We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Street, Hatherleigh EX20 3JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I had a lovely meal in the George on Friday 13th July.
The George has an excellent new menu.
There are light lunches priced at £5 and an excellent range of curries.
If you go to the George before 11am they do a full English breakfast for £5 including coffee.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    89
    41
    19
    10
See reviews for
36
234
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Myself & 2 friends stayed a couple of weeks ago whilst completing the Coast to Coast cycle. The rooms were of a high standard. Unfortunately no food is avaialble on a Sunday night, but the breakfast was great the next day! Also liked the mini prossioco bottles in the bar. Special metion for the team going well beyond the call of duty mending my puncture!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed for four nights with my young family while attending a small wedding at neighboring Sheepwash.
The staff a very friendly and are most willing to make your stay pleasant.
The full English breakfast is a must. We ate there for two nights which the food is good, especially the curry. The resturant is closed on Sunday nights so we made ourself over the road to the Tally Ho pub which is also good.
The George is steeped in history with plenty of old photos around showing how it was.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had delightful rooms! Very comfortable indeed. When we went to set off from the hotel we discovered a puncture on one of our bikes, the owner & chef were awesome!!!!! They helped us get on the road again as we stopped here half way on the Devon Coast to Coast cycle route. Its a lovely spot to stay! Our only disappointment was that because we stayed on a Sunday night we couldn't eat in the George (its the one night they don't do food). Breakfast was great & really a SUPERB place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We recently stayed for 1 night with our dog; we had an enourmous room (no.3 ) with four poster bed, roll-top bath and seperate bathroom with a shower. Lovely linen and very high quality fixtures & fittings. Super dog friendly staff. Lovely 3 course dinner - all very resonable. Excellent wine list. Huge breakfast with locally supplied bacon & sausages. Fab local bread.

Room Tip: we had no.3 ... overlooks the high street but very quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertLondon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The brewery owners have spent a fortune on this renovation since the fire a few years ago and the rooms are obviously really good. They have had a number of management teams in since to make it work. The hotel is let down now by service and I think they need to get to grips quickly.

Locked out of the hotel in the rain because they failed to sort out keys when we arrived. The landlord with front door in his hand at 1130pm because he had an early start in the morning to Norwich, the evening food wasn't that great on our first night so we went to the local pub on night 2.

Fabulous location, nice hotel but needs a really good clean and a strong management team to get the best out of The George.

Would'nt stay here again. Far better B&B's available at a fraction on the £80 per night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel, just ate there...but twice...which is something I very rarely do! The food was amazing - I can seriously recommend travelling at least 10 miles out of your way to try the Pork Belly. Really nice pub, recently refurbished after a fire. Service was OK, but it just felt a little bit as though they weren't really expecting anyone to eat. They were nice enough once they got going! Definitely worth a visit (or two!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Market Street, Hatherleigh EX20 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hatherleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Hatherleigh, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.