We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway from it all location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrenjoey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrenjoey House
Save
You added Barrenjoey House to your Saves list
1108 Barrenjoey Rd, Palm Beach, Pittwater, New South Wales 2108, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Palm Beach B&B and Inns
Main Beach, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great getaway from it all location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

An absolutely fantastic location, we stayed for only 1 night, come across Barrenjoey House on a day trip on a holiday from the Gold Coast, dined in the on site restaurant the food was beautiful and service was great. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend and don't mind making your own breakfast, all coffee, tea, juice, bread, jams, cereal and fruit provided in a shared small common kitchen / TV area, you will love it. Room was very clean, same rooms have an En-suite and the others have to share 2 large bathrooms but were very clean. Wished we could have stayed longer, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights at the end of a holiday to Australia late 2012. I was fortunate to have an en suite room (some rooms shared a bathroom) and a lovely view over the water. The location was great as you are on the 'main' road so easily accessible when using public transport such as the L90 bus from Sydney. It was however a very quiet road and was not disturbed with the window open. Stroll to Palm beach and a great playground nearby for children. Great food served downstairs, a little pricey if you are on a budget or have children but when looking at the area (multi-million pound homes in Palmie) and tranquility of the surroundings, It is to be expected. Very easy to travel elsewhere if required. The hosts were lovely and helped with my case even though it was evening and quite busy.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

On our way back to Sydney we enjoyed a nice drink and shared a nice dish. Great service and location.
This is a trendy place, perfect for a great stop over. We will try the hotel next as we love the Palm Beach/Avalon area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times, usually when we need overflow accomodation from a nearby house. It is small, stylish and simple. The rooms - perhaps 9 in total - are all white washed and very simply furnished. Overhead fans keep the heat at bay. Some rooms are ensuite and some share a bathroom.

Cold breakfast provisions - cereals, fruit, toast, ham and cheese - are left for the morning with guests gathering round a large shared table at whatever time suits them . This area doubles as a lounge and is the only seating area outside the rooms.

There is , of course, the lovely restaurant downstairs and the proximity to other local places with the prime position held straight across from the Palm Beach Wharf.

Rooms can be noisy as the walls are paper thin. Otherwise this place is a gem if you want a great location, and nice environment without the full 5 star extras.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

When we had a wedding at Palm Beach (at a different location), it was Barrenjoey House where we booked the accommodation (all the rooms above the restaurant and Frangipani Cottage for the newly married couple). With the logistical nightmare of organising a wedding we really stretched the Barrenjoey House staff to their limits. On the Saturday we were constantly asking for things, in particular, tidying up all our mess in the cottage after we had prepped and left for the ceremony so that when the Bride and Groom returned on their wedding night, they were greeted with an immaculate cottage with no sign of 12 people that had previously been there. On the following day, they kindly gave us all late check outs and 40 of us enjoyed a lunch with impeccable service and much needed kindness when my mother was incredibly sick - including offering to clean up one of the rooms upstairs so she could lie down. Barrenjoey House is expensive due to it's location and the rooms are on the small side, however, the true value is in the overall experience. The staff truly made our weekend as smooth and enjoyable as it could have possibly been! I only wish we had known they do weddings because we would have certainly booked there instead!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Frangipani booked and loved the overall look and location! Nice lounge room, beautiful bedroom and verandah just perfect! Bathroom is quite dated and kitchen is half equipped, had pans but no plates! Good selection of tea and coffees though! Breakfast delivery was at odd times and last day no fruit.. It's a nice place but perhaps $400 not the $520 price tag- you expect more! Reservations through email were short and unfriendly and when we arrived many engineering issues. Lunch in restaurant was ok- good food, service poor but we have had that experience for lunch before. Would stay again if price would be less, otherwise I have been to nicer places with better value for money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My Husband & I stayed here Sat night thanks to the generosity of our good friends. We had the Escape package, Accom, 3 course meal & breakfast. On arrival we were welcomed warmly & shown to our room, a small room with an ensuite on the side of the guest house. Not much of a view but cozy & warm.
The decor is a mix of eccentric well travelled Aunt's house & a scene from Casablanca. We loved it, it was quirky & full of personality. There was something to look at in every nook & cranny. We had a couple of drinks in the bar downstairs, the spot near the open fire was taken but we found a nice spot to watch the world go by, this was the start of a very relaxing night. The staff were warm & friendly and made us feel very welcome. The service at dinner was exceptional, very attentive with a relaxed air.
The 3 course meal was very good, too much food but we gave it our best shot to finish it. Bread, olive oil & marinated olives to start, then I had the Salt & Pepper squid; this was a very generous serving which I had to leave half, then the roasted Lamb & veggies for main. Both dishes were tasty & perfectly cooked. I tried Hubby's duck salad & Eye fillet again both very tasty. My husband is a Creme Brulee connoisseur, he gave it a 10, one of the best he has tasted. The wine list was varied & showcased great Australian wine. By the end of dinner we were stuffed, a walk would have been great but due to the rain it was a waddle upstairs to our room. Such a nice change to having to drive home after dinner.
Breakfast was self serve in the communal area, toast with homemade jam, cereal & coffee. We meet other people staying there & compared our dinner dishes, everyone agreed what a good time they had & how nice the food was.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barrenjoey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrenjoey House

Address: 1108 Barrenjoey Rd, Palm Beach, Pittwater, New South Wales 2108, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Pittwater > Palm Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Barrenjoey House Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrenjoey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.