We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seaview experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches & Cream

Beaches & Cream
Victoria Crescent, Cullercoats NE30 4PN, England
0191 2514718
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Cullercoats
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British, Diner, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Overlooking the picturesque Cullercoats Bay, Beaches & Cream is the perfect place to enjoy a cup of coffee and a cake or some delicious ice cream. The newly opened cafe is stylishly furnished and you will be made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff. Sit in the window and enjoy the wonderful coastal views.The cafe serves specialty coffees from Cafe Vinci as well as other hot drinks and delicious homemade cakes, the perfect accompaniment to a drink. There is even an old fashioned ice cream menu, perfect for the seaside. The ice cream parlor is the ideal place to get an ice cream and to sit out overlooking the bay or take a stroll along the seafront.Only 2 minutes from Cullercoats Metro Station..Come and See us
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“seaview experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

excellent place to have a snack or meal in lovely surroundings inside or outside over looking the north sea. The staff are very friendly and helpful -good choice menu of food and drink -
Prices are good too. Myself and other half have frequented this establishment either separately or together having a snack eg scone and latte or a meal both occasionals excellent.
highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    38
    19
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

my partner and i often go to cullcoats and tynemouth for a walk on a sunday afternoon we always stop at beaches and cream for afternoon tea this consists of a pot of tea and a sandwhich and cakes on a stand for 9.95 you get tea and 4 sarnies a scone with cream and jam and 4 small cakes it really is worth it. its excepionally clean inside the staff are very good and it tops our weekend off brillintly although the calorie count may be high. i have all week to get rid of them before our next little outing

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited on a busy Bank Holiday Monday. Managed to get a seat outside in the sun. Nice menu with lots of appealing options and we went for 2 afternoon teas and a chicken pesto panni. Slightly disappointed that we had to pay an extra 50p to change one of the sandwich choices as neither of us like egg mayo. Service was a bit slow but it was very busy, there was a huge queue for the ice creams all the time and as soon as a table was vacated someone else jumped in.
Very impressed with the afternoon teas, sandwiches were fresh. Scones warm and very tasty served with jam and whipped cream (shame it wasn't clotted) generous size portions of carrot cake, meringues, rocky road and a shot glass of sorbet. No complaints about the panni either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“One stop perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had intended driving far up the Northumberland coast on a sunny Sunday morning but stopped at Cullercoats for a morning coffee and got no further- unless you count a walk along the coastal route as far as Whitley bay.
Although it was busy the charming staff were efficient and were willing to chat to customers as they went about their work.
I had the most delicious cheese and chive scone I have ever tasted. There was cheese in every bite. The rest of the menu and the cakes on display looked pretty tempting too.
We came back to the cafe at about three in the afternoon to have a belated Sunday lunch- poached eggs on toast and a bacon and brie sandwich. Once again these were delicious. The outside tables were full by this time as the weather had tempted more people out but the staff dealt admirably with them. Tables were cleared quickly and nothing was too much trouble.
I look forward to crossing the Tyne again and even in winter I'm sure this will be a great place to sit and watch the sea. Perhaps we'll walk down to Tynemouth next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Cake with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Having visited Whitely Bay & Tynemouth on many occasions we decided to have a look around Cullercoats which has a Beautiful quiet sandy Bay. Its difficult to find a Parking place as its mostly permit around the area; however if you look around the area of the Queens Head Pub you will find a parking place.

The Café was crowded so we thought we would stop for refreshments; its lovely to sit outside with a cup of Coffee/tea and eat some of there delightful cakes or Cream Scones, no wonder the place was packed out.

In future we are going to Park in Tynemouth walk to Cullercoats take a break at Beaches & Cream and then walk back - one way of burning of the calories

Service was excellent and we will return on a regular basis.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaches & Cream also viewed

Cullercoats, Tyne and Wear
Cullercoats, Tyne and Wear
 
Cullercoats, Tyne and Wear
Tynemouth, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Beaches & Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches & Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.