We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and warm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Lion Hotel

Black Lion Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Black Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Black Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Mill St | Ystrad Meurig, Pontrhydfendigaid SY25 6BE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice and warm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here with a few friends for two nights. The room was nice and warm and the shower was amazing. Breakfast was great with good quality sausage and bacon and filter coffee too. We ate in the bar/ restaurant each night great homemade food and a really good choice of beers. Dominic was the head guy and so warm and welcoming. He is really good at what he does and makes your visits personal. The area is lovely with lots too see in the area. We were 4x4 but there is the abbey near by the massive lakes with damms and buetiful scenery for walkers too. I think I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
27
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lovely part of Wales. Very much enjoyed my 2 night stay here and thanks to Dom for the friendly banter and excellent food. The rooms were very comfortable. Highly recommended and very, very good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Black Lion with a group of mates. From the first contact with Claire on booking to arrival some weeks later and meeting Dom, it was a first class experience. All the rooms were good, spacious clean and plenty of hot water. The bar area was first class and the food very good and great value. A hidden gem and happy to recommend .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A warm, friendly and genuine welcome as well as excellent value is at the heart of this historic inn just a mile or so from Strata Florida Abbey. Warm, comfortable rooms in converted buildings, close to a bubbling brook make for a great night's sleep. Waking to wild Wales and a hearty breakfast sets you up for the day if you're walking, cycling or just taking some time out in this characterful village. Rates are excellent, it's quiet and friendly and the tiny bar is extremely cosy. If you're seeking haut cuisine and hand plumped pillows strewn with petals then the Black Lion is not for you. Alternatively if you're after honest, hearty food, a quiet spot in an outstanding landscape and a great base from which to explore then this could be it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

It would be very hard to find a more relaxing and peaceful place in this area that has all the ingredients to make you feel content and happy. Dominic and Claire have a unique charm and ability to make you feel at home and to feed you well. The outside appearance belies the virtues of a lovely welcoming establishment with separate accommodation that offers you all the comfort that you could require. Within eighteen months I have stayed there three times and each visit has been a delight.
Michael White. Derby

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stopped over for a night on a long drive from Newcastle upon tyne to Lampeter, and enjoyed a really lovely, genuine, friendly welcome from Dominic. What a pleasure to stay somewhere so totally un-coporate, that's kept its unique character, run by someone who seems to take real pleasure in his work and in welcoming people. The food was a delight - that's quite something for 2 fussy vegetarians! - and the room well-equipped and comfortable. The only surprise: we were looking for a red building but arrived to find Dominic up a ladder painting it white!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Many thanks to Dominic & Claire for making us feel most welcome. We arrived quite late and the kitchen was kept open for us. The food served was excellent, especially the garlic mushrooms & the steak.....absolutely fantastic. To full to order desert !!!!
The rooms are warm, cozy & beds very comfortable. The accommodation is located in a separate building adjacent to the pub, so no noise from the pub giving a peaceful nights sleep.
I was travelling in a party of 8 males on a 4x4 off roading trip & I'd broken a prop shaft !!! Dominic was very proactive in helping me source a replacement prop shaft so I could get my Landrover back on the road & enjoy my day off roading.
Breakfast .....fantastic especially sausage & bacon, all washed down with lashing of tea & toast. Also, Dominic & Claire made us a huge packed lunch for the next day.
Oh, also....beer superb, well kept & poured. I'm a member of CAMRA & will be recommending the Black Lion in the accommodation & food guide.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Address: Mill St | Ystrad Meurig, Pontrhydfendigaid SY25 6BE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Pontrhydfendigaid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pontrhydfendig...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welsh country inn with seven tastefully decorated rooms and great food. Near Strata Florida abbey, Cors Caron and the Hafod estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.