We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, fantastic staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Candied Walnut Eatery

The Candied Walnut Eatery
Kilnacourt House, Portarlington, Ireland
0578636360
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Candied Walnut Eatery is a new Dining establishment situated in Kilnacourt House, Portarlington, Co. Laois. Proprietor/Head Chef Barry Hayden serves Breakfasts, Lunches & Dinners at affordable prices. He uses only the finest ingredients to create his signature dishes. Fresh Coffees, Hearty Breakfasts, Daily Lunch Specials, Evening Dining. Our Customer Service is second to none. Our aim at The Candied Walnut Eatery is to have every customer leave satisfied & with a smile on their face!!
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

By far one of the best restaurants that Lapis has had to offer! I cannot get enough of this place, the food is Michelin star quality, as are the friendly and accommodating staff. Highly recommend a visit, even if just to taste the steak!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi LeanneandAndrew,
Thanks you guys for your great comments!!
'Best Restaurant in Laois'
'Michelin Star Quality'
Please say you are a Food Critic/Food Mag Editor!! ha ha..
Hope to have you dine with us again in the near future..
Best regards,
Dawn Hayden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    129
    28
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portarlington, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A much needed addition to Portarlington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have eaten breakfast, lunch and Sunday lunch here many times since it opened in August and have enjoyed every meal. I have yet to try the evening menu but a group of us are booked in for New Years Eve so I am looking forward to sampling it then. My favourite dish so far has to be the salmon, absolutely melt in the mouth. The service here was a bit hit and miss when it opened but in the past month it has improved immeasurably and I have to say it is absolutely perfect now. I look forward to many more meals here. A restaurant like this is a much needed addition to the town and I wish the proprieters all the very best.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Lollypops 12,
I see you are becoming quite the regular at The Candied Walnut Eatery & for that we are most greatful. Yeah the Salmon is proving to be quite popular.. It is rather good, if I do say so myself!! Hope New Year's Eve was enjoyable for you.
Hope to have you dine with us again soon.
Many thanks,
Dawn Hayden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ladies who lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Thought with the run up to christmas that it would be nice to have a bit to eat and a good of chat with a friend, the restaurant was nice. But not a great lunch time selection for a veg. After ordering a ceaser salad (no meat) what arrive did not impress me with regard to portion size I got about ten leaves of ice burg lettue with lot of dress and a couple of shaving for cheese and one piece of garlic bread, this with a tea and a coffee was just under €12. I must say I was not impressed. It was put me off going again, as it is over priced for such small portion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Feedme456,
I'm sorry to hear you weren't happy when you visited us recently. I have to say the Caesar Salad you describe doesn't sound like the one we have. Our Caesar Salad consists of Baby Gem Lettuce Leaves not Iceberg lettuce, Caesar dressing (obviously without the bacon bits as you are a vegetarian) served with a sour dough croute not garlic bread.
I take this opportunity to apologise if you felt the portion size wasn't what you expected.
Hopefully this wont put you off visiting us again in the near future and if you do and are unsatisfied with anything again I would ask that you bring it to the attention to one of our staff members immediately. They will be happy to rectify anything for you there and then.
Many thanks,
Dawn Hayden
Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oasis in the midlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Visited this excellent restaurant on a suturday evening without a booking. No problem as long as we were out in 2 hours. Lovely touches inc.sample home made soup and mulled wine on the house. Excellent food presented in a gourmet setting. Staff very friendly and efficient and one of the chefs genuinly inquiring if everything was ok. It was.... Keep up the good work as this type of quality restaurant was badly needed in the midlands, although I fear it will be hard to get a table if word spreads too far.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Phine Dublin,

Thank you so much for your great comments. 'Oasis in the Midlands', Wow!! You're very kind.. Sounds like we must be doing something right thank God!! The Mulled wine was a hit with all diners over Christmas & gave the restaurant a Christmassy feel!! Proprietor/Executive Head Chef Barry Hayden always tries to get to all tables to enquire if everyone is enjoying everything. He feels this is extremely important.
We look forward to having you dine with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Dawn Hayden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on a busy friday night unaware that you needed to book, but never the less a table was found for us and we were so glad. Staff were all so friendly and nothing was too much hassle, the food was top quality and by far the best in the area. Clean, quick, friendly and excellent food all at reasonable price...cant ask for more than that.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Katiebree,

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to post it on Tripadvisor.
We hope to have you dine with us again very soon.

All the best,

Dawn Hayden,
Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Candied Walnut Eatery also viewed

 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to The Candied Walnut Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Candied Walnut Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.