We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It couldn’t have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco to your Saves list
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronchi 8, Rovio 6821, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rovio
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
“It couldn’t have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were completely satisfied with our apartment. It was very comfortable, the kitchen equipped with everything needed, the room was nicely furnished and clean. We loved the coffee machine, providing us with tasty Italian coffee. And what we liked the most was the terrace with an amazing view on the lake. It was easy to find the place and they were very kind at the reception. We would really love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    91
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
44
139
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
312 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The problem with this place is not the service, the restaurant or the hospitality, it's the physical building itself, it's rooms, it's decor...

It is so old, even my grand mother would consider it outdated. I do understand that the prices are relatively low for Switzerland (100chf per night), however for the same price one could stay in an excellent hotel a short drive across the border in Italy, which is what I will do the next time round.

The room was extremely old, old beds, granny style bed linen, old furniture, tiny 9 inch TV and looked as if it belonged in a museum exhibiting life in the 1950's. I was happy to spend only 1 night here.

The grounds are beautiful, however, only when the sun shines. During bad weather, there is nothing to do in the garden. I asked about the swimming pool as they claim that it's heated, but the receptionist said it probably wasn't. I went to check the temperature of the water and it was very cold.

Food on the other hand was outstanding. My main course was an Osso Bucco and it was outstanding. It was the best one I have had in Switzerland. My partner's pork escalope was also superb, extremely tender, juicy and full flavoured. Service was top class too as was the dining room and the set up. Breakfast the following morning was also superb offering a wide range of breads, cheeses, cold cuts and eggs. Only let down was the sub standard coffee. Cappucinos cost extra, unlike the hotel we stayed at the previous night in Varese.

Would I return? Not until they refurbish their hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here whilst working in the local area & only planned one night but such was my satisfaction I extended one more night. Staff are really helpful & attentive, location is beautiful.
For the price I paid I didn't expect the Hilton & I refuse to criticise anything because I could have easily paid one night elsewhere for 2 nights here, in that respect I was very happy with The Park in Rovio.
One more thing, lovely breakfast, great coffee& a pleasant surprise...Roast Beef for breakfast!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hotel Rovio over Easter 2013. The hotel is great, all the 4 family members do their job with great passion and are very kind. The food they serve is simply great. They keep renovating regularly. There's even a convertible swimming pool - open or indoors according to weather. The view from the large and wonderful park is spectacular. Everything was simply great, thank you very much, Vera and Jakob

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are satisfied with service and comfort in the hotel, but were surprised to read in the elevator cabin restriction: it is not allowed to bring to the room meal and drinks, bought not in the hotel. We believe that this restriction is important for customers and it necessary to tell about it in the hotel description on the booking.com and hotel web portal. Possible, we choose another hotel, if knew this restriction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

but not a BAD hotel. Not perfect the cleanliness of the room. It smelled not bad, but not fresh either. The view was wonderful, if only we had seen it (too much fog!). We remember a vey nice waiter (from Portugal), clever and wise, we chatted with him after breakfast. Breakfast was nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

That's what we found at Rovio. A very nice hotel and a very nice staff. The family Sabino was watching over us. Tutto bene? was the question we often heard from Mr. Sabino. We had a nice room with a view over Lake Lugano and we enjoyed breakfast and diner. Other facilities we used were the sauna and the swimmingpool in the beautifull subtropical garden. Monte Generoso was nearby and we made some nice trips (2000 M)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rovio
3.0 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#1 of 8 in Mendrisio
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#21 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#3 of 3 in Bissone
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco

Address: Ronchi 8, Rovio 6821, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Rovio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rovio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel Rovio on the south side of the Monte Generoso Rovio, is located only 2 km from Lake Lugano and 15 km from Lugano. It offers an outdoor pool and free parking.A delightful park and lawn invite you to a sunbath and offer views of Lake Lugano and its surrounding mountains. There is a heated swimming pool (open from April to September) in the park.Fine regional cuisine is served in the restaurant of the Park Hotel Rovio.For children there is a little play area. The Park Hotel offers a small and simply fitness room with a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.