We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Santa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albergo Santa Maria to your Saves list
Albergo Santa Maria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Plammas 30, 08040 Santa Maria Navarrese, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
IL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

The hotel is very friendly and is very convenient to walk around or travel in the area.
Staff are very nice. Family room is a bit crowded for a family of 4.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
38
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Two & half drive from Cagliari thru the mountains was fun! Make sure you book a hire car in plenty of time as they are in limited supply at the airport and a taxi costs 220 euros each way. The Hotel is set in a quite street a short walk from the white pebble beach, where you can use the Sunbeds/Umbrellas. I found the the breakfast buffet limiting as I'm wheat intolerant but everything was fresh although my partner found the rolls and pastries repetative, We missed a mini-bar fridge and the hairdryer never got very hot, so drying my hair took ages.

However, that's being extremely picky, because as mentioned the staff are the gems in this hotel. They are extremely friendly and accomadating. We often saw the staff helping beleagured parents with their offspring without being asked and nothing seems to much trouble. Valerio is a welcoming host who must never sleep as he was available morning noon and night. The Hotel is immaculately clean and tidy; the rooms simple but well presented.

We have a rule never to eat in Hotel restraunt's as inevitably they are the dearest and worst food we encounter. But the S. Maria is the exception that breaks the rule. The food was better prepared, better presented and better value for money than the offerings in the town. (The Maitre D even sent a english speaker to check if we wanted desert as he knew we didn't speak much Italian.) For the best steak in town chose the Hotel S Maria.

Brits are suffering from the poor exchange rate of £ to the E$ this summer. Eating out is not cheap - expect to pay £25 per head for steak/chips/salad plus small beer & small bottle of water. In the town you will be charged 2E$ per person cover charge for a basket of bread. (I found it really annoying to pay £2 for something I can't eat).

There is a very good Pizzeria at the top of Via Plammas - about 200 metres from the Hotel - IL Pozzo is good value for money and we recommend the walk from there to the look out over the town. Its worth the 700 metres for the view - and its free!

In the town all the restraunts seem to have the same menu. The Trattatoria La Fontana never had any steak, but would recommend the Swordfish and Tuna.The service is often variable if you don't speak fluent Italian or German. Don't think there are any chickens in Sardinia as we never saw any on the menu anywhere.

The boat trips (33E$ pp) are a good day out, but there is little shade so make sure you've got plenty of high factor cream. The snorkelling was best from Cala Mariolu and quite poor at Cala Luna.

Santa Maria Navarrese is like stepping back in time - whole families come together to meet up there to spend time together in a quite little resort. Everyone is polite and well behaved, no lager louts or Union Jack shorts to be seen. You can get by with very little Italian, but will be well rewarded if you make the effort to use even a few phrases.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Albergo Santa Maria is a great place to stay in this town. It is nestled in the hills which makes it a quaint, quiet and charming place to stay. We read about this place in the New York Times and were a little skeptical but 100% enjoyed the stay. Not only was the stay great but both Velerio and Chiara helped us to book as well as worked at the front desk. They were very kind and very very helpful. The breakfast was very good and the food here was definetly better than the other restaurants that we ate at in the town. The rooms very clean and a good size. We had a balcony in our room which was also very nice. We would definetly stay at this place again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

I am just back from 5 days in Sardinia. Flew into Alghero late on monday night and picked up our car at the airport. Was a bit nervous about the drive across the island to S.Maria de Navaresse in Golfo di orosei. Turned out to be a long drive but the roads are really good and well sign-posted.
The hotel is basic but lovely. The staff is really friendly and ready to help at any time. Brekkie outside in the shade is definitely a plus !
I'd really recommend to take a boat trip along the coast. We picked the company that has a litlle hut on the way to the harbour. They were lovely and even tho they couldnt speak english, they made us feel really welcome. Lunch on board was definitely worth the extra 15e (sea food salad, gamberoni spaghetti, cheese, wine, cakes, coffee..).
Also, best place for cocktails is Toma ...sitting on the balcony overlooking the sea!
Having driven around a good bit of Sardinia, i believe the east coast is the nicest and less spoilt part of the island. brush up on your italian tho because majority of tourists are italian and hotels and restaurant have very little or no english at all.
it was great... wish i was back there now ! :)

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

We spent one night in this hotel. The town is charming, built in a steep hillside just by the sea. Very tidy and pittoresque. Hotel itself is located in the hillside 500 metres from the beach. Entrance to the hotel is through a rather big terrace pergola where the breakfast is served. Room are just fine, and the price is justified in my opinion. Service is good, staff speaks english.

  • Liked — The charming town around us and the no-nonsense lodging of this hotel.
  • Disliked — Shower space was really crammed. One needs a bit more room for taking a shower.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Santa Maria

Address: Via Plammas 30, 08040 Santa Maria Navarrese, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Santa Maria Navarrese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria Navarrese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Maria Hotel is a modern building featuring 37 comfortable and cosy rooms, each with en-suite bathroom and air conditioned. At our customers disposal there is an elegant garden, a private parking, private beach 200mt far from the hotel, gym, internet point and Wi-Fi and a restaurant serving traditional local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Santa Maria Navarrese
Albergo Santa Maria Santa Maria Navarrese, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.