We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Chiassetto

Save Saved
You added Il Chiassetto to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Chiassetto
Via Lauretta 2, Bolgheri, Castagneto Carducci, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Bolgheri
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay & had a thoroughly wonderful time. The room we stayed in was beautiful & spotless. The people who own it were lovely despite us speaking very little Italian & arriving late in the night due to car problems.

Breakfast at Bottega di elana was also fantastic & we were offered far more than just one drink & a croissant that other reviewers have complained about.

We paid €100 a night & thought this was very reasonable for the quality of accommodation, breakfast & the absolutely gorgeous setting. We only hope we can return sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
meldola
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

More than an actual B&B I would describe this as a room with a very special view...despite some of the older reviews I have seen here I can only say the room was perfectly clean and the "very" mini bar in place and functioning, as was the TV which looked brand new. The room was not large, but charming and gave on to a small garden with well and the entrance to the town. We arrived Sunday in a town full of tourists but awoke Monday morning to birds singing and only the occasional voice of one local chatting to another ... it seemed like a different place.
The breakfast is at the bar over the road - we had a cake, coffee and juice but were asked if we would like anything else. It was very relaxing and gave us a chance to see the charming town of Bolgheri in a different light....before going off to taste some of the best wines in the world. I would not recommend it for a long stay, but charming for a night or two. I might add that the man meeting us for the keys had a long wait as we were late, but he was friendly and smiling when we eventually arrived.

Room Tip: Probably better on weekdays if you are looking for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

They charched 120 euros for the doubleroom, instead of 100 euros as on the website mentioned. This was too expensive for what they offered. Unfortunately we couldn't speak enough italian, so we couln't complain.
Poor breakfast in comparison to other b&b in Italy (just a croissant and something to drink). In front of our room it was very loud in the late night. Comfy double bed. Shower was very bad (sometimes very hot water, sometimes very cold water, not enough pressure on the shower head, seal was broken). Was good that we could have our bikes in the entrance, so they were save. Decoration in the bed room was nice, the cleaning service in the morning was attentive (additionally pillow, fold up clothes)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Cosy and friendly tiny b&b in the heart of Bolgheri. Value for money

Room Tip: room on the front side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Expansive price 90 euros (after discussing, could have the room for 70 euros) for one night/one person : very small bedroom, sheets WERE DIRTY, fridge was out of office AND empty, TV didn't work, the room (in front of the entrance of the town) was SO NOISY at night and early in the morning, poor breakfast in a café nextdoor included just a small croissant with a coffee... I think it is a really BAD ADRES to stay in Bolgheri !!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Chiassetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiassetto

Address: Via Lauretta 2, Bolgheri, Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Castagneto Carducci > Bolgheri
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Bolgheri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Il Chiassetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Chiassetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.