We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Town Near Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abcoude

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abcoude to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Abcoude
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kerkplein 7, Abcoude 1391, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Abcoude
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Little Town Near Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Abcoude. The town was quaint and a nice break from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. The staff was very friendly and helpful too to provide us with transportation and local city info. Our room was very basic but it was very quiet and it was quite nice being right next to a canal with ducks. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
6
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've stayed here many times over many years and never tire of the comfort of knowing I'm in a wonderful small town that keeps bringing me back.

If you're looking for a five star pampering experience, keep going. The Hotel Abcoude is more about small town comfort away from the crowds of the big city.

The rooms are basic but nice but maybe because I come from so far away, I only use the room to sleep in. I'd much prefer to spend my time walking the town, or walking to neighboring towns and areas.

The train stop is a nice ten minute walk from the hotel for visits to A-dam etc so you really couldn't ask for much more convenience.

Shop three minutes away from your room at Albert Heijn for anything you need to nibble on, or visit the bakery just around the corner of the hotel.

There's two nice pubs in town too, heck there's probably more but I keep going to these two---both are a 3-4 minute walk from the hotel.

Abcoude makes a great base for a visit to Amsterdam and the Hotel Abcoude is a wonderful place to call home for as long as you need.

My last visit was for over a week and I wish I could have stayed even longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Abcoude itself is a lovely town, and the center of town is an easy ten-minute walk from the train station, situated about halfway between Amstelveen and Utrecht. The hotel, though, was less impressive.

The room booked for a night wasn't available, although that wasn't mentioned at check-in. Nor was the fact that the pre-paid WiFi (purchased at the front desk like many small hotels in Europe) didn't reach to the room in which I was staying. Nor was it mentioned that the room I was staying in was under construction. The website pictures must have come from a completely different hotel, as I can best figure it out, because the leftover crisps and portions of a Hindi newspaper made me think I was back in a smaller city in India.

Snapped a few pics, which I tried to upload via the stray WiFi signal I picked up by opening the window and leaning out to catch a signal from a nearby grocery store, but the rain precluded me from uploading them or a review at the time of the stay.

In addition, this is the only hotel I've stayed at in the past five years, anywhere in the world, that shows your full credit card number on the receipt. Not the kind of CC slip you'd want to accidentally drop somewhere...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here because we wanted to be able to travel in to Amsterdam, but were distinctly underwhelmed by the hotel. The receptionist seemed reluctant to find us a parking space when we arrived. We were allocated rooms in 2 separate buildings; the outer door of my block was self-closing and I did not have a phone in the room, which made it hard for us to meet up. My room was OK, overlooking the canal, but my son's was up at the top and very hot.

The receptionist assured us we wouldn't need change to buy tickets to Amsterdam; we did, as our cards didn't work in the ticket machines and it's an unmanned station. Not helpful.

I had breakfast the following morning and it was very uninspiring.

Generally it felt as though nobody really cared about the hotel and the service provided; I wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel was well located for us to stay two nights and walk the village and dine. We also golfed at a nearby course and walked back to the hotel. The rooms were clean and check in was easy. Parking is limited.
We enjoyed the breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

I have been here many times.
I love location, village and the hotel itself.
However, it has been recently renewed . The restaurant is no more as good as before. The dining room is modern and too easy . Food not same level as before. Plus I do not like fact that breakfast is not included. I will probably come back since I have customer closely and there are no other hotels in the area. But it is no more my top hotel in nl.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

the hotel was not the cheapest but since we were six (4 adults and 2 children) during the tulip festival and only wanted to spend a night near amsterdam, i booked 2 rooms. the rooms were pleasant. amsterdam was just like less than 30 minutes. Abcoude is a calm and pictoresque town. the breakfast buffet at €10 per personne could be more generous. we had to always ask the receptionist to do refils(coffee, orange juice, breads and hams)

Room Tip: don't hope to find a parking slot in the hotel grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Abcoude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abcoude

Address: Kerkplein 7, Abcoude 1391, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Abcoude
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Abcoude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abcoude 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Abcoude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abcoude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.