We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Good Hotel for the Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chaloklum Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Chaloklum Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chaloklum Bay Resort
68/1 M.7 Chaloklum | Suratthani, Ban Chalok Lam, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ban Chalok Lam
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Really Good Hotel for the Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. Desperate for accommodation a good distance from the Full Moon Party this hotel turned out to be really great! The beachfront villas were clean, roomy and the beds typically Asia hard. You could lay in bed and look out at the islands and ocean. Sadly lacking was a kettle and coffee making facilities and the showers had very little pressure.

The restaurant was mostly pretty good (there are a number of good restaurants 5 min down the road), though getting soft eggs for breakfast could be an issue!! The cocktails were great!!!! A lovely pool and massage area on the beach. In the restaurant/bar area a man named Armo was the overseer of this area and what a character! He certainly gave the place a little bit of life.

Although Chaloklum is a distance from the main areas, it is only 25 min to the pier, the roads are great for bikes and there is very little traffic.

A shame that when we were booking out they tried to rip us off on the bike rental. Our own fault as we should have insisted on getting receipts and not just relying on their paperwork!! A bad taste after such a lovely stay. Even with this, we would definitely stay here again.

We had to deal with Lomprayah Catamarans when we left Koh Phangan. If you can avoid dealing with this company. DO SO!!! We dealt with them twice whilst in Thailand and transfers organised with them were either not what they appeared to be or just never turned up. They will not refund you if this happens and they are rude, unhelpful and don't give a damn (they already have your money)!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    7
    9
    12
See reviews for
3
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed at Chaloklum Bay for 2 nights just before the new year. Even with that considered, the price was too high for what you get. The beach was nice and white, and the water calm, but it was very narrow, and dirty. The room we got had airconditioning but the showers were not always hot. The toilet got blocked up on our first night and started spilling over so had to come and be repaired. The breakfast was mediocre, but there was a lovely view from the restaurant. It was an alright place, but I think you can get better value for money in the same area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, which is saying something as we encountered really rude staff at other hotels on the island.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Having just returned from Thailand I was suprised to see poor reviews for Chaloklum Bay Resort. I almost dont want to leave a revoiew as Im tempted to keep it secret. I guess it really depends what you want. I havent been to Thailand for 2o years and when I was last there there were very few roads or posh resorts. It was nearly all back packers and quiet very basic bungalows only reached by long tail boat. Well things do change and having stopped at Koh Samui first I thought that we wouldnt find anything like the Thailand I rememberd and so much wanted to share with my young family.

Well whatever other reviews say, Chaloklum Resort is a lttle boit of paradise. The bunglaows arent fancy but they are comfortable clean and all you need. They have privat bathrooms and airconditioning and ARE kept clean. Infact Mr Three and his staff are friendly and attentive and Mt Three is a kind gentle Thai Man that cant do enough to help you,! The pool is great and has a fantastic deck right ont the beach. I guess for some there are some negatives..the tide does go out and you loose the beach for half the day, but it is safe and shallow for children. The breakfast and lunch service is slow but thats how I always remember Thailand :-) If you want to chill out in a very Thai area, not spoilt by mass tourism and dont need 5 star accomodation ..I cant think Of a better place.!
Great seafood in the fishermans village a short walk away..great Snorkelling at Ko Maa around the corner. Mr Mee in the village will take you anywhere on his long tail. Great Thai food, fantastic Italian restaurant just as you leave chalokom on Thongsala Road.

Had a great, great time!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Firstly can I say to the previous
reviewer - you're in thailand on an island famous for travellers and parties were you expecting luxury?
This hotel is a very nice Thai hotel. We stayed in the cheapest room for 300thb and for this we got a very spacious room, a fan and use of the very nice swimming pool. Yes there were occassional ants but what do you expect in a tropical region. But as soon as we told someone they came and sprayed some repellant and that was the last if them. There was also a cockroach in the plughole. In the west this would automatically earn the hotel a 1 star rating. But this is Thailand! We just covered
the plug and that was that!
Food was good - just don't get a cheese sandwich. When you throw caution to the wind it usually bites you on the tooshie! Try to experience the local culture - Thai people will cook Thai food better than western food - it's what they know!
Location is lovely. A little fishing village with some restaurants to taste the local catch. Taxi to haad rin was about 30 min and cost 200
thb (£4).
Overall a lovely place well respected
by the locals. Just remember you're in Thailand not costa
del sol!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

My girlfriend and i arrived at the hotel and walked over to the desk were some staff were to find out about rooms. as the season was still low we opted for one of the newer priceyer rooms one of the girls there took us up to the room were they showed us around everything was fine and we decided to take it, the room itself was lovely nice clean bed and seemed very new tho the bathroom especially the ridculous shower needed to be re thought i mean it was just rocks on the floor not comfy at all wen ure trying to wash ure self and after an incident involving my girlfriends only hair grip i ended up on my hands and knees diggin through the rocks trying to find it unfourtunatley i didnt find it all i found was little bugs crawling round the rocks,

anyway gettin back to our arrival wen we were unpacked we decided to get some lunch now most travellers visiting thailand and countrys like this must now that european food is not a strong point but throwing heed to this we decided to have two cheese sandwhiches oh god wish we hadnt i mean really how can u mess up a cheese sandwhich this girl could the bread if thats wat it was was warm the cheese was from packets like u get at a sponsored barbecue or something i dont now were u use these fake cheese things anyway it was horrid, but u cant really blame them its not there way,

after lunch we decided to go for a walk onto the beach this is when we worked out we were in a fishing village damn it. well theres no reason a fishing village cant be nice can there. this one wasnt the beach was awash with driftwood plastic bottles anything. shoes you name it, we took a long walk along the "beach" and found well nothing so we decided to walk into town and see wat we could find that way well eventually also nothing but the 7 elven. well by now it was getting late time for dinner we headed up the stairs into the dining room were the family were gathered watching tv and drinking so we took a seat wen our chef/waitress stumbled over to us mumbled a few words and left us with yet another over the top menu. after studying this and learning from our earlier mistakes we decided to have.... spaghetti bolognase (idiots) was awful as if some one had added an oxo cube to bloody mince atleast i think it was mince hard to tell with a bottle of browning to take any flavour looks or colour out it. sorry you will be sayin its our fault which it was but i do worry what the other food would be like well we decided not too try anymore scary food from there so for the two nights we had left we walked along atleast a mile trex into the far north of the town and had a lovely relaxing and alotgether better time in the sheesha bar so much better worth the walk anyway with things not gettin much better at chaloklum we decided maybe we shud get some beer so while we sat drinkin our beer i noticed there was yeast floating in the bottom now im no expert but i really dont think its meant to be there so i shouted over to the lady who did not even move from the desk she was sitting in to tell us the beer was a day old just from the shop yesterday even tho the bottle said "fill 05" i mean really so that was our final straw we went back to the room and amused ourselfs the resulting in me losing the girlfriends hair grip by flickin it across the room into bathroom and under very suspicious circumstances my girlfriend losing her ipod tho we searched the whole room top to bottom more than you have had hot dinners and still could not be found tho wen i asked the male incharge this time if one had been handed in he seemed happy to ask his workers if it was handed in then telling me to return in an hour to see wether it was there so i returned within the hour and the man was still to ask his staff and i should return in half an hour well 20 mins went past and i looked out the window to see him ride off on his motorbike needless to say we never saw that ipod again,

well to round this all off all i can say is the staff were arrogant and rude the food was arguably rubbiish the setting was ok a bit out in the middle of nowere but i wouldnt waste my time with it wen u can get cheaper and nicer accomadiation more central

(PS) if anyone had decided that they will ignore this review and they find a hair grip please get in contact

  • Liked — the bed was comfy and clean
  • Disliked — the rude staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

From the moment we arrived after corresponding twice by email and once by phone, we were still met with puzzled expressions and a sense that we were putting them out. Accomodation was clean and tidy upon arrival, however they were self maintained as no one came to clean our room. Swimming pool was much the same, beautiful but unmaintained as there was alot of dead insects floating about, with a poolside bar which was never manned. The on-site supermarket prices were very expensive compared to those in Chaloklum town.
The staff were rude and dismissive on most occasions, neglecting to be neither attentive or helpful. We left after two nights, as we found it to be over priced and under service.
Throughout the island we found fantastic accomodation for half the price!
We will not be visiting this resort anytime soon. As a young couple it is in our opinion that this resort should avoided as there are dozens of other fantastic resorts on offer around the island.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chaloklum Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaloklum Bay Resort

Address: 68/1 M.7 Chaloklum | Suratthani, Ban Chalok Lam, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan > Ban Chalok Lam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ban Chalok Lam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Chaloklum Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaloklum Bay Hotel
Chaloklum Bay Resort Ko Phangan, Thailand - Ban Chalok Lam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaloklum Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.