We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castello rocks Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello delle Serre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castello delle Serre to your Saves list
Castello delle Serre
Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Castello rocks Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've known Salvatore since his days in Sun Valley, Idaho in the 90's. Staying at the Castello with both Sal and Antonio was epic--outstanding food, wisdom and accommodations. I highly recommend this property to any discriminating Tuscany-bound traveler.

Room Tip: Ask the proprietors for their advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
262
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our time at Castello delle Serre was definitely the highlight of our Italian vacation. I was visiting with friends for the first time and the owners made us all feel so comfortable and welcome. The setting is breathtaking and the accommodations are perfection. If you have the opportunity to take part in a dinner at the castle during your stay, it is not to be missed! I have plans to return and would recommend Castello delle Serre to anyone traveling to Italy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Castello Della Serre rests on the Hills and in the quaint village of Rapolano overlooking the valley of Siena and Tuscany.

Salvatore, his son, Antonio and Shelly are the Proprietors of this wonderful Castle. Though born in Italy, they lived many years in the United States are fluent in English. It truly is like being at home with them.

Within the heart of Tuscany and Siena, Antonio's directions and a 1/2 hour drive, will take you to wonderful amazing cities and towns such as Cortona and Siena. The roads are wonderful to drive.

With Salvatore’s lifetime experience in Hospitality; he, Antonio and Shelley magically has your stay effortless. From Tuscan style rooms, breakfast at poolside and an espresso or cappuccino, it just doesn’t get better. For those having to stay connected, Salvatore has a PC and free WIFI for you to use.

Who needs a watch!! A walk past the church on every half and on the hour, you will hear the bells of the church echo through the town! You can feel and sense the hundreds of years as say, “Buon Giorno” to older ladies walking the hilly streets. It gives me goose bumps as I relive my time at Castello Delle Serre!

Grazie!! Salvatore, Shelley and Antonio!!

Room Tip: Because each room is different, when you call, they will be so very happy to share the Castle with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Castello delle Serre to celebrate the wedding of our dear friends. Together with a large group of friends we occupied all of the properties rooms.
The reservation and logistics for our trip were all effortless thanks to Shelley and her help.
Together with the wedding party, Shelley, Sal and Antonio planned and co-ordinated every detail of our stay including dinner at local restaurants, tours of local attractions and of course drinks and dinner in the fantastic setting of the Castello by the pool.
The room we stayed in was magnificent with a spectacular view of the Tuscan hills.
Would happily recommend staying here and the hospitality of the friendly host family was a real highlight.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were on our honeymoon in Tuscany and found the Castello delle Serre through the online reviews and could not have been happier. Castello lives up to its reviews. First, the owners/staff are wonderful. They are just nice hardworking people who do everything in their power to help you enjoy your stay. The property itself is lovely. Our room was a good size with an incredible view of the Tuscan countryside/sunset.

They have a magnificent lobby with WiFi and a large outdoor terrace with trees and a separate covered area near a swimming pool where we spent a lot of time with wine and espresso. After our days out, it was nice to come back to Castello, sit outside, enjoy a glass of wine and relax, read, or write postcards. They had onsite parking which was fantastic and easy once we learned where it was.

The staff was incredibly helpful to us. We were lost getting there (GPS problem) and Salvatore talked us in even though (our fault) it was incredibly late. Antonio, Shelly, and Fabio helped us with our heavy bags even though we were far past the late check in time and even brought us a bottle of wine.

Antonio made a few dinner reservations for us and both he and Salvatore had excellent recommendations for what to have. When we were there, they also offered dinners twice at Castello (they don't do this every night). It was definitely worth it. We had two very good dinners -- it was also a very relaxing evening since we did not have to go out. Each morning, they offered a continental breakfast that consisted of delicious pastries, fresh fruit and other breakfast standards (e.g., juice, coffee/espresso, cereals, yogurt, etc). The breakfasts were among the best I've had in European hotels.

I thought the location was charming. There's not a ton to do in Serre di Rapolano itself, but it is a charming town with nice people and there are plenty of places to eat within a 10-15 minute drive. We chose it as a central location in Tuscany for traveling around. It was perfect for trips to Chianti, the Crete Sense, Volterra, Siena, Orvieto/Civita di Bagnoregio, etc. It's also very close to Montalcino and Montepulciano. We did find ourselves wanting to spend more relaxing time at Castello, however! Castello is also just minutes from a highway which takes you to Siena to the Northwest or to the A1 which takes you to all points south (Rome, Naples, etc.).

On our next trip to Tuscany, we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife, two teenage boys and I had a wonderful stay at Castello delle Serre. The castle and grounds are calming and attractive. The town is not touristed, but is an easy drive to anywhere in Tuscany. Most importantly, Antonio, Sal and Shelly are wonderful hosts. They are able to cater their recommendations to a wide variety of interests. Their "concierge" service is better than any concierge service I have received in any 5 star hotel. Make sure you enjoy a dinner prepared by Sal; it was our best meal in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This being my third trip to Italy and being of Italian descent, Tuscany and Castello delle Serre is one of my very favorite European areas.

After a long, tiring trip from California, what a thrill it was to arrive at an ancient castle built in the year 800, in the town of Serre di Rapolano. I was greeted and charmed by the Gangale family, Salvatore, Antonio and Shelley during my five day stay.

Through Shelley and her knowledge of Italy and the local Tuscan area, she helped plan my daily excursions. Her warmth and friendliness contributed to my extraordinary visit to beautiful Tuscany. Sal and Antonio kept me mesmerized with their knowledge of Tuscan history and Sal's Italian heritage stories. Fabio added to my knowledge of the beautiful Italian language.

My room and bath were large and very clean and attractive with all the necessities. I travel extensively and all my expectations were exceeded.

The Gangale castle is about a 20 minute drive from Siena. If, in the future, you are planning a trip to Tuscany, I highly recommend a stay at Castello delle
Serre located in the small town of Serre di Rapolano.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello delle Serre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello delle Serre

Address: Piazza XX Settembre 1, 53040 Serre di Rapolano, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme > Serre di Rapolano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Serre di Rapolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello delle Serre, a historical castle converted to B&B Hotel is located in the heart of Tuscany. The castle is just a short drive from all major points of interest, such as Chianti, Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Arezzo, Cortona and Florence. The property functions as an upscale B&B, offering luxurious accommodations, all with a private bathroom, air conditioning, swimming pool, pool bar, stunning views and private parking. Breakfast is served daily and occasional dinners based on a minimum head count. We welcome you to come and experience sophisticated elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castello delle Serre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Delle Serre Hotel Serre Di Rapolano
Castello Delle Serre Serre Di Rapolano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello delle Serre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.