We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nascar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nascar Hotel to your Saves list
Nascar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Pedras, 08040 Santa Maria Navarrese, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A beautifully renovated and tastefully decorated hotel, with simple comfortable furnishings. Our room on the top floor had views of both the sea one side and the mountains on the other. We stayed for 10 nights as we had wanted somewhere quiet to purely 'chill out' and this was the perfect spot. A few minutes walk to the beach, loungers and parasols provided by the hotel free of charge, lovely warm clear waters and perfect weather. We ate at the restaurant on 3 occasions and found the food very good and also good value. The buffet breakfast was excellent...from the freshly squeezed orange juice (do it yourself) to a variety of freshly made coffees. There are also plenty of Pizzerias a short walk away which we also tried for our evening meal. We hired a car so were able to get out and about easily, the caves (Grotta su Mamuri) are well worth a visit. The staff were excellent when my husband was taken ill and needed hospital treatment, from calling the ambulance, acting as a translator with the doctor and then ordering a taxi to bring us back to the hotel and being there to meet us. The next day they offered to bring breakfast to the room for him. It was so reassuring to have this support. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel either for a short or a long stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Most reviewers are very positive about this hotel, and our experience confirmed their sentiments. The hotel is tightly run; everything is in good order; the breakfast buffet includes the bacon and eggs that comfort the travelling British; and above all the sisters are exceedingly helpful. The hotel is not actually on the beach, but the beach is very close.

If you stay at the Nascar, be sure to take an excursion on the trenino verde. This under-advertised narrow-guage railway climbs into remote and magnificent parts of the Sardinian mountains. Travel as far as, say, Gairo and then hike among the forests and nouragues (http://www.sardegnaambiente.it/j/v/874?s=3&v=9&c=6713&ids=11) before returning by the evening train. A more celebrated hike is the descent from Golgo to Cala Goloritzè: the beach is indeed magnificent (though stony). However, you need stout shoes, a generously sized beach towel, and a good 2 litres of water for the 2-hour return ascent; and you must be pretty fit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights as part of our 2 week tour of Sardinia. We had a good room on the top floor with a view of the sea. Despite initial concerns about the hard flooring, we found the room and hotel generally to be very quiet and comfortable - there were no children staying there, which I think made a difference. Not sure whether this is hotel policy or luck!

The staff were incredibly friendly and praised my attempts at speaking Italian to the heavens which was very flattering!

We made use of the local beach where the hotel had reserved loungers and umbrellas and did a number of beautiful drives into the mountains. Most of the local towns in this area (including Santa Maria) are pretty small, so there is not a huge amount to see - we were ready to move on after the 4 days.

We ate at the hotel one night - the food was very good, but sadly eating outside we were bitten alive by the insects, which also put paid to future attempts to sit and drink outside.

Overall, this was a quality little hotel and we enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southerners
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble for the sisters who run this hotel, and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left 4 days later, we were well looked after, and felt refreshed and relaxed. The rooms were lovely with fantastic beds, linen and en suite facilities, so that we all slept very well. The restaurant was fantastic, so that we ate there two out of three nights. Highlights were the beef, pasta, mussels, lemon sorbet with prosecco, gnocchi, I think we managed to try everything on the menu, and we're never disappointed, and the wine recommendations were just right. We enjoyed an all sandy beach about 20 minutes away, as well as hiking for 2 hours to reach a stoney beach with crystal clear turquoise water to swim in. To sit outside under the pine trees, on the terrace with a pre or post meal glass of wine or beer, was very relaxing. The roads over the mountains were fantastic, and we will definitely be returning for a celebratory long weekend at some stage.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Really enjoyed staying here. This hotel represented the best value that we had experienced so far in Sardegna. The rooms are lovely, we had the one you see on their website, at the corner of the house overlooking the street and also took the room adjoining for our daughters. The quality of the beds, linens, furnishings etc. was much higher than anywhere else we had stayed.
Also the food in the restaurant was simple and of a high standard. The wine list is very interesting and Stefania is well informed on local wines. Sardegna is producing very high quality wines and Stefania knows a lot about the boutique wineries around the island.
The hotel is run by 4 sisters who care about the standards set here and are always available to offer advice and assistance. They all appear to be multilingual; speaking fluent English, French and of course Italian and Sardu. This would be the place to stay if in the region.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Hotel Nascar
This family ran Hotel is owned and ran by three of the sisters that own it. All helpful, attentive and speak French and English. We were on Honeymoon and wanted a quiet room .We went for the Gloroizte room which at first glance was not a quiet room as it is situated on the corner of the Hotel facing a main road and over-looking the Hotel restaurant. But we stayed in the room and with the windows closed and the air conditioning on slept ok. Nothing like seeing the sea and watching the sun rise whilst sitting on the loo. Corner bath with shower and fresh towels daily this room/ suit was superb. The food in the restaurant was superb although some items were a little over priced when compared to other places but we didn’t have much choice on an out of season honeymoon but were never disappointed with the food.
Pictures of Hotel on the internet do not show you the main road it is sat on. On a hill so cars rev there engines when going up. But no problem at night just from 7ish to 6pmish.
Grounds of Hotel very nice as pictured however it's like sitting next to a motor way at times.
We got bitten to death at this hotel due to ants in our room and in our bed - we simply got directed to the pharmacy.

Room Tip: get one at the back so you can your windows oopen at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed for 9 days and was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from 'superior' to 'executive' with a huge patio/private sunbathing area as well as all the usual luxuries. The local knowledge, help and advice is invaluable at this family run hotel who genuinely want to help you have a good experience of this part of Sardinia and want your feedback. The area remains clean (the inhabitants are very proud of their village/church and 2,000 year old tree); unspoilt by the predictable trappings of attracting foreign tourism. Access to the coast/local beach and boat trips are provided or conveniently arranged. The food at the hotel is exceptional, if a little pricey (compared to the rest of the village) but the sisters are only too pleased to direct you to other local establishments/culture and traditional quisine. The only reason we have not given the hotel a full 5 (and somewhat guiltily) is because our fantastic room and patio was immediately above the kitchen and we were treated morning and evening (until in excess of 11.30 p.m.) to the noise of the kitchen swing doors banging to a rhythm of 4 dum, dums and this proved to be intrusive as well as an early wake up call. Apart from that an exceptional small hotel with a lot of attention to detail, comfort and genuine Sardinian hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nascar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nascar Hotel

Address: Viale Pedras, 08040 Santa Maria Navarrese, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Santa Maria Navarrese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Maria Navarrese
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria Navarrese
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Maria Navarrese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nascar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the most delightful corners of Sardinia, at just 50 meters from a crystal blue sea, in the center of the charming village of Santa Maria Navarrese. The hotels is one of the most ancient buildings of the village, built in local granite at the end of 19th century and totally renewed in 2008, in a contemporary Sardinian style. The 12 rooms are tastefully decorated with local materials as wood and granite. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, direct dial telephone, mini bar and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nascar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nascar Hotel Santa Maria Navarrese, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nascar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.