We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good reason to visit Reykjavik again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BB 44 Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BB 44 Guesthouse to your Saves list
BB 44 Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Borgarholtsbraut 44 | and Nybylavegur 16, Kopavogur, Reykjavik 200, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Another good reason to visit Reykjavik again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

Two female friends and I took advantage of Icelandair's Stopover fare, and spent one day in Reykjavik on our way to Europe in May. We looked at various hostels online, and based on TripAdvisor reviews, chose Guesthouse BB44. My friend contacted them directly, and received a reply promptly. It was the same way when we contacted the property several times for various questions later on. The proprietors, Sigga and Thollie, were so hospitable, we felt like we were part of their family, rather than guests. Thollie picked us up from the bus station, and gave us an unofficial tour of Reykjavik. After spending an afternoon walking around downtown Reykjavik, we were too tired and cold (snow flurries on May 20!) to walk back to the hostel and he picked us up after a nice man at a grocery store called him for us (we couldn't find a payphone!) That level of customer services is priceless. They also helped arrange a trip to the Blue Lagoon for us. I would go back to visit Reykjavik and stay at Guesthouse BB 44 just to see Sigga and Thollie again.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

Guesthouse BB 44 was small, but we expected this while traveling overseas and were not disappointed. The room was very clean and the space was used extremely efficiently. There's definitely a feel of IKEA within the rooms for efficiency and clever space use.

Three of us shared a room, and we were all impressed with the shower. While small, you could adjust the temperature and strength of water flow, and it would immediately respond. My shower at home doesn't even change the temperature as quickly as I want it to. Of every place we traveled around Europe, this was the best shower.

But it was the hosts that truly made this a place we would want to visit again. Sigga usually runs the front desk and her husband, Tolli, drives the shuttle bus to and from the airport as well as into town for tours or a drop-off in the city center. While shuttling does cost extra, I highly recommend it during your first stay there. Tolli is fantastic, and he will show you things you might not have discovered while walking around on your own. Sigga and Tolli made our stay effortless and fun.

Upon our request of how to visit the Blue Lagoon, Sigga made all the arrangements for us--the reservation and arranging a shuttle to pick us up from the guesthouse and bring us back to its doorstep. They made everything easy and extremely enjoyable. Even before we arrived, Sigga answered my e-mail queries promptly and with friendliness.

They have a cute backyard area with a hot tub we did not take advatage of, but the landscaping and wooden deck were lovely.

We would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2006

We spend 2 nights here and loved it. Very clean (guests are asked to leave their shoes at the door). Double room #6 was spacious with good heat and blackout curtains and TV and reading lights. And even though booked for a shared bathroom, we were delighted to find that we still had our own little WC/sink en suite. Shared bathroom with tub is fully stocked with creams, shampoos et.al. left behind by others if you've forgotten something! (There are other shared shower rooms I didn't check out.) One day when my sister didn't want to wait for a shower, she just took a quick shower outside, jumped in the hot tub to warm up, then re-showered and shampooed outside.

There's a community kitchen with mini-fridge, sink, microwave, etc. for self-caterers. Great breakfast in a lovely room.

Neighborhood is quiet, and there's a lovely path/walk into "town" (called Hamborgar, I think -with a variety of supermarkets and little restaurants and shops) that goes by a wonderful modern church. It's about a 12 minute drive to central Reyk and the host will even shuttle you over for about $5, though I'm not sure how late she offers return trips!

In fact, I think it's technically in Kopavagur, which is a sprawling suburb and the parts you see south/east of the highway are kind of depressing - but BB44 really feels more like just a little residential neighborhood of Reyk.

Can't say enough about Siga (hostess) and how helpful she and her family were with questions. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2005

When we first chose to go to Iceland it was really difficult to decide where to stay or indeed what to do. We emailed BB44 and Sigga replied very quickly with confirmation that there was a room available and that they would pick us up from the bus drop-off in Reykjavik. For our whole stay we were treated like family and Sigga gave us two lost tourists lots of information that made our stay into our favourite trip ever. Of course, revealing to us that we had slept through an earthquake on our first night was not perhaps the most relaxing way to start the day, but she reassured us that we would be safe when we visited the area later that day. Quite how she can predict the our safety on a seismic hotspot I don't know! Still, breakfasts were marvellous affairs and letting us know we couldn't take our Opel Astra to Thorsmork was probably the most useful piece of advice I have ever received since my mother told me "don't touch that - it's hot". One less stranded Englishman waist deep in a river.

The guesthouse is lovely, the rooms are great and - I just realised while writing this that in all our travels across nearly 50 countries BB44 is the only place that we have ever returned to, which we did last year. And we plan to again this year. Iceland and BB44 are definitely our favourite places.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRUSSELS, BELGIUM, EUROPE
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2005

The general feeling about our first stay in Iceland would be ‘wow’. The island’s natural heritage is just marvellous.
We had doubts about where to stay and we chose guesthouse BB44 in Kopavogur.
Our choice revealed excellent in every possible way. From the moment we arrived we never felt like guests at all, it just felt like being at home. The hosts are both very kind and warm people who help you any way they can : tips for trips, reservations, rentals, general information and weather forecast. From there we visited all the main sites on the south coast up to the glacierlagoon of Jokulsarlon and on the west coast up to Borgarnes and also Geysir, the Blue Lagoon, Reykjavik, etc.
The guesthouse is very clean, located in a quiet suburban area, just a few minutes away from Reykjavik, from the main shopping malls and restaurants. The rooms are spacious, modern and well looked after. The breakfast table has all you can whish for and there is no better way to end a day then in the jacuzzi on the terrace outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BB 44 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BB 44 Guesthouse

Address: Borgarholtsbraut 44 | and Nybylavegur 16, Kopavogur, Reykjavik 200, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BB 44 Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BB 44 Guesthosue is family run bed and breakfast located in quiet family house area.Established 1997.We offer single,double and family rooms,some rooms have ensuite bathroom,other shared kitchen and bathroom facilities.Cheap car rental on site,ask for our package deal.Day tour booking´s ,no extra fee.We offer personal service in relaxed atmosphere.Free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your BB 44 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BB 44 Guesthouse Iceland/Kopavogur, Reykjavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BB 44 Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.