We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Dolce Vita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello delle Serre

Save Saved
You added Castello delle Serre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castello delle Serre
Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“La Dolce Vita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived at the castello after our son's wedding in Cotignac already on Cloud Nine. This beautifully restored castle with the most gracious hosts brought us to Cloud Nine Plus! We stayed in the tower suite and immediately relaxed on the terrace enjoying the sun (June), the peacefulness and the fantastic views. Salvatore and his family did an amazing job restoring this property; keeping its charm while adding all the modern amenities one could hope for. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed without being cluttered. The bathrooms were equally comfortable. Every window in the suite had a magnificent view. As beautiful as the castle was, the bonus was in meeting Salvatore, Shelley, Antonio and Fabio. THEY are what made this trip and this choice of accommodations perfect and memorable. They were all extremely helpful and charming; took care of everything (including parking the car) and gave wonderful suggestions for day trips and meals outside of the town. We were fortunate to enjoy dinner cooked by Salvatore which was one of the most delicious meals of our trip. We were so lucky to find this spot and to enjoy the company and hospitality of our hosts and look forward to returning. If you choose this very lovely Castello delle Serre, not only will you be thrilled beyond expectations, but you will not want to leave! For two days we did live the" sweet life"! A great BIG thank you to the family for making us feel so spoiled and so welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
246
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Castello delle Serre during our honeymoon, and it was the most incredible hotel/B&B experience we've ever had. Every aspect of our stay was phenomenal, from the incredible location, to the fact that it was a beautiful castle, to the modern rooms, to the awesome pool, to the delicious meals, to the extremely warm and friendly hosts! Shelley and Antonio made us feel welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived, and Salvatore's homemade dinner was the highlight of our time there. The dinner is a must-choose option! Dinning with guests from around the world while enjoying stories from Salvatore was a night we'll always remember. If you're going to Italy, plan your trip around Castello delle Serre!

Room Tip: If you stay here you will have a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Thank you for making our honeymood so special! First let me say that the property is like nothing we have ever seen before. This castle is in a small medieval village, yet it still has the secluded country feel, without being stuck miles from civilization. Our room had incredible views of the valley bellow, it was clean, full of light and had a large modern bathroom. It was explained to us that the property had been restored from its previous state of abondonment, we even where showed a few areas that are laid out for future restoration. The castle proved not only to be very comfortable, but also the ideal home base for touring the many hill top towns and wine areas of Montalcino and Chianti. We also enjoyed the thermal baths in the village next to the castle on one day when we just felt like being lazy. Despite all these wonderful qualities that made Castello delle Serre the perfect place to spend our honeymoon, the most impressive of all was the genuine warmth and hospitality of the owners. Thank you Shelley for all your help with organizing our travel. Thank you Sal for sharing your stories with us and to everyone else for making us feel so welcome and like part of the family!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The abmiance, the rooms, the service, the food, the location, the price OUTSTANDING !! We are going back. Sal and his family are gracious hosts. The food is outstanding and the castle is romantic, mysterious, beautiful, relaxing and emerces you in the culture of Tuscany. It is not a hotel it is an experience that needs to be lived.See you soon Sal
Ed ans Ann Davies

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great and have enchanting views of the Tuscan countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

On our honeymoon we stayed at the Castle and it was fantastic. Shelley and Antonio (owners) were fantastic hosts. We were actually the last guest of the season before they closed up until the spring. Since the place was quiet they invited us to dinner one night and took us to a local place in the next town that ended up being one of our favorite restaurants all trip (Rome, Florence, Venice). No english was spoken so they helped us order. A few bottles of wine and 4 courses of food on top of their company and conversation is a part of the trip we won't forget. I'd like to go back and spend more than 2 nights there in the summer time. The pool area was great but it was Nov during our trip so typical fall weather. The region has so much to offer. We went with no plans and they gave us ideas for places to drive to in the region. Even provided some good restaurant recommendations for the second half of our time in Florence and Venice. 3/3 on their recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July for 6 nights. The service was great, rooms were out of this world and the location was also perfect. A huge thank you to Salvatore and Antonio, but especially Shelley that really helps out with anything you need. They suggested restaurants, places to visit and even called cooking schools for us. The castle is gorgeous! Pictures aren't misleading at all! It's actually quite spectacular in person. Can't wait to go back!
Hanna and Marco

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent three nights at the castle. We wish it could of been three weeks. When we arrived they were so welcoming. We were treated in such a first class, professional manner. The castle and the grounds are gorgeous. Make sure you sign up for the dinner. You will have the best home crafted meal of your life. The staff feals like family and so helpful. We met really wonderful people that were also staying there. Great location for daily side trips into the countryside. When we go back to Italy, we will stay here. We miss them. Pat and Pam

Room Tip: Castle tower is the ultimate stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello delle Serre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello delle Serre

Address: Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme > Serre di Rapolano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Serre di Rapolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello delle Serre, a historical castle converted to B&B Hotel is located in the heart of Tuscany. The castle is just a short drive from all major points of interest, such as Chianti, Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Arezzo, Cortona and Florence. The property functions as an upscale B&B, offering luxurious accommodations, all with a private bathroom, air conditioning, swimming pool, pool bar, stunning views and private parking. Breakfast is served daily and occasional dinners based on a minimum head count. We welcome you to come and experience sophisticated elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Castello delle Serre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Delle Serre Hotel Serre Di Rapolano
Castello Delle Serre Serre Di Rapolano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello delle Serre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.