We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our relaxing weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat

Save Saved
You added The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3 Anexartisias Street, Kalavasos 7733, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Kalavasos B&B and Inns
Cyprus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect for our relaxing weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Library Hotel is the perfect place to go if you want to relax. The staff were very friendly and I emailed the hotel to ask if we can have early check it and they let us check in at 11am.

Upon arrival we were given a welcome drink (we could choose between Koumantaria, Coffee or a softdrink) and cake, which I thought was very nice of them as it doesn't really cost anything!

We stayed in the Martin Heidegger Room which is located on the ground floor. The room was very large with a very big shower and seperate jacuzzi, there were tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a mini bar and robes and slippers.

The spa area is also very nice and we did the Rasul Mud Bath which is well worth the €30 per person. We also had lunch in the Mitos Restaurant which was very nice.

We loved this place very much and left feeling very relaxed after staying for only 1 night. We will be back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
48
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GREECE&CYPRUS
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
1,405 helpful votes 1,405 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Luxuriously furnished and Harmonious décor of the rooms, the Friendly staff and Excellent cuisine, were some of the reasons I wanted for a year now to go back to this hotel. I have included the Library among my favourite Hotels in Cyprus and I wanted so much to spend at least 2 nights here. Unfortunately the dates that suited me was fully booked so I decided to drop by even for a night since I was in the round area.
I was glad to see one or two familiar faces again. Svetlana was one of them and she really impressed me. I stood back and watched the way she would handle everything, so delicate with elegant manners and figure, a dashing young lady who has become professional and efficient in her post, with a constant smile and as always would look to the demands of the guests. Andrea is the other person I knew from my previous visit, working in the kitchen and I saw him for seconds –polite as always he dropped by to say hello.
There were new faces this time but in minutes we got acquainted with each other. There is a new chef now in the kitchen coming from Greece. It is Odysseas and he did not disappoint me at all with his authentic Greek cuisine. In fact I had some guests from Australia and because I spoke highly of the Library they dropped by to see me and joined me for dinner. They were curious to see this hotel and when they did they said that they will return for a relaxing break. Our dinner turned to be a feast and everything seemed to be perfect counting on the fresh ingredients, presentation and excellent taste. George is the other guy coming from Greece who seems to be responsible for the bar and kitchen. I found him efficient and very positive with the guests. Svetlana was off hours after I arrived to my disappointment, but she was replaced by Rafaella who was new to me but she was also caring and polite with the guests.
The hotel was nearly full and guests seemed to be enjoying the tranquillity of the place. It is a hotel mostly for couples and small groups of friends who come to spend a few relaxing days to unwind and recharge their batteries. The 19th century stone-built mansion is the gem of Kalavassos and it blends harmoniously with the environment. An atmosphere of elegance and comfort is what you get upon entering. On the right there is the unique Library Lounge with its open fireplace ideal for the cold winter nights, and the elegant Italian design furniture features a collection of different books that are available to guests –books that have to do with health, philosophy, nature and literature. I love taking my coffee there with the company of a nice book from the shelves.
I noticed a number of positive changes and loved the colours of the exterior walls, yellow, navy blue and the colour of brick blending harmoniously with the stoned-walls of the courtyard on the ground floor matching with the environment and the round area. The Spa treatments are now taken on the first floor opposite the suites and next to the new Conference room. The amazing interior of the Potamonde Spa adds to the relaxing atmosphere which is now in the hands of Jacqueline, the new Spa professional who besides body and facial treatments expertises on Baby Massages. Before having my massage I met three British ladies who had come all the way from Larnaca. It was a treat from one of the ladies and one of them kept saying that this experience was the best in her whole life. They had a snack before leaving and we had a long chat as well. They felt reborn and their skin was so soft and clean they kept saying after the 20’ mud therapy in the Rasul bath and the sauna. Their excitement was obvious! The ceremonial mud steam bath and the herbal steam (sweating bath) are free if you are staying in the hotel so with much pleasure I let myself relax and enjoyed the moment.
On my previous stay I spent 2 nights at the Borghes suite. This time I had the Constantinos Cavafis elegant suite on the opposite corner. Each of the 11 unique suites is named after famous poets, thinkers and writers and they are furnished with pieces of art and books related to each room theme. The ceilings are high and are covered in wood with ceiling fans but there is of course air conditioning. I am always happy when I find coffee facilities and a mini bar or an empty ice box to keep some water or fruit and these are provided here. I usually don’t bother with what mini bars include….but you never know! In this case it was a mini bar.
After a good night’s sleep the next morning I enjoyed a rich Breakfast Buffet with organic ingredients and healthy balanced meals. I appreciated the fresh thick orange juice and the aromatic coffee. I did not sit outside with the rest of the guests but preferred to sit inside the so beautifully decorated Mitos Restaurant where I could enjoy my breakfast better and more relaxed over the soft music that was all around the trendy atmosphere of the place.
I was so disappointed because I was leaving the next day but luckily I had the time to leave much later, at 4:00 pm as I was to be met by a cousin of mine who would drive me all the way to Paphos -my next destination. I am mostly moving around Cyprus using buses wanting to prove that this is possible in Cyprus because busses are prompt and very cheap. It was a holiday that day so buses were scarce. When I mentioned this to Odysseas he kindly offered to drop me to the meeting spot a few Kms from Kalavassos.
With much pleasure I noticed that there is a Free Wi Fi Internet connection, something that was missing the previous year. Children are not allowed in the premises since those who choose the Library really want to relax without the disturbance of cries and noise from children. It is like an oasis and I urge people to come and experience this even for a weekend or a short break. I am sure they will be back. I noticed that there are some Exclusive Spa All-Inclusive packages for weekend getaways which are really affordable. A lady was telling me that she is here because of these packages. To be honest I long to be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larnaka
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

it is a great place for short vacations (weekends,events etc) with great hospitality,great breakfast, fantastic sleep quality and a range of spa therapies to choose from and very very clean!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This Hotel is the best place to stay on winter the rooms are so big.THE STAFF PERFECT.SO POLITE XXXXXXXXXX

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larnaca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

this hotel is possibly the best place to stay if you are seeking peace and tranquility..they have a new spa lady there now.the chef as usual is of a high standard and the two receptionists svetlana and eleni help make this a very memorable experience.i thoroughly recommend this hotel and its upsetting to read some of the negativity written about this place because i truly believe that this is a hotel where he personal touch is very much in existence still.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicosia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Wrote a complait, no response, these people are amateurs and completely clueless....

Room Tip: do not go - rooms are all ok but dont waste your time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Very quiet tiny hotel, staff usually helpful and enthusiastic, always friendly, but when there's a problem they seem to hide it rather than doing something about it.

We got off to a bad start with the air-con not working and this being kept from us. They only needed to tell us and offer to air the room, that's all it would have taken. Anyway it got fixed for our second night so drama over.

Food lovely, service friendly, beer and wine sensibly priced and the wine from the owner's vines is amazingly good, like a Cypriot equivalent to a very expensive Italian Amarone.

Rooms nice, beds very comfy. Huge bath super although hard to get in and out of, that needs a re-think.

This place is fantastic if you're a super-stressed busy person like me and you want to be forced to wind down. There is nothing to do other than rest, go to the spa or drink wine, which actually is perfect.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel, just don't expect to be at a big chain hotel with that kind of experience, this is a small business so accept it for what it is, as I did eventually. Then you'll enjoy it and leave refreshed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat

Address: 3 Anexartisias Street, Kalavasos 7733, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Kalavasos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalavasos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.