We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the bar but restaurant was average.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrenjoey House

Barrenjoey House
1108 Barrenjoey Road, Palm Beach, Pittwater, New South Wales, Australia
02 9974 4001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Palm Beach
Price range: $19 - $75
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
narrabeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved the bar but restaurant was average.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Bar staff were very attentive and helpful even though it was busy. Restaurant staff were less attentive and service was slow. Waited a long time for drinks. Little things like water on the table would have been nice and the specials menu repeated what was on the main menu. Had the seafood platter and was underwhelmed. Chips were few and undercooked. Crumble wasn't had a doughy topping. Love the decor and some staff were lovely but was expecting service and food to be better. Would go back for drinks and nibbles.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    46
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great views, lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It's a gorgeous restaurant - so tastefully decorated.

We were there on a very rainy Sunday for lunch and it was packed. With a party of 13 we waited 1.25 hours before they took our order. They were really busy and staff were trying to keep up. Very noisy - a bit off putting at first but then we settled in and had a lovely lunch. I think it would be great to eat at one of the tables off the lounge area (if you have a smaller group) - would be much quieter with a great view. In summer tables out the front would be nice too.

We all enjoyed our meals very much! There was something great on the menu for everyone. Wait staff were all friendly and helpful - perhaps they were just grossly understaffed on the day - but it was a full house! They do need to do something about the noise factor.

Been there many times - will be back for sure! An old favourite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place always turns out good food. The restaurant has had a bit of a re arrange with a larger lounge area, and the dining area off to the left. It does not feel quite as intimate as before which is a shame. The decor is pleasant and the music a trifle loud now probably due to the fact there isnt anything to absorb the sound. The staff are very pleasant and extremely laid back but attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Saved by the view !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

After having previously spent a relaxing afternoon here having a few drinks in the sun, a group of my friends and I decided to come back for a late Sunday afternoon lunch. One of my friends had commented quite often on how amazing Barrenjoey House was, so as I had been out of the country for some years, I was very much looking forward to chowing down on some good seafood.

Without doubt the first thing that hits you when you arrive is its setting. Perfectly positioned opposite the beautiful waters of Pittwater with its unique and quite stunning interior design, you can't help feeling like you are in for a wonderfully unique experience. We chose a table by the large open windows which gave us the stunning views, but the intense summer sun. For what ever reason, the service on this day was a shocker. It was a public holiday an although it was only half full, I may speculate and suggest they may of been short staffed. We started with some drinks an an order of calamari e zucchini fritti and the chips with garlic. The Margaritas we ordered were disappointing. You could taste everything except the tequila. The calamari was superb an it didn't take long before we decided to order some more. The chips were mixed with roasted garlic and chilli. I do love my chips. but have grown tired of the generic frozen variety that many restaurants serve. Given the class this restaurant has, I personally would love to have this dish done with fresh potatoes. For the main dish I ordered the Flathead fillets done ln beer batter. Sadly again I was disappointed. The filets were overdone and quite dry, but all round the dish looked very appetizing and was nicely presented. The service was slow and on two occasions we had to actually go to the front desk to ask for service. The one thing that ticked us all off was when we were asked if we could move to another table outside if we wished to continue ordering as they has another booking for a window table. Not impressed at all. All up we had a lot of fun, but the food and service did not come up to a standard I would of expected.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful seafood and relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a delicious meal here and what stands out the most are the chips with chilli, garlic, herbs and parmesan. DELICIOUS. The calamari was excellent, nice and tender. Service was good, weather was lovely and we had some wandering ducks and geese to keep us entertained. A very nice meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrenjoey House also viewed

Palm Beach, Pittwater
Palm Beach, Pittwater
 

Been to Barrenjoey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrenjoey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.