We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tornese

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tornese to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tornese
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Galliano, 36, 57023 Marina di Cecina, Cecina, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My nine year old sons and I have just spent the past two nights at Hotel Tornese, Marina di Cecina, Italy. Unless you want your visit to a perfectly charming, Tuscan coastline village ruined by your hotel stay, DO NOT BOOK INTO THIS HOTEL!
When we arrived to check in, there were two ladies at the front desk, deeply engrossed in personal conversation. After I stood in front of them for at least five minutes, they turned their attention to me with a shared look as if I had just drowned their puppy. That should have been my warning. They were brusque and totally devoid of smiles, greetings, pleases or welcomes. I speak Italian, but that did not gain me any favors. During our two night stay, I dealt with six members of the staff. There was not a smile to be had amongst them.
After that experience, we found our room. It could not have been more unlike the photos on the hotel's website. Every photo on their site shows clean, modern rooms, most with balconies overlooking the sea. We had a tiny, dingy room with an obstructed view of the parking lot. Their website is completely deceiving. From the outside of the building, there could only be two out of the forty-two rooms that might resemble the photos. There was scarcely room to walk around the beds in our "deluxe triple". The bathroom was old, moldy and the shower rod fell down each time we used it. I asked to be moved to a room that somewhat resembled their website and they told me they were fully-booked.
But I have yet to mention the real problems! We chose this hotel because of the sea views (not available), the free internet in the rooms and the air conditioning (and because it is rated #1 in Cecina on TripAdvisor--come on gang, let's be a bit more discriminating!).
The internet did not work at all the first day. I telephoned the front desk several times and made as many visits. The rude staff simply stated that I did not know what I am doing.......Finally, 24 hours into our stay, the manager informed me that the hotel's password had been changed and that I had been given the wrong one. No apologies. Even then, the WiFi connection dropped out every five minutes or so......
Then, there is the LACK of air conditioning. Our room was so hot the first night, not one of us could sleep. The next morning, as we headed out for the day, I pleaded for a technician to check our room's air conditioner (individual units but controlled at the front desk). When we returned to the room on our second afternoon, it was still sweltering. With another trip to the front desk, I convinced the manager to come with me to the room. He entered and pronounced that the room was perfectly normal and was no more than 21 degrees centigrade. He then said he would send his technician with a thermometer to prove me wrong! Charming. The technician arrived about an hour later and the thermometer showed 30 degrees. The technician dragged in a ladder and proceeded to dismantle the unit. He was a "guest" in our room for the next two hours with no regard for the inconvenience to us. My sons missed their much needed nap and we all missed our dinner reservation (I wasn't going to leave this man alone in our room).
This morning, we were anxious to check out. I remarked to the unsmiling lady that the technician had imposed upon us for two hours but did fix the air conditioning, proving that we were without air conditioning the first night. She declared that this was simply "impossible" and dismissed me completely. I then pointed out the problems with the internet and even the electronic gate to the paid parking. The manager joined her at this point to argue with me some more!!
I paid for the stay that defined "miserable" and vowed that I would warn fellow travelers against this unpleasant, unprofessional, third-rate hotel. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niccostates, Proprietario at Hotel Tornese, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Good evening and thank you for the time spent for the review.

How you can see we do not respond to reviews because every customers has the right to express his disappointment.

I will be much "shorter" than you:

A guest who booked a double room and comes in hotel with 3 children in high season I don't think that needs some answers.

Next time take care of your family, not of your money.

Regards

Niccolò D'andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    135
    56
    21
    14
See reviews for
65
154
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A group of us stayed here on a cycling trip in May. The staff were helpful and the room clean and convenient. We spent the morning setting up our bikes in their carpark and they were very hospitable and tolerated people running in and out of the hotel all moring to wash theri hands. The breakfast was one of the best I had in Italy with excellent pastries. I left my jacket in the cupboard and the staff found it and posted it to me in the UK for no charge. This is quality service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Incredible location in frot of the mediterranean sea. Employees always polite. Complete and tasty breakfast. Very recommendable

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We arrived late in town without a booking out of season!!! We were given "the small room" but only after the staff insisted we see it first. The room was small but had a sea view, openable window and ensuite. It was clean and help yourself breakfast was included in the tariff. We were very happy. Ate in the hotel pizza restaurant as the main dining was booked out for a convention. Great meal followed by a walk along the beachfront.

Room Tip: parking off street available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had a great experience back there in Cecina, Tuscany.

It was probably one of the best hotels in this category.

The position of the hotel is even better. Just a couple of foot steps from the beach and the marina. The employeers are friendly as well.

In addition I would like to mention the panoramic view cafe in top iof the Hotel.

The best views at the beginning of the night with al those beatutiful lights,




Abbiamo avuto un'esperienza molto piacevole a Cecina, Toscana.

Molto probabile il migliore nella loro categoria!

Distinti Saluti,

Fam. Feenstra from The Netherlands

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We arrived in the evening, after a passage from Corsica to Livorno, where the hotels were all booked - so we were happy to find accomodation at short notice at this place, not expecting more than the bare minimum, but an essential for us was the parking for our car on the hotel grounds. The parking was efficient and safe, and the young lady at the reception was exceedingly pleasant. The room was good, absolutely nothing to complain. Since we arrived just for an overnight stay in late October, we did not have a chance to research the food offerings in town, but took advantage of the restaurant Elisa on the ground floor of the hotel. We understand that there is another restaurant normally open during the high season, but this was closed, but we were extremely pleased with the food offerings in the restaurant - the manager went out of his way to recommend various items on the menu: we had a mixed seafood antipasto to share between the two of us, consisting of smoked salmon on toast, mussels in the shell, another smoked fish atop tomato slicees, warm calemari, 3 slices of herring and greens, it was wonderful. For the main corse, we had a fisherman's swordfish atop aubergine slices topped with cooked diced tomatoes and steamed seafood filet with artichoke carpaccio and grand padano cheese slivers - to round it all out, we had a half liter of their own white vermentino wine of excellent quality, and 25cl of the red house wine, and together with a cappuchino and a limoncello, we paid only around 50 euro for the two of us - all of these offerings were absolutely perfect, we enjoyed the ambience, the food quality and the pleasant service and would highly recommend the dinner in this restaurant. Our only regret was that we couldn't avail ourselves of the set menu, which looked great, but had to be pre-ordered. The breakfast was a nice ordinary Italien fare, nothing to rave about but definitely also noting negative to report.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have just stayed with a group at this hotel and found the staff extremely helpful and friendly as they have been on other visits. The people I was with also sang the hotel's praises hence our return visits, and we are coming back next year. But, of course, none of us tried to get served outside the well advertised breakfast times, unlike the illiterate Canadian traveller who thought her ridiculous behaviour was reasonable. I can promise you whatever else you will not be let down by the staff and in terms of value for money there is no better choice

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tornese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tornese

Address: Viale Galliano, 36, 57023 Marina di Cecina, Cecina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Cecina > Marina di Cecina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marina di Cecina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tornese 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the sea, a few steps from the Tuscan hills rich in history and the famous art cities of Tuscany. A trendy hotel ideal for family holidays, romantic weekends and business stays. The hotel has a grill restaurant on the ground floor and a panoramic restaurant reserved for the guests and the ceremonies. Spacious rooms with sea view and beautiful suites with jacuzzi. free high speed wi-fi and parking with video surveillance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Tornese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tornese Hotel Cecina
Hotel Tornese Cecina, Italy - Marina Di Cecina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tornese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.