We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, facilites, rooms and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Icaro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Icaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Icaro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seiser Alm, Piz 18/1, 39040 Alpe di Siusi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Alpe di Siusi
Sandefjord, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful location, facilites, rooms and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent meals, wonderful location, quiet, nice staff. Everthing in order. We will definately be back. Stayed 3 nights on a couples trip. Only thing to improve is that the room was a bit to warm during the nights. Actually missed airconditioning!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lovely location, dedicated, courteous staff, and wonderful food. We arrived just as the dining room was closing, and they graciously let us take a full, leisurely dinner: Buffet of anti-pasti, salads, cheese, desserts plus regular menu available. The buffet alone could’ve made a meal. Breakfast was also abundant with breads, cereals, fish, and cheeses. Spacious room and bath--all very comfortable. Great location for trails. Limited traffic zone, so comfortable hiking on asphalt roads available, providing varied views of the Dolomites which a quick drive-through can't provide. Would definitely stay here again. A must also on summer time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Delightful stay: a heavenly view, beautiful food, a stylish room, a great wellness centre, and lots of fresh air! Friendly efficient service too. Slightly complicated to get there and find it but well worth the effort.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms facing south great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Icaro on the last 8 days of March. Email exchange with Angelica Sattler was efficient. Check-in with Anna went really smooth. We were assigned room 207 facing east, the Langkofel and Plattkofel, enjoying a different sunrise everyday because of the effects of snow or clouds or the absence of it. Can't beat the location. It's on the piste/run (chairlifts: Monte Piz and Sanon).
I wasn't feeling very well on the first day. Got the chills! Mrs. Sattler sent a portable electric heater to the room. Now, that's service!

Room:
Very clean! Bed is big enough (my husband is 1.95 meter tall). We ordered special pillows at the reception (extra service). Slept like babies every night. Shower has a large spout with "massage" functions. Bathrobe, towels and slippers for the sauna; and bathroom amenities are provided for. We only turned on the Samsung TV when we wanted background music (MTV) while dressing up... Because why would you want to watch TV if you have a million dollar view just outside your window? Bedroom is on the small"ish" side. That's why I gave it 4 points instead of 5.

Food and beverage:
There's a lot of choices during breakfast. Different kinds of bread, cheeses, cold meat cuts, eggs, cakes, croissants, fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, fruit juices, milk, tea, coffee. You can make your own fresh orange juice, too.
Dinner is always 5 courses except during Sundays (gala evening - 6 courses). Food is amazing and the wine suggestions are spot on. Wine menu is extensive.
Tip: I love their ginger/ingwer tea after skiing!!!

Sauna and Wellness:
My husband and I got massages from Brigitte twice. It was wonderful! You should try it. And the massage bed was lovely. It gives you the illusion of lying on warm water (with ripples and waves) without getting wet.
I visited the sauna just once bacause I always fell asleep in the room after skiing. But my husband loved it and went everyday. There's a Finnish sauna, infrared cabin, biosauna, Turkish bath, hay room, relax zone with really cool hanging nests. They provide free tea, apples and water. And everything was always clean!
I didn't visit the area with whirlpool and swimming pool.

Tours:
We took the Alpe di Siusi - Val Gardena tour with Mr. Walter Sattler. My husband has a medical condition that made it almost impossible for him to finish the tour. We had to cut it short. Walter was patient with my husband, showing sympathy and understanding.
The guided winter walk with Brigitte was very enjoyable. I loved hearing stories about the witches, and about a prince who wanted to go to the moon. :-)
The Sella Ronda tour with Walter was incredibly beautiful. Being Asian, I wasn't born with skis under my feet. Having done the Sella Ronda is quite an achievement. Walter is a very good guide. I wish I could speak German better because I hated missing some things that were being said during the tour.

Thank you Roman, Magda, Retish, the small blond lady with glasses, the chef and her kitchen crew for making our dining experience very pleasant.

Thank you dark-haired lady who always made sure our room was clean and our bed made up before we came back from skiing.

Thank you Brigitte for the invigorating massages.

Thank you Sattler family for this wonderful holiday! See you again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

New room with smell of the tree and great view. Every morning we enjoyed fantastic sunset. Friendly and very profesional staff, nice map of local wines, I realy enjoed. Big recpect for Valter (owner) for exiting tour in Sellaronda.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotselaar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

For us the hotel with the nicest panoramic view on Seiser Alm. Calm surroundings. With about 20 rooms the hotel is not too big for realising a family atmosphere taken care of by the Sattler Family and their personnel. Great diversity of guided walks on Seiser Alm and beyond, all with a special eye for the local fauna and flora by your host/ guide Walter. We also appreciated the variety of the cooking with a good balance between more traditional South Tirol dishes and more innovative ones. And small personal wishes, e.g. our preference for a stronger cooling of the white wines, were being taken care of. In short: clear contribution of the hotel (people & facilities) in making these holidays one of our best up to now!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Beautiful location & attractive new and clean hotel & competent management sum up the highlights. Be sure to request the mountain view rooms (Langkofel) if you go. The hotel functions primarily on a Meal Plan basis and is not great at accommodating individual wishes, e.g., meal a la carte. The management pushes their standard fare and routines with considerable authority, somewhat schoolmasterly: you dare not sit on a table other than the one assigned to you, and you will sit there every day for your entire stay. Apparently that is convenient for the owners but not for world travelers; it feels like being in Kindergarten. Given that somewhat authoritarian tone, it is no surprise that the full dining room is hushed like in church; people whisper over dinner as if not to make any undue noise. Not a lively, warm, or friendly atomosphere. You better indicate your meal choices by the deadline unless you want to get a sharp reminder to do so asap. So if a tight regimen makes you comfortable - go for it. The place is unusually expensive for the area; expect all extras: a cup of coffee in the afternoon, internet access, etc to cost extra above average. In sum, despite the attractive setting, the place feels not warm or welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Icaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icaro

Address: Seiser Alm, Piz 18/1, 39040 Alpe di Siusi, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Alpe di Siusi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alpe di Siusi
#7 Family Hotel in Alpe di Siusi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Icaro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolomite peaks and mountain willows with a fascinating flower variety: high mountain emotions for every needs. Our Hotel Icaro induces its summer guests to discover the typical fauna & flora with a rich offer of Alpine activities and in winter everything revolves around snow sports just outside the door. Mountain sports and relaxation with a unique panoramic view. Hospital atmosphere and a modern equipped wellness area belong to the Hotel Icaro as well as excellent 5 course menus for dinner with typical South-Tyrolean and Mediterranean specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Icaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Icaro Alpe Di Siusi, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Icaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.