We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tornese

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tornese to your Saves list
Hotel Tornese
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Galliano, 36, 57023 Marina di Cecina, Cecina, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this lovely little town. The hotel was perfect - right on the water. We were exhausted and happy to find such a cute little place. You did have to call the front desk to get the AC turned on, but the temp was okay in the room and we had a balcony. The restaurant was very good. We were on the third floor, I believe and there was some sort of a restaurant/club above us and it was loud - but we were exhausted. If you are worried about the noise, just ask for a lower room or if there is anything going on above. Front desk staff was great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    144
    60
    21
    14
See reviews for
70
161
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel, good for business. Great Customer Service. rooms very good and comfortable. Walking distance from the beach and located in a lovely place. Amenities all around. Great food. You would enjoy your stayy even if you go there for business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We got here very late, as our GPS couldn't actually find the address. We were put in the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed at. Two of the lights in the room were out, so the room was very dark. Also, the phone didn't work so we couldn't call the front desk. To turn on the a/c, you had to call, and if you opened the window, it shut off automatically. In the morning, we realized we had no view whatsoever. Breakfast was good with great coffee. The ocean was just around the corner, so we walked down the beach afterwards. However, with the booking fee, we ended up paying the most for this hotel out of our entire trip, and it was so not worth it. Best to find a nearby B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Excellent hotel, rooms very good and comfortable. Staff very friendly, only too willing to help. Very clean, comfortable beds, restraunt very good. Location very close to the sea. Good cafe/bars close by small assortment of shops. Beach within walking distance although there is a charge. Public beach very good at San Vincenzo.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mere, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel Tornese is an excellent hotel for every kind of people: family with kids, older couples, ... I allready visited it tree times and I always have a nice stay over there.
I'm always very happy about service, hotel room and most of all the lovely dinner in the evening! Every day I look forward to the menu in the restaurant with it's great view over the coast, and every evening I'm amazed about the fine menu! The food is absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

During our Rome-Firenze-Cecina-Rome trip we picked Tornese as our hotel in Cecina, Tuscany.

The breakfast is worse than at comparable hotels in Rome and Florence. The dinner is better, but the best are small local family restaurants on the second line of the streets in Marina di Cecina.

A/c is adjusted only by calling the reception or opening windows/main door. Never seen a system like this before. Basicly all the furniture is far from the past century, the bathroom is ok. Moreover we were moved to another room later where the A/C didn't operate well and was working even when it's off. So for the A/C to stop you have to keep windows open, which is a nightmare because the place is very crowded at night and there are small cafe with child amusement rides adjacent to the hotel.

Also booking in advance (6 monthes ahead) may not work for you as my arrangement for a top-floor seaview room with balcony turned out to be a forest view room with no balcony. The "mistake" was aknowledged and they offered a free dinner for one night but that's hardly an equilizer for not being able to dry beach towels and enjoy the view and the sun in the morning. Be it a mistake or not, as I've seen many cases when arrangements over email were changed in favor of a more valuable client.

One more disturbing thing is that whenever I need some little thing at the reception, there is always a lovely chit-chat about weather, life, etc with somebody for 10 min at least.

Upon the checkout I was given an invoice with a Chianti wine in it, which I didn't have. Apparently errors are seemed to be a common sense there.

An ok hotel but I'd rather use another place to stay next time.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

the room is 'adequate' for an overnight. but at 5;9" i barely fit in the bed and my husband had to hang off the bed, b.t.w. the beds were in two different rooms. it was like a small cabin on a cruise ship.

Room Tip: look at the room before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tornese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tornese

Address: Viale Galliano, 36, 57023 Marina di Cecina, Cecina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Cecina > Marina di Cecina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marina di Cecina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tornese 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the sea, a few steps from the Tuscan hills rich in history and the famous art cities of Tuscany. A trendy hotel ideal for family holidays, romantic weekends and business stays. The hotel has a grill restaurant on the ground floor and a panoramic restaurant reserved for the guests and the ceremonies. Spacious rooms with sea view and beautiful suites with jacuzzi. free high speed wi-fi and parking with video surveillance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tornese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tornese Hotel Cecina
Hotel Tornese Cecina, Italy - Marina Di Cecina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tornese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.