We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tornese

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tornese to your Saves list
Hotel Tornese
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Galliano, 36, 57023 Marina di Cecina, Cecina, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Heywood, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We arrived late in town without a booking out of season!!! We were given "the small room" but only after the staff insisted we see it first. The room was small but had a sea view, openable window and ensuite. It was clean and help yourself breakfast was included in the tariff. We were very happy. Ate in the hotel pizza restaurant as the main dining was booked out for a convention. Great meal followed by a walk along the beachfront.

Room Tip: parking off street available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    144
    60
    21
    14
See reviews for
70
161
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had a great experience back there in Cecina, Tuscany.

It was probably one of the best hotels in this category.

The position of the hotel is even better. Just a couple of foot steps from the beach and the marina. The employeers are friendly as well.

In addition I would like to mention the panoramic view cafe in top iof the Hotel.

The best views at the beginning of the night with al those beatutiful lights,




Abbiamo avuto un'esperienza molto piacevole a Cecina, Toscana.

Molto probabile il migliore nella loro categoria!

Distinti Saluti,

Fam. Feenstra from The Netherlands

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We arrived in the evening, after a passage from Corsica to Livorno, where the hotels were all booked - so we were happy to find accomodation at short notice at this place, not expecting more than the bare minimum, but an essential for us was the parking for our car on the hotel grounds. The parking was efficient and safe, and the young lady at the reception was exceedingly pleasant. The room was good, absolutely nothing to complain. Since we arrived just for an overnight stay in late October, we did not have a chance to research the food offerings in town, but took advantage of the restaurant Elisa on the ground floor of the hotel. We understand that there is another restaurant normally open during the high season, but this was closed, but we were extremely pleased with the food offerings in the restaurant - the manager went out of his way to recommend various items on the menu: we had a mixed seafood antipasto to share between the two of us, consisting of smoked salmon on toast, mussels in the shell, another smoked fish atop tomato slicees, warm calemari, 3 slices of herring and greens, it was wonderful. For the main corse, we had a fisherman's swordfish atop aubergine slices topped with cooked diced tomatoes and steamed seafood filet with artichoke carpaccio and grand padano cheese slivers - to round it all out, we had a half liter of their own white vermentino wine of excellent quality, and 25cl of the red house wine, and together with a cappuchino and a limoncello, we paid only around 50 euro for the two of us - all of these offerings were absolutely perfect, we enjoyed the ambience, the food quality and the pleasant service and would highly recommend the dinner in this restaurant. Our only regret was that we couldn't avail ourselves of the set menu, which looked great, but had to be pre-ordered. The breakfast was a nice ordinary Italien fare, nothing to rave about but definitely also noting negative to report.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have just stayed with a group at this hotel and found the staff extremely helpful and friendly as they have been on other visits. The people I was with also sang the hotel's praises hence our return visits, and we are coming back next year. But, of course, none of us tried to get served outside the well advertised breakfast times, unlike the illiterate Canadian traveller who thought her ridiculous behaviour was reasonable. I can promise you whatever else you will not be let down by the staff and in terms of value for money there is no better choice

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

the staff is rude and will try to make you pay for everything!!!! A fortune for Wifi. They also told us that we had to pay for breakfast when it was actually included in the price. They are not flexible at all, they close the breakfast at 10am and if you go down a few minutes later, well, it is close so: your problem!!!! since when are italians on time? isn,t it the country of slow food?
Do yourself a favor, don`t go there. there are much better places, cheaper with friendlier staff..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Languedoc Rousillion, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

A nice hotel but the beaches along this coastline are grey & stoney.Breakfast was very basic - orange drink -not juice & no toast.But the main problem with this hotel is the staff.The young man on reception barely grunted when we arrived in the pouring rain & when asked if the rugby was on anywhere (the hotel does'nt have Sky TV) he was less than helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogvliet (Paesi Bassi)
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Tornese for one night in december 2009. The room was nice and clean, the bathroom clean and well-equipped, with a separete toilet.
The staff was polite and friendly.
The weather was bad, but we could imagine this hotel in the summer, surrounded with all the shops you need and the sea at a (very small) walking distance...

The next morning we left for Rome, with a nice memory of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tornese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tornese

Address: Viale Galliano, 36, 57023 Marina di Cecina, Cecina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Cecina > Marina di Cecina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Marina di Cecina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tornese 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the sea, a few steps from the Tuscan hills rich in history and the famous art cities of Tuscany. A trendy hotel ideal for family holidays, romantic weekends and business stays. The hotel has a grill restaurant on the ground floor and a panoramic restaurant reserved for the guests and the ceremonies. Spacious rooms with sea view and beautiful suites with jacuzzi. free high speed wi-fi and parking with video surveillance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tornese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tornese Hotel Cecina
Hotel Tornese Cecina, Italy - Marina Di Cecina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tornese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.