We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco)

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronchi 8, Rovio 6821, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rovio
Beernem, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relax and enjoy the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very friendly staff. You're realy welcome in this hotel.
The garden with swimming pool is a beauty. A perfect place to relax, read a book, etc. with a splendid view on the lake.
Clean rooms with a shower, toilet and refrigerator (!). However we were missing an airo. They need a refreshening.
Perfect breakfast
Dinner until 9 pm is too early during the summer. We loved to stay a bit longer in the garden.
The bar stays open.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    61
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
31
92
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niedergosgen, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Unfortunately we booked one of the last room (according to booking.com) available in this region due to a National Holiday in Switzerland, and the room what we got was terrible, the worst hotel room ever. It was not possible to change the room, which had no air conditioning, and it was almost impossible to sleep in the 28-30 degree in the room. The hotel itself is very outdated, the only think what was changed in this hotel in the last 20 years is the stuff, nothing else. The only positive thing what I can mention is the location, and the park in front of the hotel which is very nice. I would newer choose again this hotel and I cannot recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel and its location was a highlight of our trip. The breakfast was one of the best with a wide variety of choices. The room has a goos size for two people. The bathroom was a little bit small but it didn't not bother us. The hotel is located in a beautiful setting with a breathtaking view of lake Lugano. Strolling through the narrow, small and very old streets of Communa di Rovio was a unbelievable discovery of an old time.

Room Tip: This hotel and its location was a highlight of our trip. The breakfast was one of the best with a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bree, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

it depends on what you expect.you have to remember your in swtzerland.for the same money you could have a five star hotel in Austria.
if you read all the negatives on websites i have to tend to agree,we encountered all sorts of hic cups.
BUT,for all the problems there were solutions which were dealt with a smile(including an upgrade of room we we asked to pay a very minimal extra.so all in all i think it must be price quality for switzerland well above average and the stunning local scenery and the province of ticino more than made up for the shortcomings of the hotel.it definatly needs a freshening up.but its clean,and thats what counts at the end of the day.

Room Tip: if you ask for economy rooms for two they are really very small,ok for a couple of nights but not fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were completely satisfied with our apartment. It was very comfortable, the kitchen equipped with everything needed, the room was nicely furnished and clean. We loved the coffee machine, providing us with tasty Italian coffee. And what we liked the most was the terrace with an amazing view on the lake. It was easy to find the place and they were very kind at the reception. We would really love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The problem with this place is not the service, the restaurant or the hospitality, it's the physical building itself, it's rooms, it's decor...

It is so old, even my grand mother would consider it outdated. I do understand that the prices are relatively low for Switzerland (100chf per night), however for the same price one could stay in an excellent hotel a short drive across the border in Italy, which is what I will do the next time round.

The room was extremely old, old beds, granny style bed linen, old furniture, tiny 9 inch TV and looked as if it belonged in a museum exhibiting life in the 1950's. I was happy to spend only 1 night here.

The grounds are beautiful, however, only when the sun shines. During bad weather, there is nothing to do in the garden. I asked about the swimming pool as they claim that it's heated, but the receptionist said it probably wasn't. I went to check the temperature of the water and it was very cold.

Food on the other hand was outstanding. My main course was an Osso Bucco and it was outstanding. It was the best one I have had in Switzerland. My partner's pork escalope was also superb, extremely tender, juicy and full flavoured. Service was top class too as was the dining room and the set up. Breakfast the following morning was also superb offering a wide range of breads, cheeses, cold cuts and eggs. Only let down was the sub standard coffee. Cappucinos cost extra, unlike the hotel we stayed at the previous night in Varese.

Would I return? Not until they refurbish their hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here whilst working in the local area & only planned one night but such was my satisfaction I extended one more night. Staff are really helpful & attentive, location is beautiful.
For the price I paid I didn't expect the Hilton & I refuse to criticise anything because I could have easily paid one night elsewhere for 2 nights here, in that respect I was very happy with The Park in Rovio.
One more thing, lovely breakfast, great coffee& a pleasant surprise...Roast Beef for breakfast!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco)

Address: Ronchi 8, Rovio 6821, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Rovio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rovio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel Rovio on the south side of the Monte Generoso Rovio, is located only 2 km from Lake Lugano and 15 km from Lugano. It offers an outdoor pool and free parking.A delightful park and lawn invite you to a sunbath and offer views of Lake Lugano and its surrounding mountains. There is a heated swimming pool (open from April to September) in the park.Fine regional cuisine is served in the restaurant of the Park Hotel Rovio.For children there is a little play area. The Park Hotel offers a small fitness room with a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.