We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello delle Serre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castello delle Serre to your Saves list
Castello delle Serre
Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights at Castello delle Serre (May 10-12, 2013). Simply put, it was incredible! I emailed back and forth with Shelley for a couple of months prior to our arrival and she always replied promptly and was very helpful answering any and all questions I had. I booked our stay as a surprise to my girlfriend and Shelley made sure that we had a bottle of prossecco and 2 glasses waiting for us in the room when we checked-in. As it turned out, I proposed to my girlfriend that afternoon (she said yes!) and spending a couple of days at Castello was the perfect way to celebrate! I highly recommend the Tower Suite. It's expensive but worth every penny. We especially had a great time sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine enjoying the sunset.

Both Antonio and Shelley were wonderful hosts and helped us out with anything we needed (include great recommendations of what to see and do in the area). The food was great and the castle is beautiful. We can't wait to go back soon!

Room Tip: Definitely book the Tower Suite. Best room in Tuscany.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
266
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of May and wished we could have stayed a week – Castello delle Serre was a highlight of our trip and the hospitality is unsurpassed. We stayed in one of the newly remodeled suites and everything was comfortable and the beautiful bathroom was a real treat. Breakfast every morning was leisurely and we thoroughly enjoyed the stories from other guests and the tips and stories from Salvatore, Antonio & Shelley. From the very moment we arrived we were welcomed and made to feel “at home” in this beautiful castle. The grounds look amazing, though during our stay it was too cold to use the pool or dine outside. I hope to return and can’t recommend this place enough. We did not get to enjoy one of the dinners that we read about on this site, but don’t miss dinner at the “Farmhouse” nearby – one of the best meals of our time in Italy. Don’t think - just book if there is availability!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Castello delle Serre this past May 19th & 20th. What an incredible experience for our first time in Tuscany. The hospitality from our hosts Salvatore, Shelley & Antonio was the best you could ever ask for. It's location is perfect for day trips to wineries, and towns like Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino and Siena. We happened to be there on the last day of the "Festa di Ciambragina" Medieval Festival. That was very cool, as we walked around drinking wine, enjoying food, and watching the festivities right outside our room from inside the castle. We'll be sure to stay at Castello delle Serre again when we return to Tuscany!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have been to Tuscany many times and stayed at many fine properties, but this is the only hotel I have revisited 3 times. Just too good to miss.
Unique experience to stay in a 14th century castle at the peak of a small town in a beautiful section of Tuscany. (Note that castle has an 18th century facade but parts go back to the ninth century and possible earlier.) Many furnishings are antique.
Salvatore and his son Antonio and wife Shelly are terrific hosts. They are Italian American and have spent the last 20 years restoring this elegant castle. They delight is showing off the castle and the restoration. They were in the restaurant business and if you are lucky you can join in one of their dinners. They bring a very personal touch.
BTW we toured some spectacular bedrooms and public areas which are nearly restored and may possibly open in the fall. There was no spa but there is a great pool and pool area.

Room Tip: Ask as they may be added several newly restored rooms later in the year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed at Castello delle Serre as part of a food and wine tour of Tuscany with V Sattui Winery. The scenery of this area is breathtaking. I thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the castle provided by the owner, Salvatore, as well as the cooking demonstration and dinners on the outdoor patio while watching the sun set. As luxurious as the grounds appear, the staff also maintain an informal, friendly, welcoming type of atmosphere. Salvatore, Antonio, and Shelly could not be more friendly people. It was like we were living in a fairytale! We stayed during the Festa di Ciambragina so at night we were able to see this festival from the castle walls above the village. It was an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We came to the Castello as part of a large group for a touring vacation and left feeling like family. The Castello is a beautiful historic site and the owner and his families passion for it shine through in every detail. The location is ideal, sightseeing and wineries are just a short car ride away. We enjoyed every minute of our time there and will be returning again. Make sure to have extra time for pictures as the Castello is a beautiful subject with gorgeous vantage points everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in May and were very happy with our choice. The place is beautiful and very well maintained. We had rain and cold weather but that did not hamper our good time. The family that owns the place are so nice and will try to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello delle Serre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello delle Serre

Address: Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme > Serre di Rapolano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Serre di Rapolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello delle Serre, a historical castle converted to B&B Hotel is located in the heart of Tuscany. The castle is just a short drive from all major points of interest, such as Chianti, Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Arezzo, Cortona and Florence. The property functions as an upscale B&B, offering luxurious accommodations, all with a private bathroom, air conditioning, swimming pool, pool bar, stunning views and private parking. Breakfast is served daily and occasional dinners based on a minimum head count. We welcome you to come and experience sophisticated elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castello delle Serre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Delle Serre Hotel Serre Di Rapolano
Castello Delle Serre Serre Di Rapolano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello delle Serre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.