We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was what we expected.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zante Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zante Village to your Saves list
Zante Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alykanas, Alykes 29090, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Alykes
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It was what we expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived back yesterday from a week in Zante Village. There were 4 x of us. This was sold to us by Monarch Airlines as a 4* holiday, but after reading reviews and with a previous knowledge of Greek & Spanish all-inclusives, we expected 2-3* before we left and expected the food that goes with that.
Our air-conditioning in our room did not work but we swapped rooms with no problems and plenty of apologies, their customer service was 5* especially when we had a problem with a hire car, they got a full refund for us even though we had the car for half a day.
The place was spotlessly clean every day. Yes, the food was basically the same every day, but it was edible, you could have as much as you want and if they ran out of a dish, more was supplied. (buffet style). Good air-conditioning in restaurant.
The minibus down to the beach and back was a great free service, we used to bus down and walk back (40 x mins dawdle) our choice.
It is located in a lovely farmland area, there are bars dotted all the way down to the seaside (many have a pool and sun beds), most have sky TV for football lovers.
The hotel staff and the local people are lovely, very friendly and helpful.
The hotel pool was lovely and cleaned every morning, had plenty of sun beds).
Inclusive drinks were 'local' names, but that is the same in most inclusive places and very nice, bar staff were brilliant.
Entertainment was basic, but we thought it would be like this as we are technically off-season. (Disco one night; bingo; greek night with dancers). Sky in the lounge would have been nice, but this is quite a quiet hotel.
There were very few English people in the hotel, mostly Polish I believe (definitely not Russians!) and families.
We were given a feedback form which they wanted all guests to complete so they can make improvements.
My only real suggestions were to look at the menu for the food and the plumbing (but then, this is Greece!!)
Plus points were the location, the staff, the cleanliness, the drinks, the pool and the local people :o)

Room Tip: There are 3 x floors with no lift, so put in a preference if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    47
    38
    28
    29
See reviews for
69
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Zante Village. I had read the reviews prior to flying out and was apprehensive as to what i was going to find. I neednt have worried. Hotel was clean, room was clean, staff were friendly and i enjoyed the food. ....... and yes, i would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Me and my family just returned from 14 days at this hotel, muat say worst holiday we ever had
rooms more basic than basic 4 beds all in one room and a fridge. food dont even go there, drinks plentyfull but limited to very little.weather was great though and bar staff fantastic they were the only good things about this place might not have paid top doller but expect something decent.avoid this place very poor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I cant understand the reviews i have read about this hotel. Did you play top dollar for this hotel no ,so why expect the best .Allinclusive drinks are the same , made locally all around the world, did you pay top dollar no , so get a life you moaners.Hotel staff could not do enough for us. Receptionist Katie very helpful, outdoor bar staff Iglika very good & the loverly Emma helpful chatty made our nights, service was brilliant & the rest of the staff friendly & helpful, we had a wonderful time there. Our room was clean & tidy, pool cleaned every day, grounds were sptoless,& yes the food could have been better, but we did not starve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from this hotel which we went to purely to recharge the batteries. we had read all the reviews and were a bit apprehensive about what we would find. We arrived at 5.45am tired to be told that due to a plumbing problem our room was not available - this is the start I thought - but no the man was so helpful. He told us our room would be available from noon but we could have another room in an older block until then. He offered us breakfast which was laid out but we decided to go to bed. At 11am we were told our room was ready and it was large, spotless but on the 3rd floor, 909, but no lift. The hotel could not have been more helpful and gave us complimentary safe deposit box as well as a free trip to Zante town. The food was not the best but we never went hungry, and although the male waiters were very quiet they were very polite, but Iglika was great always had a word and was very friendly, she also worked the Pool Bar. Emma the 'Geordie' bar person was a scream in the evenings at the pool bar and she did the Reception at weekends, never saw her without a smile on her face. There were plenty beds around the pool and there was no need for towels to be put out early. The drinks in the pool bar were all right typical greek beer and local spirits but the measures were large. They did not have diet coke but did have coke zero and that was ok - the wine was dreadful we had it one night and was undrinkable so we stuck to spirits. Rooms were kept immaculate and towels and linen changed when required - even got clean bed linen 3 days running. We found it very relaxing just what we wanted but it is certainly not a family hotel as there is nothing to keep kids entertained. The grounds were a bit bare as the grass was quite burnt but the rain was due soon. All in all a nice hotel but the town has really gone down since we were last there 7 years ago with a lot of property closed
Did find a lovely bar, Bonkers, near the beach where they served a 'good' pint of Mythos and chips to die for, run by a lass from Manchester and her greek husband. We doubt if we will go back to Alykanas but if we do we will use this hotel

Room Tip: Our room looked onto the pool from the balcony but there was no excessive noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 10 days and have to say was so disappointed!!! The hotel itself was very run down, the rooms were basic and grubby!! We moved room at the beginning due to a noisy room with a bed that was literally on its last legs. The new room was not much better with the added bonus if a palm tree hanging over our balcony blocking the view! Hotel advertised as a family hotel!!! Definitely not for children unless non-English!!!

Food was dreadful, reminded me of school dinners, not a pleasant experience at all, you felt rushed, food was Luke warm and random!! All inclusive drinks nats pee springs to mind!

Resort very run down best experience was The Mill Bar, highly recommended!!!

Put me off Greece I'm afraid too say. If you are thinking of staying here take my advice - DON'T!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as two adults and 7 year old son 22/8/13 - 5/9/13. Was told this is a family hotel with a programme of day & night time activities. Was checked in by a stony faced receptionist and was given the key to the room (yes, still a key for a supposed 4 star hotel). We had room 506 which was just up 2 sets of stairs to the first floor. There was no lift available although there was a lift door. The room was basic but clean & adequate and a bit damp smelling, hairdryer worked fine and we didn't have any maintenance issues. There were birds nests outside in the corridor. A dog barked constantly throughout the 2 weeks we were there.
Food - absolutely awful. We've never seen such offerings in a hotel. Breakfast was over cooked boiled eggs, red miniature hot dog sausages (great for bait for fishing), beans & cooked ham on the cooked section. For cereal there were two types, the same type just different colours. There was also toast, jam, cheese & ham and breakfast was the only sitting you could get butter (we asked for some for lunch and dinner but were told they weren't allowed to give any out!!). For lunch it was feta, salad and a pasta salad and then there was the hot section which consisted of soup & bread (no butter), minging soggy fish, bony chicken, stifado which looked like something out of a dogs bottom, soggy chips which were all stuck together and hard cauliflower in vinegar. For pudding at lunchtime it was apples, plums and melon. Dinner was absolutely the same but there was sometimes chocolate mousse or jelly for afters if you got in there early enough. Anything that should have been hot was luke warm. There is absolutely no food for children at any sitting, not a chicken nugget or fish finger in sight - at a family hotel? If food ran out it wasn't replenished. At 8.20pm on the 3rd night of going in to the restaurant there was no bony chicken left for me to pick off for my son so we complained to the waiter only to be told 'no more'. We then complained to reception that there was no food for my son - they ordered and paid for a take away for him. If that's not admitting inadequacy I don't know what is. We complained many times and asked to speak to the manager but he never emerged, just sent a message through the receptionist to say, and I quote, 'if they don't like it then maybe they should find another hotel'. We looked at every sitting if there was anything for any of us to eat but it was the same every day so we ended up eating out and subsequently spent a fortune even though we had already paid for all inclusive. Snacks were cheese and ham toasties which you made yourself (no butter and they moved the salt & pepper away) but there was just 1 toastie machine that looked like it had never been cleaned and which often had long queues.
Drinks - dark brown white wine, beer or soft drinks could be served in a glass from the indoor bar at mealtimes & you could have spirits if you paid for them. From the AI at the pool bar you could get cheap branded gin, brandy, vodka & ouzo but no whisky and you could get beer & water (not bottled). There were no diet drinks at all (unless you paid) and all the drinks you could get were Lidl Freeway or Derby cola full sugar (great for kids!). We went to the supermarket and bought diet coke and tonic. Also at the pool bar you could have ice cream cones 2pm - 6pm then 7pm - 9pm (not sure why bother taking it in for an hour). There is a sign saying 'take away, queue here' - on one evening we intended to have a drink at the bar and sat down only to be pointed at by the man behind the bar who shouted, 'You, back of the queue'!
Staff - all but two of the staff (Emma & Iglika) didn't speak or interact with people. We eventually met with the owner of the hotel who was not at all interested that we were unhappy and dismissed us. The fact that the he nor the Hotel Manager does not respond to any comments on Trip Advisor speaks volumes.
Entertainment - there's nothing at all for adults during the day - no aerobics or volleyball or such like, and even less in the evening. The only 'entertainment' we saw was a poster for the Fast & Furious 6 film being shown and then the kids club (colouring-in during the day and kids disco at night) was all in Polish and nothing for English children.
English people we in the minority and most who we spoke to, especially those with children, agreed with what we said and were also unhappy that they had to eat out so much.
The only good thing is that there is a free hotel bus to the beach (beware of the pushers in who have no problem with pushing children over in order to get a seat on the bus).
The resorts of Alykes & Alykanas are low key but beautiful with variety of bars and restaurants and we ate at Vrisaki, Memories, Ponderosa, Nico's Place, Bekiris Grill House aswell as a couple of Gyros grill places all of which were really nice and reasonably priced. We got the hotel bus for 5Euros each to the waterpark and paid 45Euros for the 3 of us to get in - great day out, and took the 'packed lunch' from the hotel which consisted of a dry cheese & ham sandwich, an apple and a small bottle of water. We also went on the trip to the shipwreck which was also a great day out. We met some really nice people on this holiday and made ourselves have a good time despite the disappointing hotel. Would we return to this hotel? Not a chance - they haven't got a clue and at most we would give it 2 stars.

Room Tip: Get one at another hotel! Better to go self catering at the Alykanas Village as you'll end up SC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zante Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Village

Address: Alykanas, Alykes 29090, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zante Village 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Zante Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zante Village Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zante Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.