rural and sparsely populated part of the country was a welcome change to the bustle of the city. And what a place this is: beautiful location, very well presented and spotlessly clean. But most of all the welcome from Kevin and Ian ( and twiggy the cat )made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Svanfolk is a great base for exploring North Jutland and the breakfasts set you up for the day. There are simple kitchen facilities which we used to self cater on our first two nights. Kevin and Ians' local knowledge was invaluable, including a list of the best places to eat in Aalborg. I can't recommend Svanfolk too highly and would love to go back: pity my daughter isn't studying at Aalborg instead of Copenhagen!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed in Svanfolk for 3 days. We had the largest room for our family with 3 children. When we arrived Kevin made us feel at home right away. The room was very tidy, and homey, with tea and cookies, water, wonderful beds, a great shower, and a TV.
The owners were very friendly, and helpful with all kinds of information about the neighbourhood: tips for daytrips, restaurants,...
The children were very welcome too.
We recommend this B&B to everybody: young, older, kids, no kids, romantic, business, leisure, ...
Thanks a lot, Kevin and Ian. We wish you both all the best!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

On our way through jutland, we stayed one night at Svanfolk B&B -- great location (close to Aalborg, but still out in "the country" with a ton of options for walks or biking) and a warm and friendly welcome.

We stayed in an en-suite double room, at the end of the hall -- it was quiet, meticulously clean, and very comfortable. The decor is very simple (I was a initially a bit put off by the undecorated hall and doors leading to the first-floor room)s, but the simple style of the room is charming, and the sitting room is full of books (about travel, biking, music. A bottle of water in the room, and a radio were welcome touches, too. No tv in the rooms. Free wi-fi worked great, though. In the binder in the room were a number of biking routes in the nearby area, with detailed notes and suggested stops, and a listing of restaurants in nearby towns.

It's often hard to sleep in the summer when the sun seems to never set, but the louvered blinds on the windows dimmed the room dramatically. It was quiet and even though we discovered there were other guests (by the multiple tables set at breakfast) we didn't hear a peep from anyone else, except for the very friendly cat.

Breakfast was simple, but included soft-boiled eggs and fresh rolls with the other 'standard' breakfast items, and my husband appreciated the full pot of french-press coffee.

The whole stay was lovely -- very low key, very homey, very comfortable. I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svanfolk, Owner at Svanfolk Holiday Rentals, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review - it was a pleasure having you stay with us. I would, however, just like to comment on your remarks regarding 'the undecorated hall' - the walls in this hallway are of a brick finish, which have been treated and then painted. This is a very popular and traditional form of decoration here in Scandinavia. There is also a large piece of artwork on the end wall. You also mention that there are no TVs in the rooms and this is correct. As many of our guests are nature lovers and like the tranquility our place has to offer we have no plans to install TVs in the rooms. There is, however, a TV in the guest lounge and our large deluxe double room also has a TV. We really appreciate your constructive views and you will be very welcome again next time you are in Denmark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Svanfolk is a great find located close enough to Aalborg to explore the city and in the heart of very charming countryside. Kevin and Ian are very helpful with their local knowledge about restaurants and places to visit. The house itself is well appointed and the breakfast was a good start to the today. Highly recommended and good value

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is one of the best B&B's we've ever been. It is in a rather remote location near Aalborg - it was good that we had GPS!!! :-)
We chose to stay overnight there after a ferry trip from Norway.
The B&B is very well kept, clean and also very cosy. Breakfast was great too!
Kevin, one of the owners, is highly attentive and very friendly. Too bad we were only there for a night. We would stay there again anytime if we have the chance to travel to that area again! Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed there twice and surely will do again. Comfortable, cozy rooms, great breakfast and a beautiful landscape.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Svanfolk Holiday Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svanfolk Holiday Rentals

Address: Svanfolkvej 15, Kongerslev 9293, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Rebild Municipality > Kongerslev
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kongerslev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Svanfolk Holiday Rentals is a former farmhouse situated in the beautiful area of East Himmerland, North Jutland, Denmark. In this delightful part of the countryside you can enjoy a cozy and relaxing break away from everyday life. Svanfolk is a small hamlet near Skibsted, just south of the town of Kongerslev and about 30km south of the city of Aalborg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Svanfolk Hotel Kongerslev
Svanfolk Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svanfolk Holiday Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.