We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbecks House B&B

Save Saved
You added Holbecks House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holbecks House B&B
Holbecks Lane, Hadleigh IP7 5PF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hadleigh B&B and Inns
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have now stayed three times at Holbecks House. We would recommend it to anyone, the house is beautiful, with lovely open fires. Very welcoming hosts who are friendly and accommodating, and even made us packed lunches at short notice. The breakfasts are great and they are very flexible when it come to the lovely evening meals. Highly recommended for a quiet stay in congenial surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryCoysh, Owner at Holbecks House B&B, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is always a delight having you both to stay and I am glad you enjoy Charlotte's cooking as much as I do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
45
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ealing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Holbecks in the spacious Constable Suite and were delighted with everything from the warm welcome from our host, beautiful setting, superb room topped off with delicious breakfasts. It's an ideal spot for visiting the area and it's many attractions plus good value for money and we very much hope to return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryCoysh, Owner at Holbecks House B&B, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the breakfast was up to scratch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Thoroughly charming hosts, nothing was too much trouble. A beautiful house & grounds, very clean, quiet & comfortable. Tips for other travelers. Hadleigh is a very nice place with a good choice of eating places. Holbecks House is ideally situated for visiting many other places of beauty & interest.

Room Tip: An experience as well as a wonderful place to stay. the house has a great atmosphere of a weekend in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryCoysh, Owner at Holbecks House B&B, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A definiately up-market B&B at a reasonable price. Very welcoming hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. I had a very comfortable room and bed and the breakfast was excellent and varied. Holbecks is a large country house enjoying a lovely setting in its own grounds and surrounded by fields but is only a 15-minute walk from the town. Very quiet and peaceful at night. My five-night stay passed all too quickly but I would be very happy to stay there again and would certainly recommend Holbecks House to other people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryCoysh, Owner at Holbecks House B&B, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank ou so much for your kind words. It was a delight having you to stay over Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Was thinking about writing a stinking review to put other people off booking. But the better part of me won out. Just.

Not really a b&b as I conceive it. More of a cross between a boutique hotel and staying with friends at their country home (would that I had such friends).

We were back in the UK for Christmas and New Year, mostly trudging between different parents/parents-in-law and wanted something a little bit special for a proper holiday. Holbecks House was perfect and exceeded our expectations (already high having read some of the earlier reviews).

The room was large, great views across fabulous (and accessible) grounds and a wondrous bed. Bathroom huge and luxurious. Lots of very thoughtful touches (really nice range of teas in the room, genuinely interesting books you can pick up and read, relaxing and cosy drawing room with sofas, torch if you want to walk into the village) that speak of hosts who really care about their guests.

And the breakfasts...I didn't think people really made that amount of effort any more. I suspect that the marmalades and jams may have even been home made. The fruit compote certainly was.

If you have any requirement to find a B&B within 10 miles of Holbecks house you would be crazy to go anywhere else. It is worth 20 mins of anyone's driving time. If you are looking for a quintessentially British experience in gorgeous countryside in the care of people who know how to make you feel comfortable and make the effort to put you at your ease, then this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryCoysh, Owner at Holbecks House B&B, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous and thorough review. You were lovely guests and I am so pleased we were able to offer you a respite from your extensive travels. Do visit us again when you are back in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A most stunning place. Wonderful comfortable accommodation - the Gainsborough Room is certainly worth choosing. The owners were warm and friendly and welcoming and the breakfast superb! We would certainly visit again and hopefully make a full weekend of it!

Room Tip: The Gainsborough Room if you want space, views and luxury bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryCoysh, Owner at Holbecks House B&B, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We would be delghted to welcome you back for a 'proper weekend'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Holbecks House is a stunning house in a stunning location, pretend you are the lord of the manor walking in your grounds. Being dog friendly was a real bonus with plenty of room for letting your pooch run. If you are looking for a quiet country stay this is perfect. Our suite would have comfortably kept a family of four with all rooms being generous, including the beautiful bathroom with the roll top bath. Perry was welcoming and helpful and the Lurcher puppy was enthusiastic and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryCoysh, Owner at Holbecks House B&B, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Lily the Lurcher is rather bigger than when you came and is very much ruling the roost! Would love to see you (and your dog) again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holbecks House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbecks House B&B

Address: Holbecks Lane, Hadleigh IP7 5PF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Hadleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hadleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holbecks House B&B is run from a historic 18th century country house surrounded by its own parkland. The house is filled with antiques and is extremely comfortably furnished. The 3 rooms included a twin bedded room with 2 large singles (or 1 Emperor sized bed) with its own sitting room and en suite bathroom with majestic views over the terrace and gardens. The 2nd room is a large room with a king size bed and en suite bathroom. The 3rd room is a double with separate private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Holbecks House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbecks House B&B Hadleigh, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbecks House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.