We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appenzellerland beauty.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen to your Saves list
Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorf 45 | Walzenhausen Swiss Quality Hotel, Walzenhausen 9428, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walzenhausen
San Juan Capistrano
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Appenzellerland beauty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Inexpensive for Switzerland. Beautiful views over Boden See (Lake Constance). Excellent restaurant superb breakfast buffet.
A funicular railway to the lake just outside the entrance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muirtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sailaway62, Geschäftsführer at Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Muirtty

Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are motivation for the entire team to even better on their services. Please do keep abreast our news by looking at our new website or by following us on Facebook. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Erich Dasen
Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

this hotel is standard 4 star , but
- extreme price for standard stuff
- extreme price for wifi
- extreme price for dinner
- poor recepcionist

- nice view to lake constance from small balcony
- terrible parking and too far from rooms, no safety for car or motorcycle

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kola12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
700 reviews
409 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 821 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

My disappointment with the hotel began as soon as I parked in their parking lot below the hotel. There was a locked door with no phone to reception and no instructions on how to get to the lobby. I walked 3 different ways before I found the right steps to the entrance (go right!).

At reception I was told that the hotel reservation agent whom I had exchanged emails with about the price for children had made a mistake -- and that I owed an additional 72 Swiss Francs for my 12 year old! When I refused to pay this, the front desk clerk proceeded to bargain hard with me like the money would come out of his own paycheck. I ultimately paid an extra 40 Francs for no reason other than it was already nighttime and I did not feel like making an extended scene in front of my children. Any reasonable hotel would have admitted their mistake and waived the fee -- especially since I was told that 11 year olds stay free!

The standard room we received was more adequate. Neat and clean, but in need of some updating (except for the flat screen TV). More like what you would expect from a good 3-star hotel.

Breakfast was again disappointing. Again, it was more like that of a 3 star than a 4 star hotel. No hot dishes (except boil your own egg -- other egg dishes extra). Other than a good cheese board, it was a very lean assortment of cold dishes. In fact so lean that I had to ask the waitress to replenish the buffet so I could have a couple pieces of salami. After 10 minutes, she did, but brought out a total of about 5 pieces for the dining room (which had at least 8 tables in use). If you didn't rush the buffet table, you were again out of luck.

The most redeeming feature of the property is the view, which is nice in good weather. Our bad luck streak continued with dense fog, so no view for us.

All in all, a decent facility in a nice hilltop location, but poorly managed. For better value, I would suggest staying just across the border in Austria, where hotels deliver significantly more value for the money, especially given the current over-valuation of the Swiss Franc.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Staff for gentle, contains an old building and modern building, the building housing Recommend Air conditioner in summer because the weather is relatively warm village.
A beautiful village and its people for a very gentle, close to the largest lake in Europe" bodensee " and close to the borders of Austria and Germany, five minutes by car.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AboMohammeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

This hotel is superb. It's located in the Appenzelland of Swiss and therefore bordered with Germany and Austria.

The view from the restaurant is great, overlooking lake constance. We had a corner room on the 3rd floor with window view of the lake. Should try the train which takes you down to the nearest town of Rheineck. The train costs 8 SFR return and it's an experience itself, pulling up the steep hill and stop right opposite the hotel.

Overall, the location of the hotel can be quite remote and the village of Walzenhausen is really quite. nothing much to do at night but the view and the train makes it all up. If you are looking for a nice honeymoon experience, like us, and away from the crowd, this is the place to be.

  • Liked — the view and train line
  • Disliked — no central heating
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bangkoky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Lovely hotel. Fantastic views out over Lake Konstanz and the hills, and generally very quiet (lots of ringing cow-bells).

A little tricky to find, and if you take the ‘B’ roads to avoid the motorways and the tolls associated with them, the roads through Switzerland tend to wind around a lot. A ‘SatNav’ is useful.

Eating out here was a problem as the restaurant at the hotel is very expensive (although good food) and there are few other eating places in the town, so be prepared to go for a drive to find a reasonably priced meal.

Outside of the hotel, the locals do not (or will not) understand much English, or have English menus. (This was typically true in Switzerland, but not in Germany).

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzjkmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walzenhausen
3.2 mi away
Hotel Heiden
Hotel Heiden
#1 of 1 in Heiden
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pension Alpenrosli
Pension Alpenrosli
#1 of 1 in Gais
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Frohe Aussicht
Hotel Frohe Aussicht
#3 of 7 in Weissbad
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Schloss Wartegg
Hotel Schloss Wartegg
#2 of 5 in Rorschacherberg
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gasthof Meindl
Gasthof Meindl
#1 of 1 in Lustenau
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
12.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#3 of 16 in Appenzell
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen

Address: Dorf 45 | Walzenhausen Swiss Quality Hotel, Walzenhausen 9428, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Walzenhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walzenhausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Dreams Hotel Walzenhausen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing