We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay with top quality service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nira Alpina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nira Alpina to your Saves list
Nira Alpina
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dal Corvatsch 76 | 7513 Silvaplana, Silvaplana CH-7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Silvaplana
toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“perfect stay with top quality service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and enjoyed great service, very friendly staff, breakfast
was incredible, fresh and great variety. The garden room was modern, with a nice view to the mountain, very clean, and the Bakery is something you do not want to miss! Would like to visit this place again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    44
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
46
109
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ZH
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As another reviewer mentioned this is a great alternative to St. Moritz, if you are looking for a hotel with decent prices. The hotel picks you up and drops you off at the train station at request, so the distance from St. Moritz is not a problem. Personally I didn't like St. Moritz, but if you want to hike in the summer or ski in the winter, the Nira Alpina has the perfect location being right at the Corvatsch lift.The rooms & the view from them are beautiful, just like on the pictures. The wellness area is also good, seemed pretty busy for me being in the summer, not sure how they cope in the winter. In the summer you can get really good rates at this hotel, so don't hesitate go hiking in this beautiful area. St. Moritz was dead anyways, and it is not worth spending there too much time. The only negative point was that being low season one of the restaurants was closed, and the other one being open seemed more exclusive with some crazy prices. As Silvaplana is also quite small and quite dead in the summer, you don't have much option around there for dining. Bur right opposite the hotel we found a restaurant open with fair prices and good services. So we only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was superb!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I agree in toto with other positive review about this hotel.
Enjoying our stay here. Staff has very positive attitude. Great team here ready to serve your every need. We came here from Zurich by train and it was very pleasant feeling to see someone waiting for you. Very polite staff members. Good facilities at the hotel. Gym,spa with great view, sauna , steam room. Very good place to relax. Hotel is just opp cable car. Free shuttle from town. Free water. Good food at the hotel restaurant . We are fussy vegetarian but we had very good special preparation by chef. E.g my husband will never eat egg plant the way I cook. But here he enjoyed it. Tell me how many hotel staff come to you your room and ask if you need anything? I call it personal touch in service.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you yearn to get away from the "traditional" stuffiness and exorbitant prices of 5 star properties in Sankt. Moritz itself, then this is your alternative. Located a mere 5 Kms (approx 3 miles) from downtown Sankt Moritz, the Nira Alpina offers large, modern and comfortable rooms in a well designed hotel. What's more, the property is directly connected to the Corvatsch mountain cable car, which takes you to the slopes at an altitude of 2'800 m in winter, or to the way station at around 2'000 m for long scenic hikes in summer.
The hotel architects and designers have done a terrific job - as evidenced not only in the overall concept and the materials used but also in the many large and smaller touches which make the hotel attractive and convenient, such as the lighting system, the ingenious showers, the signposting, etc.
The top floor restaurant, where breakfast is served, offers a magnificent view of the mountains and lake below, as well as a comfortable bar for evening or late hour drinks. There are several other restaurants, amongst them a - real - bakery offering home made bread and pastries all kinds of light snacks and soft drinks.
The extremely friendly, always cheerful and helpful staff rounds up a great Alpine experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a so-called "garden room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst on a road trip across the Alps.

The welcome was warm and efficient.

We spent much of the afternoon/early evening relaxing in the very comfortable setting of the roof top bar and were very well looked after by the attentive bar men - top ups and nibbles perfectly timed without having to lift a finger. There was also a cosy smoking room for those of us with a filthy habit.

We ate in the restaurant - the food was simple yet brilliantly presented and went down a treat. As did the wine. The service from the waiter in the restaurant was also very attentive, if a little too formal.

The room was of a very high standard, however it would benefit from a few personal touches to differentiate it from other hotels of this high standard - it felt almost a little "vanilla" - this after a week of staying in luxury hotels across the Alps where comparing the differences becomes a little pedantic to be fair!

We would certainly stay again should we find ourselves in St Moritz again.

Room Tip: Pay for a suite. A room isn't enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My family of 4 (chidren aged 10 and 11) had a 7 day hiking and biking holiday staying half board at Nira Alpina. It simply couldnt have been more terrific. The hotel is beautifully modern and well equipped, the location breathtaking and perfectly positioned to enjoy the stunning area, and all the staff simply outstanding. There is a real positive team spirit focused on making your stay as memorable as possible. The food was also truly delicious and I would recommend the top floor restaurant overlooking the stunning mountains and lakes whilst you savour beautifully prepared international cuisine of the highest standard. Every member of the family felt this was our best holiday ever and i would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly and the area for a fabulous family or couples vacation enjoying the very best of Swiss scenery. Thankyou to all at Nira Alpina for such a delightful stay and we look forward to enjoying your special hotel in a such a special location again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel, excellent team of employees, friendly service, great location, restaurant food at lunch and dinner is good, yet a bit overpriced. Breakfast buffet is very good and room service was also nice! The alpine suite was roomy and the built-in folding bed was of good quality for our kid.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nira Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Alpina

Address: Via dal Corvatsch 76 | 7513 Silvaplana, Silvaplana CH-7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Silvaplana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Silvaplana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nira Alpina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Alpina, a 4* Superior hotel situated in the Swiss ski resort of St. Moritz, is connected to the Corvatsch cable car station via a private walkway. Within our hotel, winter or summer, you'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style - we're not a typical St. Moritz hotel. You'll sense an ambiance that's buzzy, bordering on Bohemian... Our Swiss spa resort is for worldly, well-travelled individuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nira Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nira Alpina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.