We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service with a great view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hungry Trout

The Hungry Trout
2 South John Street, New Quay SA45 9NG, Wales
01545 560 680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in New Quay
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are open to serve breakfast, lunch and evening meals, we also offer a set two or three course menu Monday to Friday, a traditional Sunday lunch which also offers a small selection of alternative choices. Our menus include fish, meat and vegetarian meals a selection of children's meals and we also offer freshly made Tapas on a Friday afternoon 3 -6pm. All our dishes are homemade and prepared to order and we are able to cater for all dietary needs
Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service with a great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We visited New Quay for a couple of days in June. We went for a late lunch to the Hungry Trout Restaurant, the food was lovely. Servers helpful & the view was amazing

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    47
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Having reviewed the menus at the Hungry Trout on a visit to New Quay earlier in the week, we decided to eat here on our final night away. Although we'd been warned we needed to book we risked not bothering and so were lucky to get a table just after they opened at 6 - at the back as you might expect but still with a reasonable view of the bay. After looking at the specials on the menu I was keen to try the coracle fished sewin, only to find that my partner and I had been given different menus - the sewin didn't appear on hers and proved to be off tonight. However the pan fried hake proved a very acceptable substitute, on a lentil stew, which was much pleasanter than it sounds. Vegetables and potatoes are included in the price. A generous portion of honey and ginger ice cream from the local honey farm rounded off the meal beautifully: I was driving so had mineral water but the rose was apparently very good. The lady in charge is professional and businesslike and the waitresses attentive and very efficient.
The setting of the Hungry Trout is gorgeous, overlooking the bay and a small park: my main complaint with New Quay is the fact that the pay-and-display car park charges until 9pm and similarly on-street parking is restricted to 30 minutes till the same time. Our observations indicated that this is widely ignored by those in the know, but no doubt the traffic wardens do the occasional swoop to catch people out. Are these places really trying to encourage visitors, particularly in the evening?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Excellent cuisine, impeccable service and vistas to die for.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
“FANTASTIC MEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was down staying with family & we decided to treat ourselves to a nice meal out so we went to The Hungrey Trout. we had a very warm welcome, a nice table tucked in the corner...
The menu is excellent & so freshly cooked. I had the scallops .... WOW & so fresh, then i had the Rack of Lamb but i dont like Sweet potatoes so i asked for chips instead then a friend was having steak with Roquefort Butter so i asked if i could have the butter on my Lamb as well & it was no trouble, the meal was amazing...

The wine list was vast & with 7 ROSE wines to choose from which is far more than most restaurants & will certainly be returning on my next visit !!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Superb food and wine with magnificent views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The title says it all - four of us had a lovely meal with 4 different starters and main courses and each were polished off with aplomb.
A lovely couple of bottles of red all added to an enjoyable evening

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Trout also viewed

New Quay, Ceredigion
New Quay, Ceredigion
 
New Quay, Ceredigion
New Quay, Ceredigion
 

Been to The Hungry Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hungry Trout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.