We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appenzellerland beauty.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen to your Saves list
Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorf 45 | Walzenhausen Swiss Quality Hotel, Walzenhausen 9428, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walzenhausen
San Juan Capistrano
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Appenzellerland beauty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Inexpensive for Switzerland. Beautiful views over Boden See (Lake Constance). Excellent restaurant superb breakfast buffet.
A funicular railway to the lake just outside the entrance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sailaway62, Geschäftsführer at Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Muirtty

Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are motivation for the entire team to even better on their services. Please do keep abreast our news by looking at our new website or by following us on Facebook. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Erich Dasen
Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    16
    11
    0
See reviews for
12
36
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

this hotel is standard 4 star , but
- extreme price for standard stuff
- extreme price for wifi
- extreme price for dinner
- poor recepcionist

- nice view to lake constance from small balcony
- terrible parking and too far from rooms, no safety for car or motorcycle

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
347 hotel reviews
Reviews in 346 cities Reviews in 346 cities
718 helpful votes 718 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

My disappointment with the hotel began as soon as I parked in their parking lot below the hotel. There was a locked door with no phone to reception and no instructions on how to get to the lobby. I walked 3 different ways before I found the right steps to the entrance (go right!).

At reception I was told that the hotel reservation agent whom I had exchanged emails with about the price for children had made a mistake -- and that I owed an additional 72 Swiss Francs for my 12 year old! When I refused to pay this, the front desk clerk proceeded to bargain hard with me like the money would come out of his own paycheck. I ultimately paid an extra 40 Francs for no reason other than it was already nighttime and I did not feel like making an extended scene in front of my children. Any reasonable hotel would have admitted their mistake and waived the fee -- especially since I was told that 11 year olds stay free!

The standard room we received was more adequate. Neat and clean, but in need of some updating (except for the flat screen TV). More like what you would expect from a good 3-star hotel.

Breakfast was again disappointing. Again, it was more like that of a 3 star than a 4 star hotel. No hot dishes (except boil your own egg -- other egg dishes extra). Other than a good cheese board, it was a very lean assortment of cold dishes. In fact so lean that I had to ask the waitress to replenish the buffet so I could have a couple pieces of salami. After 10 minutes, she did, but brought out a total of about 5 pieces for the dining room (which had at least 8 tables in use). If you didn't rush the buffet table, you were again out of luck.

The most redeeming feature of the property is the view, which is nice in good weather. Our bad luck streak continued with dense fog, so no view for us.

All in all, a decent facility in a nice hilltop location, but poorly managed. For better value, I would suggest staying just across the border in Austria, where hotels deliver significantly more value for the money, especially given the current over-valuation of the Swiss Franc.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Staff for gentle, contains an old building and modern building, the building housing Recommend Air conditioner in summer because the weather is relatively warm village.
A beautiful village and its people for a very gentle, close to the largest lake in Europe" bodensee " and close to the borders of Austria and Germany, five minutes by car.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

This hotel is superb. It's located in the Appenzelland of Swiss and therefore bordered with Germany and Austria.

The view from the restaurant is great, overlooking lake constance. We had a corner room on the 3rd floor with window view of the lake. Should try the train which takes you down to the nearest town of Rheineck. The train costs 8 SFR return and it's an experience itself, pulling up the steep hill and stop right opposite the hotel.

Overall, the location of the hotel can be quite remote and the village of Walzenhausen is really quite. nothing much to do at night but the view and the train makes it all up. If you are looking for a nice honeymoon experience, like us, and away from the crowd, this is the place to be.

  • Liked — the view and train line
  • Disliked — no central heating
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Lovely hotel. Fantastic views out over Lake Konstanz and the hills, and generally very quiet (lots of ringing cow-bells).

A little tricky to find, and if you take the ‘B’ roads to avoid the motorways and the tolls associated with them, the roads through Switzerland tend to wind around a lot. A ‘SatNav’ is useful.

Eating out here was a problem as the restaurant at the hotel is very expensive (although good food) and there are few other eating places in the town, so be prepared to go for a drive to find a reasonably priced meal.

Outside of the hotel, the locals do not (or will not) understand much English, or have English menus. (This was typically true in Switzerland, but not in Germany).

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen

Address: Dorf 45 | Walzenhausen Swiss Quality Hotel, Walzenhausen 9428, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Walzenhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walzenhausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.