We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Trooper Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Trooper Inn to your Saves list
The Trooper Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alton Rd, Froxfield GU32 1BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Froxfield
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very nice pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great pub and friendly welcome from the owner (I think he has won awards for such things and well deserves them).

The lamb wasn't quite as it used to be but still OK, however the vegetarian dishes were poor. It's not hard to do an interesting veggie dish and they can be as good as meat dishes in the right hands but there didn't seem to be the interest here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
26
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hawkley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We are regulars at the Trooper. The service is great and very friendly. The staff go the extra mile even when the place is very packed and hugely busy. Steak is always good and their lamb is first class.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed at The Trooper for 2 nights this week. I was given a very small room on the top floor, about 10pm when i was settling down to bed someone in another room started having a shower, next to my room were the hotel water tanks and pumps....what a noise. The next morning I was going to get up at 8am but the water started pumping at 6.30am when someone else was having a shower. My bathroom had a bath but no shower; not great. I banged my head a few times.

I ate a couple of times in the restraunt, I found the food OK but very expensive. The first night in had seafood chowder, it was a bit runny so I asked for some bread, I was given a garlic cibatta, it cost £3.50 for two slices, it was so oily I had to wring it out. The second night I had a lamb shank for £16.50 and £3.50 for some chips. Then cheapest wine was £ 17.50 a bottle so I gave it a miss.

If the rooms was larger with no water pumps and the food and wine were cheaper it would have been excellent. I guest becuase the Inn is in the middle of the nowhere they have a captive audience so they can charge what they like....

Room Tip: Don`t get an attic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at the Trooper Inn whilst on business in Hampshire. I was impressed with other Tripadvisor reports and booked this on the strength of that.
I was extremely pleased with my choice. The hotel was located in the middle of rolling English countryside and was ver well appointed. I was greeted with a welcoming smile and the staff were very pleasant. This pub is a restaurant more than a pub and very popular with the locals. The food was excellent and the bed very comfortable.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: I stayed in a room called Tripper. Very spacious with shower/ no bath. The room I was shown on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We went for a meal here the other week. We were very disappointed with the meals considering the price. Three roast lamb meals, each costing £16, had to share just one bowl of vegetables. The lamb was also substandard along with the fish and chip meals, costing £12 each, which were both very small.

Although the standard of the food was not terrible and possibly acceptable if it was £5 a meal, for the price they are charging it is very poor. I suggest eating out somewhere else where you will get a lot better value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was our second visit to this pub/restaurant and once again we were not disappointed.
All meals have been delicious and a good range of wines. Lovely country setting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Only went there for dinner - so can't comment on the accommodation but we had dinner there recently and there was some really nice elements but some things which didn't work so well......

The place itself is quite attractive and is nicely decorated and the staff are welcoming and attentive.

There's a reasonable range of real ale and a wine list which starts from about the mid teens and goes up and the starters were lovely.

The downsides were
a) it was really quite cold - I took my jacket off and then put it back on again - the other half never took his off!
b) the other half's vegetables were rock hard
c) we haven't seen 'spray cream' on coffee for a long time!

It was over £130 for four, with starters, main course and two coffees and 1 bottle of wine - so quite pricey which is a real shame because some of it (the cod tagine) were really sublime

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Trooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trooper Inn

Address: Alton Rd, Froxfield GU32 1BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Froxfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Froxfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trooper Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Trooper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trooper Hotel Froxfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trooper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.