We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, great location, friendly hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svanfolk Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Svanfolk Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Svanfolk Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Svanfolkvej 15, Kongerslev 9293, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kongerslev B&B and Inns
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, great location, friendly hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

On our way through jutland, we stayed one night at Svanfolk B&B -- great location (close to Aalborg, but still out in "the country" with a ton of options for walks or biking) and a warm and friendly welcome.

We stayed in an en-suite double room, at the end of the hall -- it was quiet, meticulously clean, and very comfortable. The decor is very simple (I was a initially a bit put off by the undecorated hall and doors leading to the first-floor room)s, but the simple style of the room is charming, and the sitting room is full of books (about travel, biking, music. A bottle of water in the room, and a radio were welcome touches, too. No tv in the rooms. Free wi-fi worked great, though. In the binder in the room were a number of biking routes in the nearby area, with detailed notes and suggested stops, and a listing of restaurants in nearby towns.

It's often hard to sleep in the summer when the sun seems to never set, but the louvered blinds on the windows dimmed the room dramatically. It was quiet and even though we discovered there were other guests (by the multiple tables set at breakfast) we didn't hear a peep from anyone else, except for the very friendly cat.

Breakfast was simple, but included soft-boiled eggs and fresh rolls with the other 'standard' breakfast items, and my husband appreciated the full pot of french-press coffee.

The whole stay was lovely -- very low key, very homey, very comfortable. I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svanfolk, Owner at Svanfolk Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review - it was a pleasure having you stay with us. I would, however, just like to comment on your remarks regarding 'the undecorated hall' - the walls in this hallway are of a brick finish, which have been treated and then painted. This is a very popular and traditional form of decoration here in Scandinavia. There is also a large piece of artwork on the end wall. You also mention that there are no TVs in the rooms and this is correct. As many of our guests are nature lovers and like the tranquility our place has to offer we have no plans to install TVs in the rooms. There is, however, a TV in the guest lounge and our large deluxe double room also has a TV. We really appreciate your constructive views and you will be very welcome again next time you are in Denmark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Svanfolk is a great find located close enough to Aalborg to explore the city and in the heart of very charming countryside. Kevin and Ian are very helpful with their local knowledge about restaurants and places to visit. The house itself is well appointed and the breakfast was a good start to the today. Highly recommended and good value

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is one of the best B&B's we've ever been. It is in a rather remote location near Aalborg - it was good that we had GPS!!! :-)
We chose to stay overnight there after a ferry trip from Norway.
The B&B is very well kept, clean and also very cosy. Breakfast was great too!
Kevin, one of the owners, is highly attentive and very friendly. Too bad we were only there for a night. We would stay there again anytime if we have the chance to travel to that area again! Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed there twice and surely will do again. Comfortable, cozy rooms, great breakfast and a beautiful landscape.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

A fabulous welcome to the three of us; parents plus teenage son. I found this delightful and immaculate B and B when searching for a stop off on our way to Norway. It needed to be somewhere we could cycle too. Kevin had already sent us a detailed plan for 2 cycle routes, although we ended up combining bits of both. Cycle routes are generally well signposted too. He even had tape so that we could repair split handle bar grips!
Their house is in the countryside and peaceful, but with places to eat nearby. A kitchen is available to use if you bring your own food, plus fridge. Make sure you have room for the tasty breakfast that is on offer.
A relaxing place to spend time with friends, family or just as a couple. I cannot think of any way that their hospitality or rooms could be improved. Worth going just for the view out of the bathroom window!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We found the B&B by accident and were only sorry that we did not book a longer stay there. The owners are friendly and welcoming and know what real hospitality is. The rooms are large, clean and well-kept. The landscape surrounding the beautiful house is very peaceful and beautiful. This is the place to go!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Svanfolk Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svanfolk Bed & Breakfast

Address: Svanfolkvej 15, Kongerslev 9293, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Rebild Municipality > Kongerslev
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kongerslev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Svanfolk Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Svanfolk Bed & Breakfast is a former farmhouse situated in the beautiful area of East Himmerland, North Jutland, Denmark. In this delightful part of the countryside you can enjoy a cozy and relaxing break away from everyday life. Svanfolk is a small hamlet near Skibsted, just south of the town of Kongerslev and about 30km south of the city of Aalborg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Svanfolk Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svanfolk Hotel Kongerslev
Svanfolk Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svanfolk Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.