We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for 2* Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kyriad Caen Sud Ifs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kyriad Caen Sud Ifs to your Saves list
Kyriad Caen Sud Ifs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   698 Route de Falaise | Porte d'Espagne, 14123 Ifs, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ifs
Rainham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“OK for 2* Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

We have recently stayed at the Kyriad Caen Ifs Hotel . We stayed for 4 nights with a group from Leger Holidays for a tour of D. Day Landings in Normandy. This hotel is right on an industrial type estate with only a drive through McDonalds and a couple of supermarkets in easy walking distance. There are no bars or cafes/restaurants nearby. We ate in the hotel restaurant, to get into Caen cost 16 euro one way by cab, no public transport anywhere near. The hotel is in the middle of no where. I would say it is perfect for an over - night stay, but no longer. The bar is tiny. The hotel is clean and comfortable, very 70's looking. (wood chip wallpaper) it could do with a make over. The menu in the evening was fairly good, the wine was reasonably priced and quite nice. The staff were very friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was only one English speaking channel on the TV which was CNN. Because of the Hotel being on a major dual carrieageway, it was impossible to have the window open at night, far too noisy. For a 2* hotel is was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
17
20
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

Hotel is OK, good to reach. Not close to center, but close to big shopping malls. Freeway close (but you don´t hear it in the rooms).
Price is fair.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

This report is as impartial as possible, but essentially it is to say a huge "Thank you!" to all the wonderful members of the personnel at the Kyriad Hotel in Ifs.

I stayed there for ten days with a group from several European countries who were in Caen for a conference. This took place right in the middle of the French public transport strike in the middle of November. All our planned arrival and departure times had to be modified, special shuttles and hire cars had to be ordered – but nothing was too much trouble for the reception and restaurant staff.

Over the last two years working on European projects I've stayed in hotels in several countries, some of them more "chic" than the Kyriad Hotel in Ifs, but I have not received so much warmth and help in any other establishment – and it was not only for me – all our group got the same friendly treatment.

On the practical side : the restaurant food was reasonably priced and good, the rooms were very thoroughly cleaned every day, and breakfasts (buffet service) were generous with varied choices.

Many thanks to all the personnel, I'm sure I'll be using your hotel again soon !

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

A really nice hotel with really professional staff. We stayed for three nights in February at Kyriad Ifs. Redecoration work was going on and the reception desk was being moved, but the people at reception did their utmost to see that things went smoothly.

Service in the restaurant was also very good, and quick. Our waiter spoke English quite well and helped with the menu, and we really enjoyed our two meals there.

We're planning to stop there again on our way from the ferry (convenient and good value for money) this summer.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2005

This hotel was awful. It was like a 1970's Travel Inn that had not been updated since it was built. The room was clean, but the radiator was hanging off the wall, the curtains were torn and there was a dubious stain on the carpet near the window. The restaurant was undergoing refurbishment in December 2005 when we stayed, which meant that there was wood and wires everywhere. The staff were extremely unhelpful and rude. How this hotel ever got its 2 star rating I will never know. I would not recoomend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyriad Caen Sud Ifs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Caen Sud Ifs

Address: 698 Route de Falaise | Porte d'Espagne, 14123 Ifs, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ifs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ifs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Caen Sud Ifs 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most of our hotel: A personalized, a wellness area with packs escape solo or duo to relax from head to foot. Enjoy our relaxing space to read or share family moments with a drink offer from 7h to 23h. Space bar themed LANDING welcome you from Monday to Sunday. Our restaurant in an atmosphere travel, relaxation. Good service, good staff and a smile upon your arrival ... Kyriad Caen Sud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kyriad Caen Sud Ifs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Caen Sud Ifs Hotel Ifs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyriad Caen Sud Ifs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.