We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Inn at Ratho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bridge Inn at Ratho to your Saves list
The Bridge Inn at Ratho
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   27 Baird Road | Ratho, Newbridge, Edinburgh EH28 8RA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Newbridge B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great family Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Went for a Christmas Eve lunch with our daughter's family ( 3 young children). Nice location down by the canal in Ratho and with a warm , well decorated interior. Welcomed and shown to a table immediately- the young man serving us was excellent, especially with the young children. He also recommended some good beers for the older members of the party. Good choice of wholesome bar food- the pies were particularly nice with plenty of good quality meat. We all enjoyed our meals and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    50
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
54
81
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I love the bridge inn and tonight was no exception ..... My hubby had soup whilst I had Brie to start... Both were delicious! For our mains we both had fillet steak which was cooked perfectly and absolutely Devine!! The staff are brilliant and very friendly and we love that we can always take our dog, sabre, in for a drink (he has become a big lover of the Bridge Inn .... Not to mention the attention he gets)

All in all just fab!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have been very impressed with this excellent Inn. The location is very close to the city (of Edinburgh) yet is utterly charming and tranquil.

I needed a place with a good size car-park (towing a car-transport trailer), that offered a quality experience (I hate horrid hotels) and was priced comparably to a chain-hotel. I landed on my feet!

The welcome was genuine, helpful and warm. There was an open fire burning in the comfortable reception area. I was shown to my suite room which was well furnished with period bed and furniture, well decorated, maintained and absolutely spick and span clean. The bathroom was a very good size with large walk-in shower (again impressively, faultlessly clean too).

After sinking a proper pint I enjoyed a great supper, from the broad menu, of a pigeon and black pudding starter followed by venison steak and sausage capped by a creme brulee and espresso. I had a large glass of very well recommended red with the supper and a single malt to finish off with a further pint too. What a life!

Despite my room being above the bar area I did not hear any disturbance. The bed/mattress and bedding were super quality. I slept very well. I may have snored my head-off!

Breakfast was extensive and of a high quality. This was served by Pat who was warm and friendly (plus I understood had also so impressively prepared and cleaned my bedroom - championship standard!)

I have no gripes and can highly recommend the Bridge Inn as a luxury business hotel or certainly for visiting the city and surrounding country. The bill was most competitive.

Room Tip: Call the Inn to discuss your best choice of room or take a look at the website. I stayed in Bryce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you're staying at the Marriott Dalmahoy, dinner at the Bridge Inn is a must! It's a 5 minute cab ride and the food offers authentic and delicious Scottish fare from fresh local ingredients.

Although the food was delicious, the best part of the restaurant was the management and wait staff. They were extremely friendly and offered great insight into the menu as well as useful recommendations for other restaurants and activities in the Edinburgh area.

Collin, the manager, helped us with everything we needed including opening a bottle of dessert wine from his personal collection and gave us a ride home to our hotel. We were blown away by the service and experience at this restaurant.

I can't say enough good things about the Bridge Inn!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I ate in the bistro 2 weeks ago and have not stopped talking about the night since.

We have never felt compelled to leave a review before but given the impression left by the Bridge Inn felt we should break habit and write a few lines.

We both had scallops to start and have to say that i have never eaten better, they were plump juicy and just starting to caramelise, they came with probably the best black pudding i have ever eaten, a carrot and honey puree and smoked bacon & pea shoots. It would be worth a visit just to eat this starter on its own.

For mains I had venison, which was a delicately sliced piece of rare haunch and a punchy and course venison sausage with kale jus and very buttery mash. The dish was beautifully seasoned and very pleasing on the eye as well as the taste buds.
My better half had hake fillet which had been rolled in curry spices then wrapped in smoked bacon before being (i suspect ) roasted, it was served with cauliflower tempura and only what i can describe as a very neat little (warm) vegetable salad. The hake was really very moist and the curry spices seemed to blend really well with hint of smoke that had permeated into the fishes soft flesh. The vegetable salad was lovely and unexpected (not on the menu) allof the vegetables were firm and vibrant (not raw) and it was dressed with what i think was samphire and a selection of sweet micro herbs.

To finish off we shared a chocolate brownie which came with berry and beetroot compote. The brownie was unbelievably rich, up there with the best I have eaten (and the better half does make a mean brownie!)

Coffee was by Illy which pretty much assures you of a good cup and as expected it was well made and a fitting finish to a great meal.

I can't endorse this place enough and am looking forward to our next visit which i hope will be soon.

Room Tip: We didn't spend the night so can't comment on the bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Bridge Inn was recommended by my hotel, the Marriott Dalmahoy. I travel internationally for work and pleasure and if you are in the countryside of Edinburgh (approximately 30 minutes outside of Edinburgh) I would recommend eating every meal at The Bridge Inn. The Bridge Inn is located in the quaint town of Ratho. Upon pulling up and entry to the restaurant, the small pub it is just as one would hope for in visual appearance. The menu offers (vegetables and livestock) grown by the owners and represents a variety of choices for all taste palates. Our meals were excellent and the service we experienced was even better. We felt as if we were the only guest of the restaurant and the impression the service left on us, especially Collin (the manager) is still referenced today. Collin's knowledge of the menu and recommendations were impressive and appreciated and communicated in a very personal manner. He took the time and effort to recommend restaurants in Edinburgh (which were spot on) and even provided us a personal lift back to our hotel. Again, Collin heard our request for a cab and instead provided us a lift back home (for free). I cannot stress how much I would recommend The Bridge Inn for its food, atmosphere, but especially the service. Ask for Collin and his team (I don't know the name of our server but she was excellent as well) and you will be returning to the Bridge Inn time and time again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Was a last minute booking for a Wedding Anniversary lunch (No, not mine...my parents).

Great service, and a personal touch from proprietor who chats to all patrons to make them feel welcome.

Menu was nicely varied to suit a variety of tastes - and reasonably priced too.

Given it's next to a canal (hence the name) - good to see the do allow dogs inside too, but only in the bar area, which was pleasing for us and the dog as it was a cold day.


Would recommend a visit here to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bridge Inn at Ratho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Inn at Ratho

Address: 27 Baird Road | Ratho, Newbridge, Edinburgh EH28 8RA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bridge Inn at Ratho 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a stunning and picturesque setting on the banks of the Union Canal, the Bridge Inn is a unique pub and restaurant. The Bridge Inn is a wonderful place to visit, to taste some of our freshly cooked food, try some cask ales or sample from our expanding wine list, and enjoy a warm and friendly atmosphere and welcome. Wherever possible we use seasonal, Scottish, fresh, local produce, and everything is freshly prepared. We grow our own herbs and vegetables in a walled garden slightly along the canal from the pub. We have a small herd of saddleback pigs, and our menus often feature delicious home-produced pork on the menu. We use locally-shot game when it is in season. We always have a range of cask ales from breweries which we know throughout Scotland. We have had lots of fun selecting our wine list, which we have tried to make one of the best value wine lists in Scotland. And we currently have on a selection of over 20 single malts from around this beautiful country. We have now finished an ambitious renovation project that has transformed the Bridge Inn. We have created an atmospheric country pub in the 18th century part of the building with open fires and comfortable seating. We have altered the upstairs to create 4 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms. They each have a different feel, but each has its own view of the canal and surrounding countryside. The Bridge Inn won Best B & B by Visit Scotland's Thistle Awards for the East of Scotland. Finally our bistro alongside the canal has been upgraded and we have added a terrace alongside the building to make the most of our unique setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Bridge Inn at Ratho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Inn At Ratho Hotel Midlothian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Inn at Ratho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.