We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle Hotel in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello delle Serre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castello delle Serre to your Saves list
Castello delle Serre
Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Castle Hotel in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friends recommended this bed & breakfast hotel and they couldn't have given us better advice. It was such a memorable stay and definitely the place I would like to choose for my honeymoon. Not only was the family that manages the property more than helpful they were a joy to be around. We enjoyed all of their recommendations for dining experiences, highlights of the area, and which wineries to visit. They also have a wonderful wine selection so we enjoyed picking a wine from their cellar (a former water cistern converted into a cellar...so unique) and then enjoy in the grand salon in the evenings. The location was great, rooms were spacious, loved the bathrooms, and overall just loved staying in a castle hotel! This is definitely the place to stay in Tuscany to really get the true feel of the culture, the food, the wine, the land, and the people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
269
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I’m not the sort of person that normally writes a revue. I have travelled to many places in the world but I had such an amazing experience during my one week long stay at Castello delle Serre I thought I would give you all my 2 cents worth. From the moment we booked we had amazing customer service. Shelley was so helpful on email with any questions we had. Once we arrived the place was magical even better then in the photos. The place is visually extraordinary and has a medieval romantic feel to it. The staff are brilliant, easy going, helpful and kind. They all bent over backwards to make us happy and made us feel very special. Also everyone is fluent in English which is a big bonus if your Italian is limited to ciao (like mine). The rooms are stunning very clean, spacious and quiet I didn’t hear any noise. We had a great view from the window. The wifi was free and the signal was always strong and fast and not once did it cut out during my entire stay.
Sal made some wonderful meals during the week and I’m still thinking about the delicious coffee we had at breakfast. We really did have such a relaxing week. The staff are so helpful with advice about day trips and things to visit to cooking tips. They are happy to share information. They are genuinely all just lovely people. By the end of the week they felt like family to us and I was really sad to leave. I honestly having nothing bad to say, I cant fault anything and i would love to go back. If you would like to experience Tuscany then this place is a MUST!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The castle was more beautiful then in the pictures. Was expecting it to be the other way round. Shelly was extremely helpful especially before our arrival always answering our calls promptly. Her and the entire staff treated us like family. It was a very special trip.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had the best experience at the castle ever. The location was great. The staff were wonderful. I can not wait to return. Highly recommend to anyone looking at staying at a real castle in Tuscany. Simply mesmerizing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived at the castello after our son's wedding in Cotignac already on Cloud Nine. This beautifully restored castle with the most gracious hosts brought us to Cloud Nine Plus! We stayed in the tower suite and immediately relaxed on the terrace enjoying the sun (June), the peacefulness and the fantastic views. Salvatore and his family did an amazing job restoring this property; keeping its charm while adding all the modern amenities one could hope for. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed without being cluttered. The bathrooms were equally comfortable. Every window in the suite had a magnificent view. As beautiful as the castle was, the bonus was in meeting Salvatore, Shelley, Antonio and Fabio. THEY are what made this trip and this choice of accommodations perfect and memorable. They were all extremely helpful and charming; took care of everything (including parking the car) and gave wonderful suggestions for day trips and meals outside of the town. We were fortunate to enjoy dinner cooked by Salvatore which was one of the most delicious meals of our trip. We were so lucky to find this spot and to enjoy the company and hospitality of our hosts and look forward to returning. If you choose this very lovely Castello delle Serre, not only will you be thrilled beyond expectations, but you will not want to leave! For two days we did live the" sweet life"! A great BIG thank you to the family for making us feel so spoiled and so welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Castello delle Serre during our honeymoon, and it was the most incredible hotel/B&B experience we've ever had. Every aspect of our stay was phenomenal, from the incredible location, to the fact that it was a beautiful castle, to the modern rooms, to the awesome pool, to the delicious meals, to the extremely warm and friendly hosts! Shelley and Antonio made us feel welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived, and Salvatore's homemade dinner was the highlight of our time there. The dinner is a must-choose option! Dinning with guests from around the world while enjoying stories from Salvatore was a night we'll always remember. If you're going to Italy, plan your trip around Castello delle Serre!

Room Tip: If you stay here you will have a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Thank you for making our honeymood so special! First let me say that the property is like nothing we have ever seen before. This castle is in a small medieval village, yet it still has the secluded country feel, without being stuck miles from civilization. Our room had incredible views of the valley bellow, it was clean, full of light and had a large modern bathroom. It was explained to us that the property had been restored from its previous state of abondonment, we even where showed a few areas that are laid out for future restoration. The castle proved not only to be very comfortable, but also the ideal home base for touring the many hill top towns and wine areas of Montalcino and Chianti. We also enjoyed the thermal baths in the village next to the castle on one day when we just felt like being lazy. Despite all these wonderful qualities that made Castello delle Serre the perfect place to spend our honeymoon, the most impressive of all was the genuine warmth and hospitality of the owners. Thank you Shelley for all your help with organizing our travel. Thank you Sal for sharing your stories with us and to everyone else for making us feel so welcome and like part of the family!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Castello delle Serre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello delle Serre

Address: Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme > Serre di Rapolano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Serre di Rapolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello delle Serre, a historical castle converted to B&B Hotel is located in the heart of Tuscany. The castle is just a short drive from all major points of interest, such as Chianti, Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Arezzo, Cortona and Florence. The property functions as an upscale B&B, offering luxurious accommodations, all with a private bathroom, air conditioning, swimming pool, pool bar, stunning views and private parking. Breakfast is served daily and occasional dinners based on a minimum head count. We welcome you to come and experience sophisticated elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castello delle Serre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Delle Serre Hotel Serre Di Rapolano
Castello Delle Serre Serre Di Rapolano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello delle Serre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.