We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roast Beef for Breakfast anyone?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco)

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Ronchi 8, Rovio 6821, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Rovio
1 review
“Roast Beef for Breakfast anyone?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here whilst working in the local area & only planned one night but such was my satisfaction I extended one more night. Staff are really helpful & attentive, location is beautiful.
For the price I paid I didn't expect the Hilton & I refuse to criticise anything because I could have easily paid one night elsewhere for 2 nights here, in that respect I was very happy with The Park in Rovio.
One more thing, lovely breakfast, great coffee& a pleasant surprise...Roast Beef for breakfast!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    52
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
81
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hotel Rovio over Easter 2013. The hotel is great, all the 4 family members do their job with great passion and are very kind. The food they serve is simply great. They keep renovating regularly. There's even a convertible swimming pool - open or indoors according to weather. The view from the large and wonderful park is spectacular. Everything was simply great, thank you very much, Vera and Jakob

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are satisfied with service and comfort in the hotel, but were surprised to read in the elevator cabin restriction: it is not allowed to bring to the room meal and drinks, bought not in the hotel. We believe that this restriction is important for customers and it necessary to tell about it in the hotel description on the booking.com and hotel web portal. Possible, we choose another hotel, if knew this restriction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

but not a BAD hotel. Not perfect the cleanliness of the room. It smelled not bad, but not fresh either. The view was wonderful, if only we had seen it (too much fog!). We remember a vey nice waiter (from Portugal), clever and wise, we chatted with him after breakfast. Breakfast was nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

That's what we found at Rovio. A very nice hotel and a very nice staff. The family Sabino was watching over us. Tutto bene? was the question we often heard from Mr. Sabino. We had a nice room with a view over Lake Lugano and we enjoyed breakfast and diner. Other facilities we used were the sauna and the swimmingpool in the beautifull subtropical garden. Monte Generoso was nearby and we made some nice trips (2000 M)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

To find this hotel could be a problem as signing is minimal and the road is very steep winding up the hillside , but well worth the trip up. Our room was on the second floor and very spacious and a large bathroom with 2 basins and shower, clean and plenty of hot water if slightly dated. Our windows looked out onto the hillside with the local sheep paying us a visit in the evening. Dinner was either a la carte or from a large buffet, but the breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice from cereals, fresh fruit, cheese, cold meat, boil your own eggs, freshly cooked bacon and eggs, omelettes if you wished. Loved the owner cooking breakfast in his suit. We had a excellent waiter who spoke English he had worked in the Four Seasons in London. Beautiful gardens looking down onto the Lake, swimming pool with cover which we hoped to use but the rain arrived with us. The village of Rovio is charming, ideal place to return to after a walking or cycling day out. All of the staff where very friendly and helpful, lots of things to do whilst staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Not at the rear overlooking car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

"Authentic charm" may be the best description for this lovely little family-run hotel. We spent two non-consecutive nights here in July while on a cycling trip in Switzerland. Located at the top of a steep hill, surrounded by mountains, and overlooking a beautiful lake, the hotel has a lovely garden and pool. Its clientele is international, with no one nationality predominating, which adds to its charm. The staff is friendly, and it is clear that they and the owners take pride in their work and the establishment they run. The rooms are all different, both in size and amenities, but the two we had were both comfortable. The furnishings are old-fashioned, but perfectly in tune with the overall ambiance.
One of the nights we were there, they had a Ticinese night, which meant live music and a buffet dinner. It was like being transported back in time, with some of the older guests taking to the floor to dance a gentle twist.
For us, the main factor standing in the way of a "5" rating was the buffet dinner...If you did not get there early, the food quickly got cold ...
The breakfast buffet on the other hand was great, with lots of choice.
The guests were mixed: families (kids of all ages) and older couples (40+).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco)

Address: via Ronchi 8, Rovio 6821, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Rovio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Rovio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel Rovio on the south side of the Monte Generoso Rovio, is located only 2 km from Lake Lugano and 15 km from Lugano. It offers an outdoor pool and free parking.A delightful park and lawn invite you to a sunbath and offer views of Lake Lugano and its surrounding mountains. There is a heated swimming pool (open from April to September) in the park.Fine regional cuisine is served in the restaurant of the Park Hotel Rovio.For children there is a little play area. The Park Hotel offers a small fitness room with a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Rovio (Albergo del Parco), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.